Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 5, 2012, 08:21 PM   #1
markus843
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: North america
50GB+ Logic Pro 9?

Hello Everyone,

I am planning to get Logic pro 9, and I heard it takes up over 50Gb of storage?! Is this true? and if so, what's in the 50GB's?
markus843 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 08:49 PM   #2
Tokenboomer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus843 View Post
Hello Everyone,

I am planning to get Logic pro 9, and I heard it takes up over 50Gb of storage?! Is this true? and if so, what's in the 50GB's?
It's a little over 40 Gb I think but it might be more (it been a while since I installed it). Most of that is either samples for the EXS24 or Apple Loops. That takes a lot of memory.

If you don't have an immediate need for Logic 9, I'd wait. Logic 10 is overdue and should be out soon. That way you'll avoid buying 9 and then having to shell out more for the upgrade.
Tokenboomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 08:58 PM   #3
markus843
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: North america
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tokenboomer View Post
It's a little over 40 Gb I think but it might be more (it been a while since I installed it). Most of that is either samples for the EXS24 or Apple Loops. That takes a lot of memory.

If you don't have an immediate need for Logic 9, I'd wait. Logic 10 is overdue and should be out soon. That way you'll avoid buying 9 and then having to shell out more for the upgrade.
Thanks for the advice
markus843 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 07:56 AM   #4
wdnewman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sunny South
Logic 10

And then again, you may be waiting for a long, long time. It all depends if you want to put off doing projects until this comes on the market. Personally, I went ahead and just bought it. No regrets.
wdnewman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:01 PM   #5
rockstarjoe
macrumors 6502a
 
rockstarjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: washington dc
If you download from the Mac App Store I believe it is only 16GB (they compressed the samples)
__________________
My band - [velvet] - Our music on iTunes
rockstarjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mavericks GUI response:Logic pro 9 & Logic Pro X? infoseeker OS X Mavericks (10.9) 5 Apr 3, 2014 12:21 PM
Should I buy Logic Pro now or wait for Logic X? Aluminum213 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Feb 18, 2013 10:17 AM
New to Mac, Logic pro and Logic studio lstar4ever Digital Audio 9 Feb 16, 2013 10:07 AM
Used Logic Studio box vs Logic Pro in appstore MacFro Digital Audio 4 Feb 6, 2013 10:30 PM
Swap the logic board in a macbook pro mid 2010 for an early 2011 logic board croma Mac Basics and Help 4 Jan 12, 2013 12:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC