Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 29, 2011, 08:13 AM   #1
Detrias
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Mobile Hotspot Elevate 4g + ipad data sim?

My question is if the mobile hotspot elevate 4g (currently offered by at&t with a minimum 5Gb data plan for 50$) is purchased out of contract, can i swap in my iPad 2Gb at&t data plan to it? Or is it just not compatible? I ask because i feel like 5Gb would be a bit of an overkill for my needs, and the $25 iPad plan is perfect for me. I have read around that uses the same micro sim card that the iPad does but not info related directed towards my question

For the record i live in a city with 4g coverage already deployed and with heavy hspa+ coverage, so is it possible? Even if it requires some tinkering i don't mind. If i were willing to buy it for the sake of trying it and it didn't worked, whats at&t return period for mobile hotspots?

Any feedback regarding my issue would be greatly appreciated, good day
__________________
13" Macbook Air (2010), 1.86 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD iPad 3 32GB LTE (at&t)
Detrias is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 01:49 PM   #2
sashakla
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Hey, were you able to confirm either way?
I am also thinking of using my iPad 3G SIM card with the device - would like to know if it works BEFORE I buy it
sashakla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 02:38 PM   #3
candrist
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Should Work

This should work just fine. The iPad uses the APN of "Broadband" and so does the AT&T Elevate. You may have to get a new LTE micro sim though.
__________________
MacBook Air 13" (2011) AppleTV 2 (720p) VZW White iPhone 5 16gb AT&T Black iPhone 4S 16gb iPad 4 32gb + AT&T 3G Unlimited (Grandfathered)

Last edited by candrist; Mar 8, 2012 at 02:51 PM.
candrist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2012, 07:22 PM   #4
Detrias
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I can confirm this indeed works, thankfully i was still on the return period and I'm now waiting for the iPad 3 with the LTE built in. For anyone else who either goes with the wifi only version or an earlier one, this is a great alternative for tethering. Also you have to buy the elevate at the retail price if you don't want to be obligated to sign into a 5GB data plan contract.
__________________
13" Macbook Air (2010), 1.86 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD iPad 3 32GB LTE (at&t)
Detrias is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 09:58 AM   #5
DjPiLL
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by candrist View Post
This should work just fine. The iPad uses the APN of "Broadband" and so does the AT&T Elevate. You may have to get a new LTE micro sim though.

How did you get around the issue of the Elevate requiring a regular sized sim and the ipad requiring the micro sim?

I would like to purchase one data plan sim to use in both an Elevate and an ipad 3. Wondering if I should get a sim provisioned for the ipad 3 and use that in the elevate, or get the sim provisioned for the elevate and use that in the ipad 3.

I already have the elevate so I am out of contracts and such. Thanks in advance.
DjPiLL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2012, 08:43 PM   #6
drkstar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Any update on this? Thinking about going down this route...

Thanks...


Quote:
Originally Posted by DjPiLL View Post
How did you get around the issue of the Elevate requiring a regular sized sim and the ipad requiring the micro sim?

I would like to purchase one data plan sim to use in both an Elevate and an ipad 3. Wondering if I should get a sim provisioned for the ipad 3 and use that in the elevate, or get the sim provisioned for the elevate and use that in the ipad 3.

I already have the elevate so I am out of contracts and such. Thanks in advance.
drkstar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 12:46 AM   #7
doofoo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkstar View Post
Any update on this? Thinking about going down this route...

Thanks...
Curious about this as well. I have a ipad3 with unlimited lte that I would like to share with an elevate device, or some other mifi type device without paying for another entire service plan while on the road.

Anyone done it? Do any of the devices use the micro sim?
doofoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 01:28 AM   #8
drkstar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by doofoo View Post
Curious about this as well. I have a ipad3 with unlimited lte that I would like to share with an elevate device, or some other mifi type device without paying for another entire service plan while on the road.

Anyone done it? Do any of the devices use the micro sim?
Purchased an unlocked Elevate 4G Hotspot with no contract and micoSIM card adapter from Amazon...

will report back next week...
drkstar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 02:48 PM   #9
doofoo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by drkstar View Post
Purchased an unlocked Elevate 4G Hotspot with no contract and micoSIM card adapter from Amazon...

will report back next week...
I just picked up a Elevate 4G Hotspot today as well. I just went ahead and signed up for the 5G for now since I currently have a old Sprint 3G MIFI I pay $60 for the past 4+ years, it is horrible on the road so I am going to cancel that.

I'll try my ATT iPad 4G Unlimited microsim when I get home on Monday/Tuesday.

I hate having to worry about limits. I would pay $100/mo to have unlimited within reason or throttled after some certain limit instead of just starting to pay overages.. I hate overage charges.
doofoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2012, 10:47 PM   #10
doofoo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I can confirm it works great.. I just tested the Elevate with my iPad card. Saves me from having to pay for 2 monthly fee's
doofoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2012, 03:59 AM   #11
drkstar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by doofoo View Post
I can confirm it works great.. I just tested the Elevate with my iPad card. Saves me from having to pay for 2 monthly fee's
Great News!
My Elevate 4G is in route...
drkstar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2012, 06:27 PM   #12
drkstar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by doofoo View Post
I can confirm it works great.. I just tested the Elevate with my iPad card. Saves me from having to pay for 2 monthly fee's
Can confirm also that it works great... just need a micro SIM -> SIM adapter...
drkstar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2012, 04:56 PM   #13
ebika
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Thanks for all the replies in this thread. I have an Elevate 4G is on its way to me so I can use my my iPad 3rd gen unlimited AT&T LTE plan SIM.
ebika is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2012, 08:49 AM   #14
GunsandGadgets
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I've had my ipad unlimited data plan in an at&t elevate for a few months now and it works great. I use it to keep my ipod touch and Google nexus 7 tablet online.

But now I'm considering buying an unlimited plan off of someone to put in my ipad and give it to my wife.

Would this work?

My concern is that my original plan is still associated with the ipad and putting in a new plan would some how cancel the original that is now in my elevate.

Anyone have any experience with this? Thanks.
GunsandGadgets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 10:38 PM   #15
iphone5att64
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Do you get LTE speed on the Elevate 4G with a 3G SIM from an iPad 1 or 2?
__________________
10/26 11 AM: iPad 4 Black 64 GB AT&T. 11/14: Shipped. 11/20: Scheduled delivery. 11/16: In-store pickup. 11/19: Delivered. 1/5: Returned.
iphone5att64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 05:22 PM   #16
mwchris
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Kentucky
Iphone Sim in Mobile HotSpot

Have any of you been able to confirm using an iphone sim with an unlimited data plan in a mobile hotspot? Will the Elevate recgonize the sim?

I want to do away with my internet at home as I am not home often. I can add a dumb phone to my account for $10. So I was thinking of taking my iPhone unlimited sim, forwarding the phone calls to the new phone, and putting the sim in a mobile hotspot.

What do you guys think?
__________________
Vēnī, vīdī, vīcī
First was green, second was tan, third was white, and fourth is silver.
mwchris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:27 PM   #17
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
also worth mentioning, Verizon ipads have free tethering. That's why I went with Verizon even though I was originally going with AT&T
wordoflife is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:38 PM   #18
einmusiker
macrumors 68020
 
einmusiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Location: Location:
Quote:
Originally Posted by wordoflife View Post
also worth mentioning, Verizon ipads have free tethering. That's why I went with Verizon even though I was originally going with AT&T
I was gona say... why not just use the free hotspot on the iPad? That's what I do better than swapping sims around
__________________
I <3 Macbook pro, I <3 GoOgle Voice, I <3 my Android phone.
waiting for the shtuff to hit the fan when people start using tons of data on LTE :Popping popcorn:
einmusiker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:07 PM   #19
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by einmusiker View Post
I was gona say... why not just use the free hotspot on the iPad? That's what I do better than swapping sims around
Yeah, i agree.
at&t doens't allow it unless you have one of the more expensive plans though.
wordoflife is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 02:54 PM   #20
mwchris
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Kentucky
I have ATT - I am not switching to Verizon. I do NOT want to carrying around an iPad.

So . . . can anyone confirm if an iPhone sim with data plan will work in an ATT 4g Mobile Hotspot device?
__________________
Vēnī, vīdī, vīcī
First was green, second was tan, third was white, and fourth is silver.
mwchris is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use T-Mobile 200MB Free Data iPad SIM in a phone? 869639 iPhone 2 Jan 31, 2014 09:51 PM
Mobile Hotspot w/ a T-Mobile Data Plan spaceballl iPhone 4 Jul 11, 2013 05:29 AM
Rude default hotspot password on iPhone 5 w/ T-mobile sim noodlelegs iPhone 19 Jan 12, 2013 11:29 AM
4GB Data plan w/Mobile Hotspot - Verizon unknownbeing iPhone 4 Jan 9, 2013 08:20 PM
iPad 3 Mobile Hotspot dropping out pacmania1982 iPad 3 Oct 22, 2012 12:51 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC