Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 25, 2012, 10:09 PM   #1
rdsii64
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Final cut pro X and optomized media

Until now I have always exported my eyetv footage in Prores 422 HQ. Then I opened the file in Final Cut Pro X and all is right with my world. Now the weird stuff starts.

Last night i nuked my system drive and installed mountian lion from scratch. After I finished installing all my applications, everything ran much smother and snappier. (I should have done this instead of upgrading from 10.7)

Anyway once I installed the latest version of eyetv, I noticed that the option to export as prores 422 was gone. there is however an option to export without changing the source file. If I do this, then click the optimized media option when importing to Final cut Pro X, will I still end up with prores 422 to edit? I tried to edit with apple intermedia codec. The problem with that is after the sharing the final product the end result was not as visually appealing as using Prores 422.
rdsii64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 07:57 PM   #2
nateo200
macrumors 68020
 
nateo200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rendering......
Sounds like your ProRes codecs are either moved to a new folder (this happened to allot with one of the Apple updates having multiple "Library" folders) or gone...Go diving through your folders, AIC is no way to edit, I've tried it and its not nearly as good as ProRes. If needed I can upload a ZIP file with the ProRes codecs or any others you might be missing if indeed you are missing them.
__________________
-15" rMBP 2.4/8/256/650M, FCP X, AE CS5.5, PS CS6
-USB3 180GB SSD, Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt
-iPhone 5c 32GB Blue and Samsung Galaxy Note 8.0
-Canon 550D, GoPro3 Black
nateo200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 11:13 PM   #3
rdsii64
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
figured it out

Quote:
Originally Posted by nateo200 View Post
Sounds like your ProRes codecs are either moved to a new folder (this happened to allot with one of the Apple updates having multiple "Library" folders) or gone...Go diving through your folders, AIC is no way to edit, I've tried it and its not nearly as good as ProRes. If needed I can upload a ZIP file with the ProRes codecs or any others you might be missing if indeed you are missing them.
thanks for the help. What I discovered is that my codecs were actually gone. I downloaded apples propac (its free now) and I once again have the option to export my eyetv footage as prores 422 HQ.
rdsii64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2012, 11:27 PM   #4
nateo200
macrumors 68020
 
nateo200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rendering......
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdsii64 View Post
thanks for the help. What I discovered is that my codecs were actually gone. I downloaded apples propac (its free now) and I once again have the option to export my eyetv footage as prores 422 HQ.
Damn thats weird that they just disappeared...didnt know the codecs were free now since I remember a few months ago they gouged you $20 for a crappy MPEG component....well good to here you got everything working again!
__________________
-15" rMBP 2.4/8/256/650M, FCP X, AE CS5.5, PS CS6
-USB3 180GB SSD, Intensity Shuttle Thunderbolt
-iPhone 5c 32GB Blue and Samsung Galaxy Note 8.0
-Canon 550D, GoPro3 Black
nateo200 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final Cut Pro X + Motion and Logic Pro X or Adobe After Effects + Premiere? LOLZpersonok Digital Video 25 May 13, 2014 12:13 PM
Apple Updates Final Cut Pro X with 2013 Mac Pro Compatibility, 4K Content MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 106 Jan 1, 2014 07:50 PM
Final Cut Pro X and MacBook Pro retina (late 2013) nicolasonline Digital Video 6 Nov 9, 2013 03:57 PM
Final Cut Pro 7 and Avid Media Composer 6 rendering issues on 24 core system... PunkNugget Digital Video 34 Oct 11, 2012 05:12 PM
Converting XML from Final Cut Pro 7 to Final Cut Pro X and visa versa MacintoshMan Digital Video 1 Oct 11, 2012 04:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC