Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 5, 2011, 11:11 AM   #1
b0redom
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Does the new iMac support Jumbo frames?

As subject. I was pretty peeved to find out my 2010 version didn't!
b0redom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2011, 12:41 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1147466
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2011, 02:21 PM   #3
b0redom
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Cool, so the answer is 'probably'. I'd be interested to know if anyone who has one can verify.
b0redom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2011, 02:25 PM   #4
mpe
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0redom View Post
Cool, so the answer is 'probably'. I'd be interested to know if anyone who has one can verify.
At least mine doesn't:

Code:
imac:~ MPE$ sudo ifconfig en0 mtu 9000
ifconfig: ioctl (set mtu): Invalid argument
mpe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2011, 07:23 PM   #5
pmd
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne (Previously UK)
Yes, the 27" does.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpe View Post
At least mine doesn't
Weird. My 27" 3.1GHz iMac that was delivered yesterday supports jumbo frames fine. I was quite concerned that it wouldn't because I rely on them for good performance with my NAS

I set it using System Preferences -> Ethernet -> Advanced -> Ethernet -> Configure Manually.

I've confirmed the setting by checking the output of ifconfig. It shows an mtu value of 9000.

Paul
pmd is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So does the new MBP support more than 4gb - officialy chefwong MacBook Pro 35 Oct 19, 2008 08:27 AM
Does the Aluminum iMac supports 1080p/i? LeorD Digital Video 10 Aug 9, 2008 05:23 AM
Does the new iMac support HDCP? julius66 iMac 4 May 18, 2008 09:18 PM
Does the new iChat support multiple accounts open at once? munckee OS X 3 Oct 30, 2007 08:21 AM
Does the new MBP support HDCP? MGLXP MacBook Pro 2 Jun 8, 2007 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC