Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 18, 2012, 12:57 PM   #1
Washac
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Guild Wars 2 Mac Client

ArenaNet release a Mac client - https://www.guildwars2.com/en/news/a...-for-mac-beta/

OK, so it is a Cider wrap but hey it works better than in a Wineskin so people are saying.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 01:00 PM   #2
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Officially supported versions are always the best... its a real pain to get it working on your own with Wineskin, so if there is an officially supported way like this where you just download and play, then that is always the way to go.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 02:30 PM   #3
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Anyone tried this yet? Without a doubt, I'm going to have to download it. The question is what about FRAMES...

GW2 Mac Requirements
Quote:
Mac OS®X 10.7.X or later
Intel® Core™ i5 or better
4 GB Ram or better
NVIDIA® GeForce® 320M, ATI Radeon™ HD 6630M, Intel HD 3000 or better
25 GB available HDD space
Broadband Internet connection
Keyboard and mouse/equivalent


The Mac beta version of Guild Wars 2 runs well on the below machines or better. Your results may vary if you’ve upgraded or changed your Mac hardware or are running on lower hardware specifications.

iMac 21.5", 27" (Mid-2010)
iMac 21.5", 27" (Mid-2011)
MacBook Pro 15", 17" (Mid-2010)
MacBook Pro 13", 15", 17" (Early and Late-2011)
MacBook Pro 13", 15", 17 (Mid-2012)
Mac Mini (Mid-2011)
Crap, I need to install Lion...
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.

Last edited by Huntn; Sep 18, 2012 at 02:36 PM.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 02:50 PM   #4
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
Anyone tried this yet? Without a doubt, I'm going to have to download it. The question is what about FRAMES...

GW2 Mac Requirements


Crap, I need to install Lion...
On the Porting Teams site it states that the Cider version used for this client supports Snow Leopard, try it you never know your luck
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 03:01 PM   #5
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Well the Mac client released by ArenaNet is a BIG no go for me.

I am running Snow Leopard 10.6.8 and 2.66 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon.

So it looks like you do have to match their specs for it

Totaly not fair for older Mac owners
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 03:18 PM   #6
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
Well the Mac client released by ArenaNet is a BIG no go for me.

I am running Snow Leopard 10.6.8 and 2.66 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon.

So it looks like you do have to match their specs for it

Totaly not fair for older Mac owners
You playing the PC version on your Mac? If so you could always try the Mac version and see for yourself. Or have they stated specifically no?
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 03:30 PM   #7
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
You playing the PC version on your Mac? If so you could always try the Mac version and see for yourself. Or have they stated specifically no?
The game does not run for me under Bootcamp, well it runs but keeps crashing to a black screen at varying times of play.

It runs under the Wineskin wrapper, very playable but could be a bit better.

It does not run at all under the newly released Cider Mac Client.

I have been told by somebody who knows far more than me that even though my machine does not match their specs there should be no reason for the Mac client not to work, he is looking into it for me.

Just to back this up, if you look inside the plist for ArenaNets Cider release, it is set to 10.6.8 min requirement.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Last edited by Washac; Sep 18, 2012 at 03:47 PM.
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 09:07 PM   #8
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
just because they left the Cider wrapper requirement at 10.6.8, doesn't mean it'll work... that just means the OS will think it can run and try to run it...
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 10:28 PM   #9
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
I have been told by somebody who knows far more than me that even though my machine does not match their specs there should be no reason for the Mac client not to work, he is looking into it for me.
Often this is the case, but sometimes not. Not that I know anything, but if it can't produce a picture, could be graphic related.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2012, 11:43 PM   #10
Ryukouki
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
I ran some tests of my own on my Mid 2012 13" Macbook Pro. What did I observe? About 20-30 FPS in Lions Arch, and about 25 on WvW with lowest settings. Change a few things up like Anti-Aliasing and maybe medium animations and the FPS change is negligible, like -1FPS. It's actually impressive considering it has no optimization and I'm surprised that this is already being released. It's worlds ahead of Star Wars: The Old Republic though, hands down. A Mac release is a godsend! Mouse scrolling works perfectly fine on my Logitech Anywhere Mouse MX. Temperatures: I was getting about 40-50C, running iStat menus and optimizing fan control to the max, with a small fan right behind the exhaust, down from 68-80C on Bootcamp. Definitely a lot of room for improvement.

Oh, my computer specs? 2.9GHz core i7 Processor that can turbo-boost to 3.6 GHz, and HD Graphics 4000 as my graphics card. I also have a 256 GB Crucial M4 SSD.
Ryukouki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 02:36 AM   #11
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huntn View Post
Often this is the case, but sometimes not. Not that I know anything, but if it can't produce a picture, could be graphic related.
Does not seem to be a graphic card problem as I have read the new client runs on the same card that I have, and the fact that the game runs under Wineskin proves that.

It did run once last night for me, but no go since

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by doh123 View Post
just because they left the Cider wrapper requirement at 10.6.8, doesn't mean it'll work... that just means the OS will think it can run and try to run it...
People are running it under 10.6.8.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 03:50 AM   #12
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
OK, so the new Mac Client runs on this machine - ATI Radeon HD 4870 512 MB on 2008 mac pro with 6gig.

So how come it does not work on mine.

MacPro 2009
OS X 10.6.8 - It does run on this.
2.66GHz Quad - Core Intel
6Gb Mem
Graphics card ATI Radeon HD4870
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 03:51 AM   #13
Ekhiel
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Hi,

my son wants to play it on a 27inch i3 imac.
Do you guys thinks this will be possible? Or is the i5 mandatory?
Ekhiel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 03:55 AM   #14
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ekhiel View Post
Hi,

my son wants to play it on a 27inch i3 imac.
Do you guys thinks this will be possible? Or is the i5 mandatory?
It is what they have chosen to support, people are running it on a machine as I have above, but it will not run on mine, trying to find out why.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 08:19 AM   #15
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post

People are running it under 10.6.8.
some people... sure, but its not supported and may or may not work right. If your running 10.6, don't expect it to work, but it may. If you find someone else with the same exact set up that ran it fine on 10.6, then you may be in luck, but thats doesn't mean some update in the future will not break it.
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 09:41 AM   #16
NAG
macrumors 68030
 
NAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: /usr/local/apps/nag
Getting above 10.7.4 seems to be a requirement for some cards.
NAG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 10:21 AM   #17
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAG View Post
Getting above 10.7.4 seems to be a requirement for some cards.
That maybe correct, but it would be nice if they put that in their support section.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 10:34 AM   #18
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryukouki View Post
I ran some tests of my own on my Mid 2012 13" Macbook Pro. What did I observe? About 20-30 FPS in Lions Arch, and about 25 on WvW with lowest settings. Change a few things up like Anti-Aliasing and maybe medium animations and the FPS change is negligible, like -1FPS. It's actually impressive considering it has no optimization and I'm surprised that this is already being released. It's worlds ahead of Star Wars: The Old Republic though, hands down. A Mac release is a godsend! Mouse scrolling works perfectly fine on my Logitech Anywhere Mouse MX. Temperatures: I was getting about 40-50C, running iStat menus and optimizing fan control to the max, with a small fan right behind the exhaust, down from 68-80C on Bootcamp. Definitely a lot of room for improvement.

Oh, my computer specs? 2.9GHz core i7 Processor that can turbo-boost to 3.6 GHz, and HD Graphics 4000 as my graphics card. I also have a 256 GB Crucial M4 SSD.
what resolution did you run in?
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 10:53 AM   #19
Ryukouki
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by luffytubby View Post
what resolution did you run in?
Mine was 1280x800.
Ryukouki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 11:22 AM   #20
NAG
macrumors 68030
 
NAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: /usr/local/apps/nag
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
That maybe correct, but it would be nice if they put that in their support section.
Yeah they should probably note this (and Apple gets a wag of the finger for waiting so long to do anything about their junk drivers and OpenGL).
NAG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 01:08 PM   #21
Miharu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ekhiel View Post
Hi,

my son wants to play it on a 27inch i3 imac.
Do you guys thinks this will be possible? Or is the i5 mandatory?
I have the same iMac, and the game is running really good Give it a go!
Miharu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 01:43 PM   #22
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 65832
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
OK, still cannot get the new Mac client to work correctly, the game does exactly what it does under Bootcamp, crashes to a black screen after 10 to 15 minutes of playing.

MacPro 2009
OS X Lion
2.66GHz Quad - Core Intel
6Gb Mem
Graphics card ATI Radeon HD4870

Why does it run under Wineskin ?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.2/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2012, 06:09 PM   #23
royal shrimp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: california
Here guys if you have the bootcamp or any PC version and dont want to download full game!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ui9unhlOtM0
royal shrimp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2012, 11:08 AM   #24
stevelam
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
anyone tried this with an RMBP?
stevelam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 11:33 AM   #25
ReillyGJ22
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by royal shrimp View Post
Here guys if you have the bootcamp or any PC version and dont want to download full game!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ui9unhlOtM0


Does anyone know if this will work going in the "opposite direction"? I just installed the mac client last night, and while certainly playable, I'd like to give it a shot on my BC partition. If I can skip the long download process, that would be a big help.
ReillyGJ22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Network problem playing Guild Wars 1 on Mac Noetics Mac and PC Games 1 Mar 28, 2014 04:44 AM
OS X: guild wars 2 mac beta fps fluctuates anonymous4a Mac and PC Games 2 Nov 26, 2012 07:58 AM
OS X: Guild Wars 2 Mac beta FPS? anonymous4a Mac and PC Games 0 Nov 18, 2012 08:05 PM
Guild Wars 2 Arrives on Mac With Beta Client Release MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 126 Oct 20, 2012 11:02 PM
Guild Wars 2 - native OSX client beta available robo456 Mac and PC Games 36 Sep 21, 2012 10:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC