Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2012, 12:14 AM   #1
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
AT&T LTE Just started working in Denver

I went to check the time on my phone and to my surprise, it read that it had an LTE connection. I was amazed, so I ran a speedtest. Yep, definitely LTE. I guess they decided to flip the switch.

Can any other Coloradoans confirm?

Thumb resize.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל

Last edited by AlphaDogg; Nov 9, 2012 at 12:26 AM.
AlphaDogg is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:22 AM   #2
AFDoc
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Just noticed this myself last night (and did a search here to see if any one else had this).... Not happy if we only get 14Mbps when others are getting 35Mbps. I guess it's better than what I was getting.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	297
Size:	196.3 KB
ID:	376084  

Last edited by AFDoc; Nov 9, 2012 at 06:28 AM.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:42 AM   #3
Brad02
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
You both have poor service from the screenshot. I'd expect you to be a lot higher when you were in a good service area. Keep us updated.

I'm in Louisville, KY and they are supposed to switch on LTE by the end of the year. I have only been on LTE in Cincinnati and it was terrible. I could never get over 15-16Mbits. I can get up to 10Mbit on HSPA+ here in Louisville. A friend who went to Indianapolis was getting close to 50Mbits.
Brad02 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:54 AM   #4
CosmoPilot
macrumors 65816
 
CosmoPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Carolina
Wirelessly posted

Charleston, SC here. We're suppose to get LTE by years end. Glad to see AT&T making progress in this area! Congrats in CO!
__________________
2011 27" 2.7GHz iMac 2012 2.5GHz 13" MBP iPhone 5S (Gold/64) / iPhone 5 iPad2 / iTouch 4G AppleTV (3G) / AEBS 802.11ac
CosmoPilot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:05 AM   #5
AFDoc
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
I have a conference in Denver today so will check speeds in the city.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:26 AM   #6
ProudLoz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFDoc View Post
Just noticed this myself last night (and did a search here to see if any one else had this).... Not happy if we only get 14Mbps when others are getting 35Mbps. I guess it's better than what I was getting.
Dude, you have two bars of LTE, of course you're only gonna get like between 10-20 mb/s down. I get the same service at home, it's only at night, when everyone is usually asleep that I manage to get a much better connection and can get at least 30 mb/s down. So, give it a shot at night.

Also congrats, I'm still waiting to get LTE here in Houston around the area where I work. It doesn't help that I'm practically on the outer edge of Houston.
ProudLoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:48 AM   #7
AFDoc
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
I didn't notice the signal when I posted. I got 22Mbps at a different location so am more excited about that.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	196.9 KB
ID:	376094  
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:59 AM   #8
ProudLoz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFDoc View Post
I didn't notice the signal when I posted. I got 22Mbps at a different location so am more excited about that.
Dude, just wait till you're out in the freeway or if you're near a tower and you get 5 bars. The speedtests are so fast the app crashes.
ProudLoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 08:45 AM   #9
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Well on my commute, I ran a speed test. AMAZING!!!
Thumb resize.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל

Last edited by AlphaDogg; Nov 9, 2012 at 09:05 AM.
AlphaDogg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 09:32 AM   #10
evilrt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Jersey USA
holy mega ping, batman! still awesome for At&t and CO. wtg.
evilrt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 09:35 AM   #11
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilrt View Post
holy mega ping, batman! still awesome for At&t and CO. wtg.
It's not that bad...
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 11:41 AM   #12
AFDoc
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
At MSUD in the parking lot by science building.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	193.9 KB
ID:	376152  

Last edited by AFDoc; Nov 9, 2012 at 02:09 PM.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 11:42 AM   #13
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFDoc View Post
At MSUD in the parking lot by science building.
My 47mbps was on Monaco and Yale in Denver.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 11:49 AM   #14
Jman13
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Columbus, OH
Hope they flip the switch in Columbus soon. We've got LTE in Cleveland, Akron and Cincinnati, but not the capital and largest city. Promised by end of year, hopefully soon.

However, I can't complain too much, as the HSPA+ netwok in Columbus is excellent. Typically in the 5-7 Mbps range with 130ms pings, and I've hit as high as 11.5 Mbps at some times.
Jman13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 12:19 PM   #15
anonymouse99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
You are correct! I see "AT&T LTE" in the southern Denver suburbs! Few days ago, I was in Denver proper, and it showed "AT&T 4G" - I'll try to drive by those areas again and see if that changed. Maybe other folks can also chime in!
anonymouse99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 01:32 PM   #16
Kyotoma
macrumors 68000
 
Kyotoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Carnegie and Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jman13 View Post
Hope they flip the switch in Columbus soon. We've got LTE in Cleveland, Akron and Cincinnati, but not the capital and largest city. Promised by end of year, hopefully soon.

However, I can't complain too much, as the HSPA+ netwok in Columbus is excellent. Typically in the 5-7 Mbps range with 130ms pings, and I've hit as high as 11.5 Mbps at some times.
I would only complain when there's a Buckeye game or something happening happening at Crew Stadium(Rock On The Range, Etc), but then again that congestion is only on the towers local to OSU.

Cleveland LTE is awesome. I couldn't be happier with it.
__________________
Black 4GB 2nd Gen iPod Nano, Black 30GB 5th Gen 'Video' iPod Classic, White 16 GB iPhone 3GS, White 16GB iPhone 4(GSM AT&T), Black 16GB iPhone 5(A1429), 32GB 1st Gen iPad WiFi, 16GB 2nd Gen Nexus 7
Kyotoma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 02:59 PM   #17
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
At school, my LTE speeds vary between 8Mbps-35Mbps downstream and 1.5Mbps-18Mbps upstream.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:10 PM   #18
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Anyone else in the metro area losing data connection every few minutes? I just chatted with an AT&T rep for a while. He re-registered my phone on the network, updated the IMEI and ICCID on the system, and re-registered it again. It seems the cause of my data connection being constantly dropped is due to the fact that I live on the edge of the nearest LTE-enabled tower.

----------

Also, this speedtest was done at an intersection about 3 blocks from my house.

Thumb resize.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 10:28 PM   #19
AFDoc
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
Anyone else in the metro area losing data connection every few minutes? I just chatted with an AT&T rep for a while. He re-registered my phone on the network, updated the IMEI and ICCID on the system, and re-registered it again. It seems the cause of my data connection being constantly dropped is due to the fact that I live on the edge of the nearest LTE-enabled tower.

----------

Also, this speedtest was done at an intersection about 3 blocks from my house.

Thumb resize.
I have noticed that. I'll have full bars but it keeps telling me I have no internet. Full bars with ATT at the top. I will be calling or going in to try and deal with the issue.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 10:31 PM   #20
John Adams
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX USA
Just switch to Verizon. LTE almost everywhere, 10x the markets than AT&T.
__________________
Late 2012 13" Macbook Pro Retina
iPhone 5S, 64gb, Verizon
iPad 4, 16gb, Verizon
John Adams is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 10:35 PM   #21
AFDoc
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Adams View Post
Just switch to Verizon. LTE almost everywhere, 10x the markets than AT&T.
At much slower speeds? No thanks. I have ATT LTE now so no need to go with the slower alternative.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 10:38 PM   #22
dwburnell
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I noticed it on my drive to work today. Only got around 15 Mbps. I live in Aurora and drive down to work on i25 to Lakewood. Nothing yet in Aurora or in Lakewood. I'm guessing they only turned on maybe one or two towers ad are still testing it. AT&T's website still says Denver is coming soon. I was freaking excited though when I saw it!
__________________
iPhone 5s, 16 GB 3rd Gen iPad 4G, 32 GB 2011 Mac Mini 2012 Macbook Air 13 1st & 3rd Gen Apple TV 1st Gen Black Macbook
dwburnell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 11:03 PM   #23
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwburnell View Post
I noticed it on my drive to work today. Only got around 15 Mbps. I live in Aurora and drive down to work on i25 to Lakewood. Nothing yet in Aurora or in Lakewood. I'm guessing they only turned on maybe one or two towers ad are still testing it. AT&T's website still says Denver is coming soon. I was freaking excited though when I saw it!
I basically live on I-25 and Hampden, so I guess there are a few towers around here that they are testing...

Edit: forgot to mention that I got LTE downtown too. Confluence park/16th st mall area.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל

Last edited by AlphaDogg; Nov 9, 2012 at 11:09 PM.
AlphaDogg is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 11:22 PM   #24
dwburnell
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
I basically live on I-25 and Hampden, so I guess there are a few towers around here that they are testing...

Edit: forgot to mention that I got LTE downtown too. Confluence park/16th st mall area.
Nice! Yeah I live off hampden and Yosemite and I only noticed when I got onto i25 off hampden. I hope they turn it on full soon. I've been having that issue with no data when I go from LTE back to "4G".
__________________
iPhone 5s, 16 GB 3rd Gen iPad 4G, 32 GB 2011 Mac Mini 2012 Macbook Air 13 1st & 3rd Gen Apple TV 1st Gen Black Macbook
dwburnell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 11:25 PM   #25
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwburnell View Post
Nice! Yeah I live off hampden and Yosemite and I only noticed when I got onto i25 off hampden. I hope they turn it on full soon. I've been having that issue with no data when I go from LTE back to "4G".
It's really annoying and it seems to me that it's because AT&T isn't quite finished with the LTE upgrade here. It's supposed to officially go live on Sunday (Nov 11), but I will be in Washington DC then. Hopefully when I get back to Denver on Thursday, the problem will be all sorted out.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Mini: AT&T turns on LTE Denver Colorado! hexonxonx iPad 6 Jun 28, 2013 07:12 AM
iPad Mini: New iPad Mini AT&T Denver no LTE hexonxonx iPad 9 Jun 7, 2013 11:33 AM
iPhone5 AT&T LTE Issues - Denver ME Nick iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 7 Jan 11, 2013 03:55 AM
LTE not working right?AT&T mcarthon iPhone 0 Sep 27, 2012 11:09 AM
Lte not working AT&T iphone305 iPhone 2 Sep 23, 2012 07:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC