Subler and no sound on Apple TV? - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 5, 2012, 09:56 AM   #1
DaGrandMastah
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Subler and no sound on Apple TV?

I'm having problem with an MKV file. The file plays perfectly fine on VLC but will not play with sound on my Apple TV.

I used Subler to convert it to an M4V file for playback on my apple tv but it results in no sound. Anyone have any ideas on what could be the problem and how to fix it?
DaGrandMastah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 09:59 AM   #2
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
you'll need to give us specific information about the file in question. at the moment you have given no relevant information, thus impossible to offer any advice at all.

at least tell us what audio tracks the file has.
or even better, provide a screenshot of the file opened in subler.
chenks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:13 AM   #3
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Most likely you have two or more audio tracks in your M4V file with both selected as "Enabled."

Open the file back up in Subler and uncheck all but the main audio track. Unchecking won't remove the track from the file but tells the AppleTV which track is the default. Having two ore more defaults confuses the AppleTV.

The other possibility is like the poster below specifies - your device (like a TV) might not support 5.1 sound. Then use sublers feature to down mix another track to AAC. If doing so make sure only one of the tracks is selected.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:15 AM   #4
waw74
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: May 2008
it is possible the file only has 5.1 surround, and your TV, or whatever is attached to the aTV can't handle that audio.
waw74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:46 AM   #5
DaGrandMastah
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Sorry. Here is a screen shot:



I'm looking to make the Norweigan track and Subtitle track the default.

I'm also getting an error at the end of the conversion saying that it couldn't mux the subtitle track. I converted the subtitles to 3gpp txt and the error goes away but when i go to play the file and select english subtitles it doesn't play anything (and still no sound).

Last edited by DaGrandMastah; Nov 5, 2012 at 10:56 AM.
DaGrandMastah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 11:06 AM   #6
ProudLoz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
You NEED to have an AAC stereo track for the Apple TV to recognize that AC-3 track. The same will apply to the second AC-3 track you have there. Then you need to checkmark the main AAC track that you want to play by default and uncheck the rest.

As for the subtitles not showing up, check what "group" it's in. It should be on 2 by default, but make sure that the audio tracks aren't using this group or else you'll have conflicts.
ProudLoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 11:13 AM   #7
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
[QUOTE=DaGrandMastah;16231705]Sorry. Here is a screen shot:

Image

nm
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR

Last edited by mic j; Nov 5, 2012 at 11:15 AM. Reason: updated after viewing the above post.
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 11:25 AM   #8
DaGrandMastah
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProudLoz View Post
You NEED to have an AAC stereo track for the Apple TV to recognize that AC-3 track. The same will apply to the second AC-3 track you have there. Then you need to checkmark the main AAC track that you want to play by default and uncheck the rest.

As for the subtitles not showing up, check what "group" it's in. It should be on 2 by default, but make sure that the audio tracks aren't using this group or else you'll have conflicts.
How would I go about doing this then? When i use the conversion setting in proferences to convert ac3 to aac it immediatley gives me an audio converter error (the audio converter can not be initialized) error.

Last edited by DaGrandMastah; Nov 5, 2012 at 11:57 AM.
DaGrandMastah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 11:58 AM   #9
DaGrandMastah
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Ok so I finally got the audio working by using this guide:

http://www.iphonelife.com/blog/87/co...one--part-iii

The only thing I'm still having a problem with is getting the subtitle track working. Still having a problem with no text appearing.
DaGrandMastah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 12:14 PM   #10
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGrandMastah View Post
Ok so I finally got the audio working by using this guide:

http://www.iphonelife.com/blog/87/co...one--part-iii

The only thing I'm still having a problem with is getting the subtitle track working. Still having a problem with no text appearing.
File has non-text based subtitles which the aTV will not display. They either need to be burned in to the video track or converted to text based (srt) format which the aTV has the ability to play.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 01:41 PM   #11
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaGrandMastah View Post
The only thing I'm still having a problem with is getting the subtitle track working. Still having a problem with no text appearing.
Based on the screenshot you posted, you have a PGS subtrack - that is, a native BD one.

You'll need to

a.)

1, convert it to VobSub

2, OCR it

OR


b.)

find an already-OCR'ed track in any of the online subtitle repositories - just make sure it's correctly synchronized.

For the former, you may want to check out post #22 and #23 at http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1469630
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 01:54 PM   #12
BJMRamage
macrumors 65816
 
BJMRamage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Good to know. I had an issue and realized it was an AC3 audio track not working for my speakers/TV and all correctly ripped AAC would work fine.

BJMRamage is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:00 PM   #13
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProudLoz View Post
You NEED to have an AAC stereo track for the Apple TV to recognize that AC-3 track. The same will apply to the second AC-3 track you have there. Then you need to checkmark the main AAC track that you want to play by default and uncheck the rest.

As for the subtitles not showing up, check what "group" it's in. It should be on 2 by default, but make sure that the audio tracks aren't using this group or else you'll have conflicts.
No - if playing on the ATV with a receiver that can decode it you can get by with just AC3. I've got several movies with only AC3 and it works fine with the ATV. The OPs problem was having more then one track selected (and/or having a connected device that can't decode AC3).
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subler luckystriked Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Feb 7, 2013 06:50 AM
Subler? Change profile for Apple TV and how to optimize? DaGrandMastah Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Dec 23, 2012 08:42 AM
New Subler Version mic j Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Dec 22, 2012 06:29 AM
Apple TV subtitle size ! subler AjeeB Apple TV and Home Theater 13 Nov 23, 2012 05:50 PM
Subler help Pyromonkey83 Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Nov 11, 2012 12:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC