Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2011, 10:59 PM   #1
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Won't be folding for a while, rig caught on fire

Well I got the i7 970 installed and my rig caught fire. I'm so pissed right now. Now I just hope nothing of mine is screwed up, especially my new expensive 970 Gonna take it over to my friends to test it out along with my other components.

Don't know when I'll be back.

Thumb resize.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4

Last edited by grapes911; Feb 19, 2011 at 03:25 PM. Reason: replaced img with timg to trim image.
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2011, 11:07 PM   #2
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
dang i'm sorry to hear that. were you overclocking? what piece is that burned?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2011, 11:12 PM   #3
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
I punched in the same volts(1.23) as we did just prior to testing in another system. Overclocked @ 4.2ghz. This was running completely stable as it passed the IBT and Prime test.

What burned was the 8 pin CPU power connector. It burned completely off the motherboard.

Here's more pictures.

http://www.overclock.net/intel-gener...l#post12427934

__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2011, 11:30 PM   #4
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Sorry to hear about what happened. Hopefully the damage is limited.

I heard EVGA has good support, and they might RMA that for you. Hopefully they won't blame it on that 1600w PSU! If you do get a new motherboard, I'd suggest a Gigabyte. I know they aren't as beastly as EVGA but they seem very sturdy/durable. I almost went with an Asus but got a Gigabyte for my personal build.


Was your computer still running when it caught on fire?
wordoflife is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 05:02 PM   #5
alphaone
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
This is why sometimes I'm afraid of leaving my computer on when I'm not home for the day. Once I had one of my old PCs' PSU spit fire out the back when I was sitting right next to it. Unless there was a big power spike on the rest of the power plugs hopefully nothing else got fragged.
alphaone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 09:07 PM   #6
lordonuthin
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Iowa
Ouch! sorry about that.
__________________
2009 MP, 13" '12 MBP, iPhone 4, iPad 2
FAH team 3446 with 5 Titan gpu's and 1 GTX 660ti
lordonuthin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2011, 03:21 PM   #7
SciFrog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I guess I wasn't very keen on overclocking, seeing this, I will never overclock anything. Not worth putting my family at risk for that.
SciFrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2011, 06:23 PM   #8
techfreak85
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
^I'm not so sure this particular problem was necessarily because of the OC. You probably have a similar risk leaving the computer on 24/7 at stock speeds.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.

Last edited by techfreak85; Feb 19, 2011 at 06:54 PM.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2011, 04:33 PM   #9
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
The OC had nothing to do with it. It was a VRM failure on the motherboard plus lack of over current protection on the PSU. This particular motherboard was only 6+2 phase and couldn't handle the extra current needed for the 970. Getting the RMA and then will sell that. Should have my rig up within a week as I'm likely to pick up a Rampage III Extreme this week . Very very and might I add another very nice board. Selling the PSU too and picking up a Corair 850w. Want some nice hardware this time for the $600 CPU

My 970, memory, GPUs and believe it or not, PSU are all working fine. Tested everything last night. Yay!
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2011, 06:07 PM   #10
techfreak85
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Good news! But if for some reason you decide to not get a new mobo, you can give the 970 to me.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2011, 06:08 PM   #11
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
You can buy my RMA'd motherboard or 920 if you want
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2011, 07:18 PM   #12
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
glad not everything was ruined. so it was basically the 970 that caused the problem? the motherboard couldn't handle it?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2011, 11:35 PM   #13
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
glad not everything was ruined. so it was basically the 970 that caused the problem? the motherboard couldn't handle it?
Yeah the cheapie mobo couldn't handle it. I guess the EVGA SLI LE was a 6+2 phase and my power supply lacked OCP The 970 is a beast though, pulled too much current and the PSU wouldn't shut off by itself. Got something good coming soon
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 12:25 AM   #14
Ace134blue
macrumors 6502a
 
Ace134blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
The OC had nothing to do with it. It was a VRM failure on the motherboard plus lack of over current protection on the PSU. This particular motherboard was only 6+2 phase and couldn't handle the extra current needed for the 970. Getting the RMA and then will sell that. Should have my rig up within a week as I'm likely to pick up a Rampage III Extreme this week . Very very and might I add another very nice board. Selling the PSU too and picking up a Corair 850w. Want some nice hardware this time for the $600 CPU

My 970, memory, GPUs and believe it or not, PSU are all working fine. Tested everything last night. Yay!
It is not the motherboard nor the VRMs. Most EVGA X58s have Digital VRMs which is better than analog. 6+2 digital vrms > than 10+2 analog.

100% sure its that piece of ***** ultra psu, i thought everyone knew that they sucked.
__________________
Late 2012 MBP 13in iPhone 4 16gbPC-i7-2700k@5GHZ, Asus P8Z77-WS 2x8GB-GSkill 2133, Raid0 OCZ V4 256GB, GTX580 SLI, Seasonic Platinum-1000, Cosmos 2
Ace134blue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2011, 11:16 PM   #15
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
Yeah the cheapie mobo couldn't handle it. I guess the EVGA SLI LE was a 6+2 phase and my power supply lacked OCP The 970 is a beast though, pulled too much current and the PSU wouldn't shut off by itself. Got something good coming soon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace134blue View Post
It is not the motherboard nor the VRMs. Most EVGA X58s have Digital VRMs which is better than analog. 6+2 digital vrms > than 10+2 analog.

100% sure its that piece of ***** ultra psu, i thought everyone knew that they sucked.
hmm. you know i have a friend with a 970 that blew up 2 power supplies (no fire though). he then upgraded to a better psu and hasn't had a problem since. weird
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 01:31 AM   #16
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Ok back up and running stock clock for now. Till I learn this new board, I'll begin to overclock as my 970 will do 4.2 at around 1.23v .

Gave everyone a week to catch up but I guess you lost your chance now
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 09:21 PM   #17
Ace134blue
macrumors 6502a
 
Ace134blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
hmm. you know i have a friend with a 970 that blew up 2 power supplies (no fire though). he then upgraded to a better psu and hasn't had a problem since. weird
Yes, the PSU could not give enough amperage to the 970, i am sure it has multiple rails, which was the problem with the OPs PSU, which is also a cheap brand too.
__________________
Late 2012 MBP 13in iPhone 4 16gbPC-i7-2700k@5GHZ, Asus P8Z77-WS 2x8GB-GSkill 2133, Raid0 OCZ V4 256GB, GTX580 SLI, Seasonic Platinum-1000, Cosmos 2
Ace134blue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 10:08 PM   #18
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace134blue View Post
Yes, the PSU could not give enough amperage to the 970, i am sure it has multiple rails, which was the problem with the OPs PSU, which is also a cheap brand too.
120 amps on one 12v rail. I think that was enough .
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 10:11 PM   #19
vincenz
macrumors 601
 
vincenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New York
Youch, that's a lot of money.
vincenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2011, 10:27 PM   #20
Ace134blue
macrumors 6502a
 
Ace134blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
120 amps on one 12v rail. I think that was enough .
Cheap generic PSU my friend.
__________________
Late 2012 MBP 13in iPhone 4 16gbPC-i7-2700k@5GHZ, Asus P8Z77-WS 2x8GB-GSkill 2133, Raid0 OCZ V4 256GB, GTX580 SLI, Seasonic Platinum-1000, Cosmos 2
Ace134blue is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5s just caught on fire WAM2 iPhone 236 Feb 24, 2014 05:26 AM
Amazon Introduces 7" and 8.9" Kindle Fire HDX at $229 and $379, Kindle Fire HD Now Starts at $139 MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 191 Dec 9, 2013 12:04 AM
My MacBook caught fire! adrianne. MacBook 8 Oct 21, 2013 05:44 PM
2011 17" MBP caught fire this morning. gixxersixxer MacBook Pro 72 Sep 6, 2013 02:57 PM
MacBook adapter caught on fire puffnstuff MacBook Pro 8 Sep 4, 2012 06:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC