Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 28, 2012, 09:04 PM   #1
iamthekiller
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quasar for iPad - run multiple/resized live windows

http://modmyi.com/content/7587-new-j...ment-ipad.html



Quasar is pretty amazing and came totally out of nowhere. I have it installed and it's like a different device. All windows can be resized, moved, and rotated by portrait or landscape. All windows run live, not paused just because you're active in another.

$10 in Cydia
iamthekiller is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 07:20 AM   #2
master-ceo
macrumors 65816
 
master-ceo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The SUN
My prayers have been answered
__________________
iOS Power User

Think for Yourself, Stop Mind Control
master-ceo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 08:49 AM   #3
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
[MOD NOTE]
Stay on topic and stop the arguing/bickering and insults.
__________________
~Mike Flynn
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 08:53 AM   #4
Dr McKay
macrumors Demi-God
 
Dr McKay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kirkland
Send a message via MSN to Dr McKay Send a message via Skype™ to Dr McKay
That looks great! Out of curiosity what happens if you run out of RAM?
__________________
If only I could be so grossly incandescent.
Dr McKay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 12:18 PM   #5
Junkdumpster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I've been running this app for a little bit and love it. I'm wondering if anyone has had problems running it while using Dreamboard themes.

I tried (unsuccessfully) to use it with one theme, and wrote it off as possibly being a problem with the specific theme's layout. However, it doesn't seem to run on any theme I've installed. This also makes it impossible to access any apps while using any theme but the default iOS theme unless I first turn off Quasar.

Anyone know what might prevent it from working, and if so, does anyone know of any ways of tweaking themes so that it might solve the problem?
Junkdumpster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 5, 2012, 08:58 AM   #6
lepeos
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Using this with GBC.emu. Finally able to read FAQ's whilst playing along with some classic games, pretty awesome
lepeos is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 10:35 AM   #7
gigaguy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: TX
My iPad keeps freezing up now, I tihnk it is Quasar causing it, I disabled it.
Too bad, nice app. I also loaded swipeselect, very nice too.
Will have to keep testing to see what is causing the freezing.
gigaguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 6, 2012, 08:46 PM   #8
SSpiro
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
This app is BA.
__________________
[MBP2,2][160GB iPod][80GB iPod][Black 64GB WiFi iPad2][Black 64GB WiFi iPad1][Samsung Galaxy S3]
SSpiro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 10:29 AM   #9
DS3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Now that my iPad 3 is finally jailbroken I got this.

Seems great to me, loaded up Netflix in a horizontal window and safari in a vertical window and there we go the multi-tasking I've been wanting for a year. Its up to version 1.04 so presumably the initial UI problems I heard of are gone, didnt notice any.

If it does freeze the iPad 1/2, hopefully the 3's increased ram will help it. Either way Im probably just going to leave it disabled for general use and enable it when I actually need it.
DS3 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 11:32 AM   #10
HeyGreggie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
first app i installed
HeyGreggie is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 11:34 AM   #11
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
just tried it on my new ipad, didnt really care for it :/ looked cool on the video, but seemed a bit pointless for me personally.
BFizzzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 04:00 PM   #12
ammarr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Its buggy, but still worth the $10 IMO. Very useful when you want to run something in the background (say a flash stream using iswifter or skyfire). Can also be useful to have skype/IM and safari running side by side. Overall, a very useful purchase!
ammarr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 04:04 PM   #13
jaeguyoon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Definitely worth the 10 bucks! hope the developer further improves this!
__________________
16gb iPhone 3GS//White MacBook//32gb iPad//Apple tv
jaeguyoon is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 05:44 PM   #14
bedifferent
macrumors Demi-God
 
bedifferent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
[MOD NOTE]
Stay on topic and stop the arguing/bickering and insults.
Amen. It's a sad reflection when we can't even have a civil discussion online.

PS I wish you guys would get rid of the voting system. All it does is inflame others. Arn and I talked about it a while back, he was considering just allowing positive votes and not negative. That would be much better.
bedifferent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 07:43 PM   #15
Redjericho
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedifferent View Post
Amen. It's a sad reflection when we can't even have a civil discussion online.

PS I wish you guys would get rid of the voting system. All it does is inflame others. Arn and I talked about it a while back, he was considering just allowing positive votes and not negative. That would be much better.
I like it, it makes it different from other forums, and I like to know whether or not people agree with me.
Redjericho is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 08:04 PM   #16
GeorgieAcevedo
macrumors 6502a
 
GeorgieAcevedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York City
Doesn't work iPad 3 but I read on the devs twitter he's working on it.
__________________
I do have an iPhone, iPad & MacBook. But why do I have to put it here? Why would you care?
GeorgieAcevedo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 08:22 PM   #17
DS3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgieAcevedo View Post
Doesn't work iPad 3 but I read on the devs twitter he's working on it.
? I'm on the 3 and its worked fine. Crashed once, but I've used it for at least a hour so one crash is no big deal.

As to the guy who called it pointless, if you are trying to use two apps that require active input then yeah it mostly is. But playing a video while web browsing is pretty cool to me.. been trying it with netflix and twitch. Should also be handy when you want to reference something from one app while inputting into another. Same as with a PC, heh...

There are 2 updates I'd love to it: default to normal behavior (launch windows maxmized), and have some activator style button combo that launches it into the windowed mode. As of now its annoying to have to maximize things all the time if you have no intention of multitasking, thus why I'd default it to disabled and just use it as needed. Second would be the ability to pin one app on top, so I could use one app full screen with another stuck on top in the corner traditional PIP style. Would just allow to use full screen real estate and most apps have a corner of the screen you don't really have to have.

Since its still a pretty new tweak maybe it will see something like those.

Last edited by DS3; May 25, 2012 at 08:29 PM.
DS3 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 08:24 PM   #18
GeorgieAcevedo
macrumors 6502a
 
GeorgieAcevedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York City
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS3 View Post
? I'm on the 3 and its worked fine. Crashed once, but I've used it for at least a hour so one crash is no big deal.
He had tweeted it didn't work and that he just submitted a update. But I'll go ahead and buy it now trusting you!
__________________
I do have an iPhone, iPad & MacBook. But why do I have to put it here? Why would you care?
GeorgieAcevedo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 08:39 PM   #19
ammarr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Btw, is there any other app which actually keeps apps active in the background like this? (i.e. keep audio/video playing)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DS3 View Post
There are 2 updates I'd love to it: default to normal behavior (launch windows maxmized), and have some activator style button combo that launches it into the windowed mode. As of now its annoying to have to maximize things all the time if you have no intention of multitasking, thus why I'd default it to disabled and just use it as needed.
Yup, waiting for this feature to be added as well. As it is, I generally keep it off since the default full screen behaviour is what I need most of the time. But nice to have the option when needed.
ammarr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 08:44 PM   #20
DS3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
There was an app called backgrounder that would force things to keep running, but that was way back in iOS 3 when there was no multi-tasking setup so no idea if its still functional. Doubt it.

May be something new too, I don't have comprehensive knowledge of tweaks or anything.
DS3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 10:10 PM   #21
flyguy206
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
The app is good but it could use some work. If you could go full screen and then open another app it would be cool. But good tweek.
flyguy206 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 10:17 PM   #22
unlimitedx
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS3 View Post
There was an app called backgrounder that would force things to keep running, but that was way back in iOS 3 when there was no multi-tasking setup so no idea if its still functional. Doubt it.

May be something new too, I don't have comprehensive knowledge of tweaks or anything.
I'm using backgrounder for certain apps on the iPhone 4s. It is still working
unlimitedx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 10:29 PM   #23
xraytech
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I read on Cydia...

... that,

"iPad 3 fully support is being added in the next update"

Any issues with iPad 3 users right now?
xraytech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 11:02 PM   #24
Sylon
macrumors 68000
 
Sylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Michigan/Ohio, USA
So is it working at all for the iPad 3? Or is this "update" thats coming for better functionality and retina capability?
__________________
2013 13" Retina MacBook Pro | 32GB iPhone 4S | 32GB iPad Air | TV
16GB Samsung GS4 | 16GB Nexus 4 | 16GB Nexus 7
Sylon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2012, 11:42 PM   #25
~Ks383~
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by xraytech View Post
... that,

"iPad 3 fully support is being added in the next update"

Any issues with iPad 3 users right now?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylon View Post
So is it working at all for the iPad 3? Or is this "update" thats coming for better functionality and retina capability?
It is working on my iPad 3. I assume that he means improved functionality and retina capability. The buttons under the windows look really pixilated on my iPad.
~Ks383~ is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows are resized after waking from sleep (help) Travisimo Mac mini 3 Oct 24, 2013 07:55 AM
Run multiple VMs on one Windows license glenthompson Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Sep 25, 2013 06:16 PM
Windows resized after waking up from sleep. on2thnext1 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jul 20, 2013 03:54 AM
General: So quasar was/is the only thing that allows ipad/iPhone to run multiapp? oftheheavens Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Feb 10, 2013 10:09 PM
iPad: Quasar - better on iPad 2 or 3? derrick2005 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 10 Jun 28, 2012 07:52 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC