Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 3, 2012, 12:55 PM   #1
cnstoll
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Three Monitors with Aperture

Hola,

Does anyone know if it's possible to get Aperture to use three monitors? Even a mirror of a photo on two of them, or a grid, and two comparison photos would be great.

Anyone know if that's possible?

Thanks,

- Conrad
cnstoll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:36 PM   #2
Prodo123
macrumors 68020
 
Prodo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
AFAIK Aperture doesn't even support dual monitors.
Apple sucks at multi-monitor setups in general, so this was relatively unsurprising for me.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" 2.2Ghz hi-res glossy, 16GB RAM, Logitech G700, Das Keyboard, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB iPhone 5 White 32GB Audiophile Photographer, videographer, audio engineer
Prodo123 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 04:41 PM   #3
Padaung
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Two monitors are definitely supported, have a read of this link:
http://www.apertureexpert.com/tips/2...perture-3.html

My favourite setup though is to select an image, press 'F' to bring the image up fullscreen on my main monitor, and then press 'H' to bring up the floating hud for adjustments, metadata etc and the '`' (tilde key) to bring up the loupe and have that set to 100% so I can check sharpness. I have the hud and loupe on my second screen.

Hope that helps. I've never had 3 screens at my disposal, so can't comment on what could be possible then - or instead of part of the Aperture interface, maybe have your email client or web browser there?
Padaung is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 10:38 PM   #4
AxisOfBeagles
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East of Shangrila
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodo123 View Post
AFAIK Aperture doesn't even support dual monitors.
Apple sucks at multi-monitor setups in general, so this was relatively unsurprising for me.
Sucks? huh? I've never tried 3, but I use dual monitors all the time on my Macs - and it's as easy as can be. Depending on the model, you use a thunderbolt or mini-DVI or whichever connector is appropriate for that model, then go to displays in systems preferences and set up the second as you wish. Piece of cake.

As for taking advantage of a second or 3rd monitor with Aperture, that's maybe a bit trickier. To my knowledge, Aperture does not allow the user to open images in a separate window, which is the best way to use that second monitor.
__________________
Once you can accept the universe as being something expanding into an infinite nothing which is something, wearing stripes with plaid is easy
AxisOfBeagles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 06:14 AM   #5
jadot
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodo123 View Post
AFAIK Aperture doesn't even support dual monitors.
Apple sucks at multi-monitor setups in general, so this was relatively unsurprising for me.
Apple supports dual monitors shock. AFAICT you actually suck at knowing what you're talking about.

(MRs : Attachments displaying upside down? Click through to display correct orientation)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.JPG
Views:	95
Size:	2.36 MB
ID:	375140  
__________________
@al_photo, Site
FB
jadot is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 02:20 PM   #6
Prodo123
macrumors 68020
 
Prodo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadot View Post
Apple supports dual monitors shock. AFAICT you actually suck at knowing what you're talking about.

(MRs : Attachments displaying upside down? Click through to display correct orientation)
I do know what I'm talking about.
Macs suck at multi-monitor setups since full screen mode is restricted to one screen only. Windowed mode, it's the same as any operating system, which is to say pretty basic.
As for dual monitor setups, I suppose it's an issue of mismatched resolution that's messing with my setup as it has never worked properly for me.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" 2.2Ghz hi-res glossy, 16GB RAM, Logitech G700, Das Keyboard, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB iPhone 5 White 32GB Audiophile Photographer, videographer, audio engineer
Prodo123 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 11:54 PM   #7
mulo
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodo123 View Post
As for dual monitor setups, I suppose it's an issue of mismatched resolution that's messing with my setup as it has never worked properly for me.
its just you, mismatched resolution is working and has been working for me for years.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 11:55 PM   #8
mulo
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodo123 View Post
As for dual monitor setups, I suppose it's an issue of mismatched resolution that's messing with my setup as it has never worked properly for me.
its just you, mismatched resolution is working and has been working for me for years.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Aperture: Phil Shiller leaks Aperture 4 on stage! ipedro Digital Photography 41 Jul 23, 2014 02:41 PM
Monitors, Monitors, Monitors... 2013 Air (13") logo3801 MacBook Air 7 Mar 2, 2014 10:12 PM
6 monitors/ 3 4k monitors attached to the nmp mrsavage1 Mac Pro 2 Jan 5, 2014 11:37 PM
Aperture library to iPhoto, No longer own Aperture. utahusker Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Oct 2, 2012 06:22 PM
Retnia MBP with THREE monitors dual 30" 2560*1600 ACD monitors and MBP @ 1920*1200! Redgr MacBook Pro 26 Jun 20, 2012 07:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC