Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 23, 2012, 12:32 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Apple Introduces New Mac Mini With Faster Processors and Quad-Core Option




Apple updated its Mac mini line of desktop computers at its media event today.

The updated Mac mini models have new processors, including quad-core chips on the high end, as well as new build-to-order RAM options of up to 16 GB. Pricing remains the same as the prior generation Mac Mini models, starting at $599. There are two standard configuration and a server configuration:
Quote:
- $599, 2.5 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5, 4GB RAM, 500GB HD
- $799, 2.3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HD
- $999, 2.3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, 4GB RAM, 2TB HD, Includes Mountain Lion Server
High-end Mac mini models can now also be configured with Apple's new Fusion Drive technology, which seamlessly integrates a traditional 1 TB hard drive with 128 GB of fast flash storage for both speed and capacity. System files and frequently used apps and data are automatically placed in flash storage to optimize speed, while other data is housed on the slower traditional hard drive.

The Mac mini was last updated in July of 2011, marking some 460 days since the last update and the new models are available starting today.

Article Link: Apple Introduces New Mac Mini With Faster Processors and Quad-Core Option
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 12:41 PM   #2
winston1236
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ><
Is this the mac pro replacement?
winston1236 is offline   21 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 12:43 PM   #3
jwsmiths
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston1236 View Post
Is this the mac pro replacement?
No.

What's with the server not having an i7 standard?
jwsmiths is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 12:44 PM   #4
milo
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
I assume i5 means no hyperthreading? If not, what's the difference?

I guess it's nice to see quad, but without HT it's a big step down from the "real" quad cpus.
milo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 12:46 PM   #5
jwsmiths
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by milo View Post
I assume i5 means no hyperthreading? If not, what's the difference?

I guess it's nice to see quad, but without HT it's a big step down from the "real" quad cpus.
i5s have HT.
jwsmiths is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 12:48 PM   #6
Westyfield2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bath, UK.
So have we lost the discrete graphics?
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB on 4GEE
iPad 3G+WiFi 64GB
13" MacBook Air (2.13GHz, 4GB, 256GB) - 15" MacBook Pro (2.4GHz, 4GB)
Mac Mini (2.6GHz quad i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD)
Westyfield2 is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 12:48 PM   #7
Spanky Deluxe
macrumors 601
 
Spanky Deluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwsmiths View Post
No.

What's with the server not having an i7 standard?
I think that's a typo. There are no quad core i5 mobile processors. It looks like the top end and server models come with Core i7 3610QM processors.
__________________
"No, I'm from Iowa, I only work in outer space."
Spanky Deluxe is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 12:52 PM   #8
milo
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwsmiths View Post
i5s have HT.
So what's the difference between i5 quad and i7 quad?
milo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:05 PM   #9
MacSignal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston1236 View Post
Is this the mac pro replacement?
No.

Is this a viable alternative to an iMac in combination with a ACD or TBD? That is the question I look forward to answering with the next TBD update.
__________________
MacSignal
MacSignal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:06 PM   #10
JG271
macrumors 6502a
 
JG271's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Any news on the graphics cards? Would be a step backward to loose the discrete graphics.
JG271 is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:24 PM   #11
Spanky Deluxe
macrumors 601
 
Spanky Deluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by JG271 View Post
Any news on the graphics cards? Would be a step backward to loose the discrete graphics.
No discrete graphics chips anymore. Downgraded to Intel graphics across the board. Weak.

I just realised that the new 13" Retina MacBook Pro doesn't even have discreet graphics. I'm not sure how they can get away with driving that many pixels with only a weak integrated graphics chip. The whole lineup looks quite poor at the moment in my opinion. The 13" rMBP and Mac Mini are hindered by poor graphics and the iMac's missing the retina display that everyone knows is due at some point. I see no reason to upgrade from my ageing tech at the moment.
__________________
"No, I'm from Iowa, I only work in outer space."
Spanky Deluxe is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:26 PM   #12
andyjam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
I don't want to say I'm disappointed, but losing dedicated graphics (even just the half-useless chip they used before) makes this is a downgrade IMO.

Now I just don't know what to do...
andyjam is offline   14 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:27 PM   #13
arkmannj
macrumors 65816
 
arkmannj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UT
Send a message via AIM to arkmannj
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westyfield2 View Post
So have we lost the discrete graphics?
looks like it
every model is Intel HD Graphics 4000 now.
arkmannj is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:28 PM   #14
mdriftmeyer
macrumors 68020
 
mdriftmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Waste of time manufacturing this out.

It's nothing but a door stop and a use for surfing the web and email. Too bad. You put in more ram, hybrid drives and you can't manage a 7 series Mobile from AMD or a 6 series mobile from Nvidia. Pathetic.
mdriftmeyer is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:29 PM   #15
famerdave
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
No more graphic cards? What?! I was waiting on buying one for the refresh. I know on the old models, you could play Battlefield 3 with low graphics, how about on this one?
famerdave is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:29 PM   #16
Westyfield2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bath, UK.
Nooooooooo . Where did the AMD Radeon HD 6630M go?!
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB on 4GEE
iPad 3G+WiFi 64GB
13" MacBook Air (2.13GHz, 4GB, 256GB) - 15" MacBook Pro (2.4GHz, 4GB)
Mac Mini (2.6GHz quad i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD)
Westyfield2 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:30 PM   #17
Googlyhead
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Will have to see if there's much difference between these and the old ones. With discrete gfx, the previous gen might actually have some advantages.

Anyone know how the 4000 stacks up?
Googlyhead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:33 PM   #18
eklof
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I am guessing HD4000 should be more than sufficient for HTPC use?
eklof is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:34 PM   #19
CWallace
macrumors Demi-God
 
CWallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwsmiths View Post
What's with the server not having an i7 standard?
It does. The 2.3GHz QC part is an i7 per the specs page on Apple's site.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Spanky Deluxe View Post
I think that's a typo.
Yup.


Quote:
Originally Posted by milo View Post
So what's the difference between i5 quad and i7 quad?
In the mobile space, I believe it's L2 cache size and clockspeed.
CWallace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:35 PM   #20
golf1410
macrumors 6502a
 
golf1410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Francisco, CA
No new Apple display. What the heck?
golf1410 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:35 PM   #21
Westyfield2
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bath, UK.
Quote:
Originally Posted by eklof View Post
I am guessing HD4000 should be more than sufficient for HTPC use?
Didn't the old HD 3000 model have problems? 23.976 IIRC.
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB on 4GEE
iPad 3G+WiFi 64GB
13" MacBook Air (2.13GHz, 4GB, 256GB) - 15" MacBook Pro (2.4GHz, 4GB)
Mac Mini (2.6GHz quad i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD)
Westyfield2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:36 PM   #22
Spanky Deluxe
macrumors 601
 
Spanky Deluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Googlyhead View Post
Anyone know how the 4000 stacks up?
It's about 50% slower than the discrete 6630M from what I can tell.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/5865/l...-performance/3
__________________
"No, I'm from Iowa, I only work in outer space."
Spanky Deluxe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:36 PM   #23
ValSalva
macrumors 68040
 
ValSalva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Burpelson AFB
Can't mix an SSD and a HDD on the server model? Why?
ValSalva is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:37 PM   #24
famerdave
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
This Intel HD 4000 does have 512MB of graphic power though, so I would imagine, you might be surprised.
famerdave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 01:37 PM   #25
eklof
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Ths SSD option was a bit steep. How hard is it to replace HD in these newer minis? A 120GB 120 dollar SSD is good enough for me.
eklof is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro 13" with quad-core: has Apple ever offered this as an option? stagmeister MacBook Pro 3 Jul 23, 2013 08:30 PM
Mac Mini (2012) Dual Core vs Quad Core as a media center CeratixD Buying Tips and Advice 14 Feb 20, 2013 12:32 AM
Mac mini 2012 Dual-Core or Quad-Core? jmine83 Mac mini 15 Feb 6, 2013 08:51 PM
Mac mini dual-core vs quad-core HappyIslander Mac mini 30 Nov 13, 2012 06:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC