Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 21, 2012, 03:35 PM   #176
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwh202 View Post
Sorry! Some of that was me. Had visitors so needed to shutdown a few machines in the spare room!

They've gone, so ramping back up to full speed
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2012, 04:02 PM   #177
lozanoj83
macrumors 6502a
 
lozanoj83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to lozanoj83
Been folding now for around 6 months I would say, risen up the ranks and it's going 24/7 (yay for Uni paying electric bill).
However, I have a question. Would it be possible to increase my Average Load from a the 8.8 that it's currently at to around 12-16? Reason I ask is that whenever I use handbrake, it jumps to those numbers, but whenever I'm folding I can never get them that high.
__________________
iMac 27", 3.4 GHz i7 quad-core, 16GB RAM, 1TB Fusion
MacBook Air 1.8GHz i5, 8GB, 128GB
iPad 4, 32GB
iPhone 5, 64GB
lozanoj83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 12:43 AM   #178
rwh202
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by lozanoj83 View Post
Would it be possible to increase my Average Load from a the 8.8 that it's currently at to around 12-16? Reason I ask is that whenever I use handbrake, it jumps to those numbers, but whenever I'm folding I can never get them that high.
This is a quad-core 8-thread iMac right?
If so, you don't really want to see the load factor much over your number of threads.

A little over 8 prevents the threads running out of work, but way above means that you issuing much more work than can be processed, so you get contention and inefficiencies as you have to constantly switch between tasks.

That's just my simplified understanding of it - reality may vary

Anyway, keep up the good folding!
rwh202 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2012, 09:18 AM   #179
Louis Wu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto
glad you're back up to full throttle!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwh202 View Post
Sorry! Some of that was me. Had visitors so needed to shutdown a few machines in the spare room!

They've gone, so ramping back up to full speed

you mean your guests didn't appreciate the extra warmth?
Louis Wu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 11:49 PM   #180
wywern209
macrumors 65832
 
wywern209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: do you rly want to know?
i just joined and got a passkey. i'm running a 2.2ghz 2011 mbp. but my computer is only using 2% of the processor. is something wrong? i checked the activity monitor and there is a process called fah6 but it isn't using any cpu??
__________________
2.2 GHZ quad i7 15" MBP 2011
Specs:AMD Radeon 6750m, 8GB 1333Mhz RAM, HR Anti-Glare,500GB 7200rpm HDD.
wywern209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2012, 11:53 PM   #181
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by wywern209 View Post
i just joined and got a passkey. i'm running a 2.2ghz 2011 mbp. but my computer is only using 2% of the processor. is something wrong? i checked the activity monitor and there is a process called fah6 but it isn't using any cpu??
How quickly were you checking activity monitor since starting FAH? It takes a little while sometimes to download a unit. Also, make sure you have the added the argument
Code:
-smp
added.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 08:36 AM   #182
wywern209
macrumors 65832
 
wywern209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: do you rly want to know?
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
How quickly were you checking activity monitor since starting FAH? It takes a little while sometimes to download a unit. Also, make sure you have the added the argument
Code:
-smp
added.
added smp. last night. i had checked it 1/2 hr after i had fah started. im on university internet so it shouldn't take too long to dl work units.
__________________
2.2 GHZ quad i7 15" MBP 2011
Specs:AMD Radeon 6750m, 8GB 1333Mhz RAM, HR Anti-Glare,500GB 7200rpm HDD.
wywern209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2012, 09:23 AM   #183
wywern209
macrumors 65832
 
wywern209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: do you rly want to know?
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B176 Safari/7534.48.3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wywern209
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
How quickly were you checking activity monitor since starting FAH? It takes a little while sometimes to download a unit. Also, make sure you have the added the argument
Code:
-smp
added.
added smp. last night. i had checked it 1/2 hr after i had fah started. im on university internet so it shouldn't take too long to dl work units.
I got version 7 of fah and it's working now. Is it normal/ safe to keep my computer running at 90-92 C for hours on end?
EDIT: i limited the client to only use 2 cores. so i'm limiting it so i don't my computer too soon. . it didn't affect my output too much though. only 1 more hour added to actual time to completion and my temps remain reasonable in the 70s. If i were to uninstall F@H though, i noticed that just draging the client and viewer applications from my applications folder only removed the icons but the processes kept on going, only that activity monitor just said the processes belong to nobody.
__________________
2.2 GHZ quad i7 15" MBP 2011
Specs:AMD Radeon 6750m, 8GB 1333Mhz RAM, HR Anti-Glare,500GB 7200rpm HDD.

Last edited by wywern209; Mar 15, 2012 at 03:08 PM.
wywern209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 06:00 AM   #184
acidfast7
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: EU
just joined. got passkey.

any speed benefits to console mode versus system preferences version?

edit: what parameters should I use (-smp or something else for big units)?

edit2: I had to add "-smp -advmethods" to the extra parameters line in system preferences panel.

Last edited by acidfast7; Mar 23, 2012 at 09:37 AM.
acidfast7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 09:46 AM   #185
rwh202
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by acidfast7 View Post
just joined. got passkey.

any speed benefits to console mode versus system preferences version?

edit: what parameters should I use (-smp or something else for big units)?

edit2: I had to add "-smp -advmethods" to the extra parameters line in system preferences panel.
Welcome onboard!

I don't think there is any difference in performance between the two.
If you've got the system prefs one going smoothly, then stick with it, but personally I've had issues with it resuming units or acknowledging passkeys and extra parameters.

As you've figured out, you'll need the -advmethods flag for v6, although even then work might be a bit sparse.

The v7 client is going to be the future and although approaching maturity for Windows, it's still very much beta on the Mac. (If you choose to give it a go, there is an uninstaller that you'll want to use - you can't just drag v7 to the trash!)
rwh202 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 09:49 AM   #186
acidfast7
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: EU
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwh202 View Post
Welcome onboard!

I don't think there is any difference in performance between the two.
If you've got the system prefs one going smoothly, then stick with it, but personally I've had issues with it resuming units or acknowledging passkeys and extra parameters.

As you've figured out, you'll need the -advmethods flag for v6, although even then work might be a bit sparse.

The v7 client is going to be the future and although approaching maturity for Windows, it's still very much beta on the Mac. (If you choose to give it a go, there is an uninstaller that you'll want to use - you can't just drag v7 to the trash!)
Will v7 work with 10.5.8? That's my main issue



I just tried the newest beta version and it said that I was filling files in my / directory and to contact the manufacturer

lol

still running 6.29.3 and seems that I'll be around only 2000 pts/day (with the bonus)

running the -smp and -advmethods switches.

Last edited by acidfast7; Mar 23, 2012 at 10:46 AM.
acidfast7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 11:47 AM   #187
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
What name as you folding under? I'm not seeing you on the list of team members. Or have you not completed a WU yet?
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2012, 12:16 PM   #188
acidfast7
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: EU
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
What name as you folding under? I'm not seeing you on the list of team members. Or have you not completed a WU yet?
Sorry. I didn't realize this forum would be so active with the date of the original threads.

Using my current username (have passkey)

Rig: 2008 iMac 20" w/2.66GHz C2D and 4GB DDR2 running OS 10.5.8

Set-up: FAH 6.29.3 (FAH 7 not working on OS 10.5) "installed" running the "-smp -advmethods" switches

I guess that I don't really need the "-smp" switch

Should be only 400pts/day until the bonus kicks in

Not much else I can do at the moment (as the Blackbook/Al unibody MB/13.3"MBA are used for other software in environments where fan noises are bad.)
acidfast7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 12:09 AM   #189
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by acidfast7 View Post
I guess that I don't really need the "-smp" switch
You probably want the smp flag. It's what allows you to use all cores of the processer rather than just one. The advmethods flag isn't really necessary. You could get better units, you could get worse units.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 03:04 AM   #190
acidfast7
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: EU
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
You probably want the smp flag. It's what allows you to use all cores of the processer rather than just one. The advmethods flag isn't really necessary. You could get better units, you could get worse units.
thanks for the info. will the -advmethods flag potentially avoid the lack of appropriate units that i was experiencing.

also, it seems that the group is working on making fah v7 compatible for 10.5, but it's not in the beta version yet.

maybe it's time for a new machine, how the best i7 iMac do? does it still run at 85+C core temp?
acidfast7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 10:30 AM   #191
swordfish5736
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belle View
Send a message via AIM to swordfish5736
Finally hooked my new mac mini server up yesterday and hoping to get it folding. Anybody use a mini server for folding? I've noticed what seem to me to be higher temps than what my other machines run at for just normal use.

Once i get my iMac ironed out i'lll bring it back online as well. Its a mid 07 but I'm playing with upgrading the processor to something newer.

this is my first time runningg a machine with hyper threading i added -smp -advmethods parameters and it seems to be up. It's running at %770~ does that seem correct? i always used to see %400~ on my mac pro
__________________

Last edited by swordfish5736; Mar 25, 2012 at 11:26 AM.
swordfish5736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 12:14 PM   #192
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIIM44 View Post
Finally hooked my new mac mini server up yesterday and hoping to get it folding. Anybody use a mini server for folding? I've noticed what seem to me to be higher temps than what my other machines run at for just normal use.

Once i get my iMac ironed out i'lll bring it back online as well. Its a mid 07 but I'm playing with upgrading the processor to something newer.

this is my first time runningg a machine with hyper threading i added -smp -advmethods parameters and it seems to be up. It's running at %770~ does that seem correct? i always used to see %400~ on my mac pro
Close to 800% would be a quad core processor with hyperthreading, which the Mini server would be.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2012, 12:28 PM   #193
swordfish5736
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belle View
Send a message via AIM to swordfish5736
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Close to 800% would be a quad core processor with hyperthreading, which the Mini server would be.
Cool just making sure.


Temps shot up to 90 degrees celcius within a minute or two of it starting. Seems to have leveled out around 86 now but fans going at 4500rpm which I think is full blast
__________________
swordfish5736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 02:51 AM   #194
acidfast7
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: EU
not that it produces a lot of points, but i let the machine run over the weekend and everything went ok.

i'll just let it run until the end of time and look around for some new hardware, in the meantime.
acidfast7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 01:58 PM   #195
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
I've been doing this anonymously for a while. That's the nick that shows up in the list. Currently #136. Anonymous.

I have a different nick in system preferences.

Can someone explain to me how to change from anonymous to my nick that is in system preferences ?
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 07:37 PM   #196
swordfish5736
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belle View
Send a message via AIM to swordfish5736
I'm not liking these temps I'm seeing on the mac mini. 90 celsius and the fan maxed out. I shut the machine down when i left this morning cause i just wasn't comfortable leaving it running when i wasn't here. I may see if i can devise a cooling solution for it. Since the only work it does is transcoding video i figured i'll run it on folding the rest of the time so hopefully i can figure something out.


In other news i've got a penryn chip on the way for my mid 07 iMac. Hopefully it will work if it. The T9300 i put in it is a penryn as well but its reading an incorrect clock speed and not much of an improvement over what the stock 2.4ghz would do. This new one is a 3.06 so hopefully i'll see some better results. If it goes well i may try and find a core2extreme penryn chip which is quad core and stuff that in there. Though i'm sure that will need a better cooling system as well.
__________________
swordfish5736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 07:41 PM   #197
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace View Post
I've been doing this anonymously for a while. That's the nick that shows up in the list. Currently #136. Anonymous.

I have a different nick in system preferences.

Can someone explain to me how to change from anonymous to my nick that is in system preferences ?
what are you folding on under anonymous? and what client are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIIM44 View Post
I'm not liking these temps I'm seeing on the mac mini. 90 celsius and the fan maxed out. I shut the machine down when i left this morning cause i just wasn't comfortable leaving it running when i wasn't here. I may see if i can devise a cooling solution for it. Since the only work it does is transcoding video i figured i'll run it on folding the rest of the time so hopefully i can figure something out.
let us know what you figure out. i also recently got a mini server, and i may try to fold with it later. i'm curious to know what kind of ppd you get
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2012, 08:18 PM   #198
swordfish5736
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belle View
Send a message via AIM to swordfish5736
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
what are you folding on under anonymous? and what client are you using?



let us know what you figure out. i also recently got a mini server, and i may try to fold with it later. i'm curious to know what kind of ppd you get
how do you check the PPD?

The temp doesn't bother me that much its more the fan running between 5000and 5500pm which is its max. It looks like it pulls are in thru a tiny gap between that plastic bottom and the aluminum casing and then spits it out the back thru a small opening. Maybe pull the bottom off make some kind of stand that incorporates a PC fan pushing air up into the intake to try and force more cool air into it. just need to make it look nice to sit on my desk and probably incorporate some type of filter so it doesn't build up so much dust
__________________
swordfish5736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2012, 02:31 AM   #199
acidfast7
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: EU
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIIM44 View Post
how do you check the PPD?

The temp doesn't bother me that much its more the fan running between 5000and 5500pm which is its max. It looks like it pulls are in thru a tiny gap between that plastic bottom and the aluminum casing and then spits it out the back thru a small opening. Maybe pull the bottom off make some kind of stand that incorporates a PC fan pushing air up into the intake to try and force more cool air into it. just need to make it look nice to sit on my desk and probably incorporate some type of filter so it doesn't build up so much dust
I thought I read somewhere that someone with a quad-core iMac was folding with 2 out of 4 cores because the temps were around 95C with all 4 cores folding. They didn't see a huge performance hit, maybe 15% or so (or so they said).

I think you can do this with the "-smp 2" switch.

IIRC, correctly, their temps dropped to around 70-75C from 90-95C.

Also, can one swap the processors in an iMac?
acidfast7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2012, 09:07 AM   #200
swordfish5736
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belle View
Send a message via AIM to swordfish5736
Quote:
Originally Posted by acidfast7 View Post
I thought I read somewhere that someone with a quad-core iMac was folding with 2 out of 4 cores because the temps were around 95C with all 4 cores folding. They didn't see a huge performance hit, maybe 15% or so (or so they said).

I think you can do this with the "-smp 2" switch.

IIRC, correctly, their temps dropped to around 70-75C from 90-95C.

Also, can one swap the processors in an iMac?
Thanks I'll try this till I find a better solution.

I have the mid 2007 model which was the first aluminum one and it is possible. Cheap too. I looked at chips up to the 09 models. I'd assume 2010 and 2011 are swappable also.
__________________
swordfish5736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacRumors Folding@home Team Reaches One Billion Points MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 47 May 21, 2014 11:10 PM
Mac Rumors Folding team hits the 1 Billion Milestone costabunny Current Events 1 Nov 5, 2013 06:09 PM
Folding@Home Mobile Monitoring ChristianJapan iPad Apps 0 Sep 5, 2013 08:08 AM
Upgrading 1,1 and 3,1 Mac Pro's for my design team to last until the 2013 updates prvt.donut Mac Pro 18 Jun 22, 2012 02:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC