Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:00 PM   #51
motorazr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Frozen Waste...wait. Duluth, Minnesota.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHankwitz View Post
What is so critical in iOS 6.0 that it needs a quick 6.1 fix?
Personally I'd say not too much, except weirdly I've started having Music crash on a regular basis on my iPhone 5-- though it's a lot less often than it used to crash on iOS 5 IF I allowed it to load from iTunes match.
__________________
iPhone 6, 64GB, Space Grey Canon 1D MKIII, 50mm 1.4 135L 24-70mm & 70-200mm 2.8 11" i7 MBA, 1.8Ghz, 256GB iMac 27" i7@3.4Ghz, 12GB Also:
motorazr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:00 PM   #52
doelcm82
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by maccompatible View Post
Who has more than 64GB of RAM???
First World Problem.

Mitt Romney thinks that's an average amount.

My first computer had 64K.
doelcm82 is online now   4 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:03 PM   #53
mertyz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by shanmugam View Post
scuffgate, navigate, wi-figate and so on ...
Yeah, iOS 6.1 will totally solve the scuffgate
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB Space Gray - 2012 MBA 13" 1.8GHz/4GB/128GB - 27" Apple Thunderbolt Display - iPad 2 Wi-Fi 16GB White - 3rd Gen iPod Touch 8GB - 3rd Gen iPod Shuffle 2GB
mertyz is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:05 PM   #54
drlunanerd
macrumors 65816
 
drlunanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post
Update 1:32 PM: Apple has also released OS X Lion 10.7.5 Supplemental Update, bringing several bug fixes to the latest version of OS X Lion.
Excellent. I got hit by the Time Machine bug in 10.7.5.
drlunanerd is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:06 PM   #55
JHankwitz
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Send a message via AIM to JHankwitz
What is so critical in iOS 6.0 that it needs a quick 6.1 fix?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eminemdrdre00 View Post
Maps?
It took Google 6 months to fix similar problems when they came out with their original mapping application. With the added complexity of the new Apple Maps, don't hold your breath for a quick fix. We're looking at about 200,000,000,000 square miles to review and fix.
JHankwitz is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:07 PM   #56
doelcm82
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Texas, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHankwitz View Post
What is so critical in iOS 6.0 that it needs a quick 6.1 fix?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eminemdrdre00 View Post
Maps?
Survey says:

Maps' critical problems are server-side. No OS update needed.
doelcm82 is online now   17 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:09 PM   #57
JHankwitz
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Send a message via AIM to JHankwitz
Quote:
Originally Posted by drlunanerd View Post
Excellent. I got hit by the Time Machine bug in 10.7.5.
What is the Time Machine bug?
JHankwitz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:11 PM   #58
powers74
macrumors 68000
 
powers74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: At the bend in the river
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post

- Addresses an issue that may prevent systems with more than 64 GB of RAM from starting up

Wish I had that problem!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JHankwitz View Post
What is so critical in iOS 6.0 that it needs a quick 6.1 fix?

I'm personally having a problem where Reminders isn't, well, reminding me of things. They show up as hot if I open the app, but they're not dropping the badge or making the sounds. All of which are activated in settings. So there's that.
__________________
"Any sufficiently advanced troll is indistinguishable from a genuine kook."
powers74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:12 PM   #59
fiveainone
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Steve Jobs would've never allowed this.
fiveainone is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:13 PM   #60
saccento
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northern NJ
64 GB of RAM.. LOL wow.
__________________
13'' MacBook Pro, iPhone 5s 32gb Space Gray, Apple TV 1080p, Nikon D90
saccento is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:14 PM   #61
50548
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Currently in Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by naveah View Post
Upgrading now.
THE important question: does it fix the spotlight/console messages bug that has caused numerous wake-from-sleep issues and constant Console thrashing?

Thanks!
50548 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:18 PM   #62
xodiak
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHankwitz View Post
What is so critical in iOS 6.0 that it needs a quick 6.1 fix?

It took Google 6 months to fix similar problems when they came out with their original mapping application. With the added complexity of the new Apple Maps, don't hold your breath for a quick fix. We're looking at about 200,000,000,000 square miles to review and fix.
I agree and Google Maps still doesn't work well in areas like DC and Arlington VA. I tried to find a PF Changs 3 months ago, followed the directions and ended up instead of a left hand turn at one intersection it required a right hand turn. Took me 6 miles to turn around because that road has barriers on each side of it. Oddly Maps found it the first time. But yeah I agree with you Maps just needs time and use and things will get better.
xodiak is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:18 PM   #63
shanmugam
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Blazer town!
Quote:
Originally Posted by mertyz View Post
Yeah, iOS 6.1 will totally solve the scuffgate
why not, one of the upgrades we got 3G to 4G!!!
__________________
iPhone 5| iPad 4 | iPad mini | Nexus 7 | Kindle
Nov2012| Mac Mini| Core i7 2.3GHz QC | 330 240GB USB 3 | Viewsonic 21.5" 1920x1080
Sep2012|Toshiba 14" | i5 2.5Ghz 1366x768 |Win 7 | x-25M 120GB
shanmugam is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:22 PM   #64
CIA
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
64GB of ram. 99% of the people have no need, but if you are doing big data crunching, or serious work in Adobe Apps, you can easily use that much. Got 32GB in my MacPro and it's used nearly completely used by AE, might bump up since ram is so damn cheap.
OSX still won't see anything over 96GB even though you can put 128GB into a Mac Pro. Windows sees it fine, it's a software thing.

All my "normal" machines have 4 or 8GB in them.
CIA is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:25 PM   #65
shanmugam
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Blazer town!
matter of time we get one stick 16GB RAM, may be in next two years...

then starting iMac can go 4 x 16GB

how many slots Mac Pro got?
__________________
iPhone 5| iPad 4 | iPad mini | Nexus 7 | Kindle
Nov2012| Mac Mini| Core i7 2.3GHz QC | 330 240GB USB 3 | Viewsonic 21.5" 1920x1080
Sep2012|Toshiba 14" | i5 2.5Ghz 1366x768 |Win 7 | x-25M 120GB
shanmugam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:26 PM   #66
thasan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: uk
Quote:
Originally Posted by maccompatible View Post
Who has more than 64GB of RAM???
The poster before you? Lol
thasan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:27 PM   #67
CIA
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
You can already buy 1 stick 16GB modules. Just not for the iMac yet. SODIMMs are still limited to 8GB per stick. (for now)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shanmugam View Post
matter of time we get one stick 16GB RAM, may be in next two years...

then starting iMac can go 4 x 16GB

how many slots Mac Pro got?

Last edited by CIA; Oct 4, 2012 at 05:36 PM.
CIA is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:29 PM   #68
Gasu E.
macrumors 68030
 
Gasu E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Not far from Boston, MA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by doelcm82 View Post
First World Problem.

Mitt Romney thinks that's an average amount.

My first computer had 64K.
47% of users have less than 8GB.
__________________
Please stop boring me.
Gasu E. is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:31 PM   #69
milbournosphere
macrumors 6502a
 
milbournosphere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkmannj View Post
Hackintosher's (of which I am not one)
You can cram 128GB into the stock two socket Mac Pros as well. They only say that the machines will take 64, but it'll take 128 without complaint.
__________________
Russian roulette linux style : dd if=/dev/urandom of=/dev/kmem bs=1 count=1 seek=$RANDOM
milbournosphere is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:35 PM   #70
gregwyattjr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Addresses an issue that may prevent systems with more than 64 GB of RAM from starting up
64 GB of RAM?!

__________________
I'm happy, hope you're happy too
gregwyattjr is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:37 PM   #71
manu chao
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHankwitz View Post
What is the Time Machine bug?
That backups got sometimes extremely slow. A lot, really a lot of people had that problem. On one TM backup it had fixed itself largely after a week, on the other it can still take between 10 hours and multiple days. Last night 12 hours where not enough for it to finish. It could stay for one hour at essentially no movement at all.
manu chao is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:40 PM   #72
D.T.
macrumors 68030
 
D.T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vilano Beach, FL
I've got 64GB in my MBP, glad to see Apple is addressing this issue!

















Obviously not ... but I do have 16GB :^)
D.T. is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:41 PM   #73
Nevzorus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHankwitz View Post
What is so critical in iOS 6.0 that it needs a quick 6.1 fix?
Everything that has bugs?
__________________
MacBook Air 2013 13'
White iPad 3rd GEN 16GB
Black iPhone 4 16GB
Nevzorus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:51 PM   #74
shanmugam
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Blazer town!
Quote:
Originally Posted by CIA View Post
You can already buy 1 stick 16GB modules. Just not for the iMac yet. SODIMMs are still limited to 8GB per stick. (for now)
there is one 32GB @ newegg at whopping 2k

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820326202
__________________
iPhone 5| iPad 4 | iPad mini | Nexus 7 | Kindle
Nov2012| Mac Mini| Core i7 2.3GHz QC | 330 240GB USB 3 | Viewsonic 21.5" 1920x1080
Sep2012|Toshiba 14" | i5 2.5Ghz 1366x768 |Win 7 | x-25M 120GB
shanmugam is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2012, 05:55 PM   #75
Fishticks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Have thought of adding support for Thunderbolt ? It would be so great if I could use USB3 speed on my 2011 iMac...
Fishticks is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Releases Xcode 5.0.2 With Bug Fixes MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 4 Nov 18, 2013 04:52 AM
Apple Releases OS X 10.8.5 Supplemental Update With Several Bug Fixes MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 135 Oct 12, 2013 01:41 AM
Apple Releases iOS 6.0.2 Software Update for iPhone 5 and iPad Mini, Fixes Wi-Fi Bug MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 229 Dec 23, 2012 07:16 PM
Apple Releases OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.2 Supplemental Update 2.0 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 73 Dec 10, 2012 06:03 PM
10.8.2 Supplemental Update fixes a bug that affects Macs w/ more than 64 GB of RAM... ryan42 Mac Pro 0 Oct 6, 2012 12:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC