Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 22, 2012, 10:43 AM   #51
G51989
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC NY/Pittsburgh PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TacticalDesire View Post
Especially for a computer that's what, 7 or 8 years old already. If he actually uses it for 5 years, that would make it at least 12 years old. That's insane for a computer, especially for one that has next to no current software support.
Its possible, I have a couple high end PIII Boxes that I still use from time to time, not every day. I think the best one is a 1gzh PIII with a gig of ram and just a retarded amount of hard drives, running XP Pro and I think Its got almost 2TB of total storage.

I could still use it for the most part for day to day stuff, just because its 12 years old doesnt mean it cant be useful. That goes for Macs and PCs.
G51989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 01:03 PM   #52
And
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 92 ft above sea level, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by poobear View Post
Now I'll be using a iMac G4 1.25 GHz as only machine. Just made a bet that I'll keep it as my only computer for the coming 5 years. Upgraded RAM to 2GB and space to 400GB.
Please tell me that the bet is for such a significant sum you'll never need to work again or something!

I'm getting quite inspired by these attempts to use solely older computers. I have my 867 Quicksilver on my desk, maybe I'll turn my mini off for a week and see how I cope...
And is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 01:36 PM   #53
Nameci
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Philippines...
Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Wow! I a bit surprised some people here in MR bit into the idea. Right now the oldest PPC mac near me is the iMac G5. All of my G4's and a G3 were shipped out to my other place.

If I still have them, I would love to use my Powermac B&W G3 with OS9 on it.

What I really like with the older OS'es is that they are pretty quick sans the eye candy. For me the eye candies that we see on the newer Mac OSX robbed the horsepower and resources for actually performing the function that matters.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 03:44 PM   #54
vohdoun
macrumors 65816
 
vohdoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Far away from Earth.
Quote:
Originally Posted by poobear View Post
Adobe CS4 is not very different compared to CS5 in my uses.
I find the CS5 tool palette on the Intel Mac and Windows horrible to use. I always end up checking twice to see what I'm actually using. It's not as crisp and precise as CS4.
__________________
Bright light. Bright light.
vohdoun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 04:14 PM   #55
tjsdaname
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: cedar rapids IA
I think ill try this with the powermac G5 I have on the way...
shut down my iMac for a week and only use the G5
__________________
27 imac, White Macbook, Powermac G4 MDD, Powermac G5
tjsdaname is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 04:31 PM   #56
estrides
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
I think I could live with just my Powermac G5. The thing is a solid work horse and can bully though everything except youtube()
__________________
Late 2009 15" MBP, 2.8Ghz, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HD ; 3x PowerMac G5's all running 8Gb RAM at 2.3ghz DC ; 3x G4's - 2 MDD and 1 Quicksilver;
estrides is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 05:09 PM   #57
Starfighter
macrumors 6502a
 
Starfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by estrides View Post
I think I could live with just my Powermac G5. The thing is a solid work horse and can bully though everything except youtube()
No way! Are you actually having problems with youtube on your "8Gb RAM at 2.3ghz DC"-G5's? That's pretty weird, because I can watch 720p in fullscreen on youtube with my temporary G5 (dual 1.8Ghz, 3.5GB RAM).
__________________
In arguments the losers are the winners - because they learn something.
Starfighter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 05:28 PM   #58
rossmosis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I've been doing something similar--set my i5 ThinkPad aside and have been using my G5 exclusively for a couple weeks. I have it hooked up to my 32" 1080p television and a 17" Dell LCD. I expect my webpages to load instantly, these past few years I've been completely spoiled by fast computers and my expectations are high and this G5 has delivered more than I thought. I have 4GB of RAM and two 160GB 7200rpm HDDs in it. Here's what I've been doing:

--Playing Unreal Tournament 2004 at the highest settings well streaming Pandora. (Actually streaming Pandora while doing almost everything listed below)
--Using MacTubes
--Facebook: Chat, Games, etc
--Torrents
--Watching 720p videos on my television
--Watching DVDs using VLC
--A little Adobe CS4 and Word 08
--Using the latest TenFourFoxG5 as my browser to view: Forums, Ebay, News websites (usually packed with ads that can slow down any browser), and email. Really everything I do normally works, and works fast.

It does EVERYTHING pretty much perfectly. I definitely miss Netflix and all of my other software that requires a new computer, but most people would be completely satisfied with it. The tower is absolutely beautiful too, sometimes I just stare at it...
__________________
think: L512, X61t, T60, G40, T22, T20, A21m, X20, i1200, 770z, 390x, M55
different: G5: 2ghz DC. G4: 1ghz DP, 450, iMac 1.25. G3: 500mhz, Lombard, 466 Lime, Blueberry.
LCIII, Classic, SE, ][e
rossmosis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 05:43 PM   #59
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wales, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starfighter View Post
I can watch 720p in fullscreen on youtube with my temporary G5 (dual 1.8Ghz, 3.5GB RAM).
Really? My G5 chokes to death on 480p windowed. I suppose an extra 2.5gb RAM helps but that's really surprised me!
__________________
Hackintosh 2x3.5GHz, 4GB, 500GB, GTX660 | 13" MacBook Air 2x2.13GHz, 4GB, 256GB, 320M | 23" Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 Cube 1.2GHz, 1.5GB, 160GB. 6200 | iPhone 5 16GB | Canon EOS M 18-55mm, 22mm
Goftrey is offline   -6 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 05:57 PM   #60
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
Really? My G5 chokes to death on 480p windowed. I suppose an extra 2.5gb RAM helps but that's really surprised me!
Use the HTML5 version of YouTube and not the Flash version. It works much better.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 10:45 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 05:59 PM   #61
Starfighter
macrumors 6502a
 
Starfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goftrey View Post
Really? My G5 chokes to death on 480p windowed. I suppose an extra 2.5gb RAM helps but that's really surprised me!
I started to worry I remembered wrong but no, it works fine. Watched a clip in 720p/fullscreen just now.
__________________
In arguments the losers are the winners - because they learn something.
Starfighter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 06:15 PM   #62
And
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 92 ft above sea level, UK
OK, have turned my mini off and am now surfing on the old 867 Quicksilver. I think this thing has had it's 10th birthday recently. I've got 1.25 GB of Ram and a 60 GB HD. Dropbox is up and running so anything I need to have on the mini later I can just upload. The wifi connection is b, so pretty sluggish. But hey, I'm online aren't I? I'll see how long I can go before I need to do something on the mini (note - need, not want!). Hopefully I can hold out for a week or two.

Damn, just realised I've left the DVD I was watching in the mini, it'll have to stay there for the timebeing!
And is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 06:16 PM   #63
Goftrey
macrumors 68000
 
Goftrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wales, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Use the HTML5 version of YouTube and not the Flash version. It works much better.
I've been using HTML5 for on YouTube for a while & still, it chokes on 480p, and it's pretty much a slideshow on 720p. Could that be down the amount of RAM in there?
__________________
Hackintosh 2x3.5GHz, 4GB, 500GB, GTX660 | 13" MacBook Air 2x2.13GHz, 4GB, 256GB, 320M | 23" Cinema Display
PowerMac G4 Cube 1.2GHz, 1.5GB, 160GB. 6200 | iPhone 5 16GB | Canon EOS M 18-55mm, 22mm
Goftrey is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 06:26 PM   #64
Starfighter
macrumors 6502a
 
Starfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
The HTML5-version actually makes the video stutter for me. It's smoother with the "regular" for some reason. I don't really know why, I'm just enjoying it while it lasts.
__________________
In arguments the losers are the winners - because they learn something.
Starfighter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 06:35 PM   #65
vohdoun
macrumors 65816
 
vohdoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Far away from Earth.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Use the HTML5 version of YouTube and not the Flash version. It works much better.
I'm curious why PPC users are still using Flash. It's so old now and the number of exploits it has since 10.1 now that Flash is at 11.2.
__________________
Bright light. Bright light.
vohdoun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 06:36 PM   #66
TacticalDesire
macrumors 68020
 
TacticalDesire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starfighter View Post
The HTML5-version actually makes the video stutter for me. It's smoother with the "regular" for some reason. I don't really know why, I'm just enjoying it while it lasts.
I've found that to be the case with an older Pentium 4 machine as well.
TacticalDesire is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 09:25 PM   #67
estrides
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
Yeah, Flash is just an irritant for my G5, but enough to hit it where it hurts. The HTML5 version runs perfectly fine though!
__________________
Late 2009 15" MBP, 2.8Ghz, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HD ; 3x PowerMac G5's all running 8Gb RAM at 2.3ghz DC ; 3x G4's - 2 MDD and 1 Quicksilver;
estrides is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 09:47 PM   #68
gryffinwings
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Are you guys running Mactubes? Because I have no problems viewing videos with it, even in full screen. No stuttering at all.
gryffinwings is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 10:51 PM   #69
estrides
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
no mactubes. just youtube.com. i know of mactubes, but prefer to avoid excess stuff if i have to...
__________________
Late 2009 15" MBP, 2.8Ghz, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HD ; 3x PowerMac G5's all running 8Gb RAM at 2.3ghz DC ; 3x G4's - 2 MDD and 1 Quicksilver;
estrides is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 09:08 AM   #70
rossmosis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by estrides View Post
no mactubes. just youtube.com. i know of mactubes, but prefer to avoid excess stuff if i have to...
I feel the same way, I hate unnecessary programs but I had to make a huge exception for MacTubes, it is absolutely amazing. I'd recommend trying it, even if you don't use it all the time it can definitely come in handy.
__________________
think: L512, X61t, T60, G40, T22, T20, A21m, X20, i1200, 770z, 390x, M55
different: G5: 2ghz DC. G4: 1ghz DP, 450, iMac 1.25. G3: 500mhz, Lombard, 466 Lime, Blueberry.
LCIII, Classic, SE, ][e
rossmosis is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 11:21 AM   #71
Starfighter
macrumors 6502a
 
Starfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
As stated, I don't have problems playing videos on youtube.com but I also installed MacTubes because it's such a handy little application. And the download feature is golden.

Edit: I just tried youtube with my new G5 (dual 2.0GHz, 5GB RAM, ATI Radeon 9600 XT) and it didn't work nearly as well as on my other one mentioned before.
__________________
In arguments the losers are the winners - because they learn something.

Last edited by Starfighter; Apr 24, 2012 at 04:24 PM.
Starfighter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 08:04 PM   #72
estrides
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
I will try out mactubes on one of my G5's. Who knows, maybe i'll fall in love with it!
__________________
Late 2009 15" MBP, 2.8Ghz, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HD ; 3x PowerMac G5's all running 8Gb RAM at 2.3ghz DC ; 3x G4's - 2 MDD and 1 Quicksilver;
estrides is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 05:33 PM   #73
poobear
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starfighter View Post
5 years is a pretty long time in this world, I'm torn between feeling sceptical and incredibly impressed/inspired.
I'm just starting a PhD in biochemistry. So basically the bet is to have it as my work computer for the entire PhD (~5 years). And since I sold the Air, I won't have a computer at home. Just me and my iPhone.

And oh the bet is for 500 SEK, ~70 USD, so it won't be enough for a new computer in the end

I have started to meet Mr Beachball much more often now. I hadn't seen him for many years but now he comes visiting me every minute. I hope we stay friends..
poobear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 05:50 PM   #74
Starfighter
macrumors 6502a
 
Starfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by poobear View Post
I'm just starting a PhD in biochemistry. So basically the bet is to have it as my work computer for the entire PhD (~5 years). And since I sold the Air, I won't have a computer at home. Just me and my iPhone.

And oh the bet is for 500 SEK, ~70 USD, so it won't be enough for a new computer in the end

I have started to meet Mr Beachball much more often now. I hadn't seen him for many years but now he comes visiting me every minute. I hope we stay friends..
Are you also from Sweden?
__________________
In arguments the losers are the winners - because they learn something.
Starfighter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 05:52 PM   #75
poobear
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starfighter View Post
Are you also from Sweden?
Yep Stockholm University.
poobear is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS-neutral: Chuck's Challenge 3D: Chip's Challenge Reborn N19h7m4r3 Mac and PC Games 1 Mar 2, 2014 03:18 PM
Switching from a Mac/Desktop living room to a iPad living room.. MisterBigMack iMac 8 Apr 3, 2013 04:35 PM
iMac 27, PC, and Home Server living together? gadgetware iMac 5 Dec 30, 2012 10:03 PM
The iMac G3 Challenge Lil Chillbil PowerPC Macs 47 Dec 28, 2012 01:54 PM
IMac in Living Room Mc1gers iMac 20 Jun 24, 2012 01:25 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC