Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2012, 11:28 PM   #26
mac.cali
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFDoc View Post
At much slower speeds? No thanks. I have ATT LTE now so no need to go with the slower alternative.
Slower speeds huh? Look at those high ping times!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	186.9 KB
ID:	376273  
__________________
iPhone 5s | iPad rMini | iPad 3 | MacBook Air | Apple TV | Airport Extreme
mac.cali is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:10 AM   #27
AFDoc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac.cali View Post
Slower speeds huh? Look at those high ping times!!
I can cherry pick too (checked my parents Vrz LTE today and theirs was 14 down and 6 up.)

It's a fact, ATT LTE is faster than Vrz. Don't argue with me, argue with the people that do the official testing of these things.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:11 AM   #28
mac.cali
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFDoc View Post
I can cherry pick too... It's a fact, ATT LTE is faster than Vrz. Don't argue with me, argue with the people that officially do the testing.
I'm not arguing with you. I'm telling you. Something that adults do to kids.
mac.cali is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:28 AM   #29
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac.cali View Post
I'm not arguing with you. I'm telling you. Something that adults do to kids.
Don't come into an AT&T thread, start hating on AT&T, and then proceed to call a fellow member a child. AT&T has its pitfalls. Verizon has its pitfalls. Both are good. It doesn't matter, nobody is going to switch to VZW solely based on something that someone posted on MR.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:42 AM   #30
AFDoc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
Don't come into an AT&T thread, start hating on AT&T, and then proceed to call a fellow member a child. AT&T has its pitfalls. Verizon has its pitfalls. Both are good. It doesn't matter, nobody is going to switch to VZW solely based on something that someone posted on MR.
It's been my experience people revert to calling people "kid" or the such when they have no real argument. It's not my fault ATT has been proven to have faster LTE speeds.... I don't do the testing.
AFDoc is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 02:41 AM   #31
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Still no LTE around Aurora. I live near southlands and work next to Buckley AFB and haven't seen anything yet. I certainly am praying though! Only reason I got my iPhone 5 after all...
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 04:42 PM   #32
John Adams
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Worth, TX USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFDoc View Post
At much slower speeds? No thanks. I have ATT LTE now so no need to go with the slower alternative.
AT&T LTE is a joke. The slowest in the world.
__________________
Late 2012 13" Macbook Pro Retina
iPhone 5S, 64gb, Verizon
iPad 4, 16gb, Verizon
John Adams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 05:15 PM   #33
thorn73
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromonkey83 View Post
Still no LTE around Aurora. I live near southlands and work next to Buckley AFB and haven't seen anything yet. I certainly am praying though! Only reason I got my iPhone 5 after all...
I have LTE in Aurora. First test is at Smoky Hill and Reservoir and the rest are at my house at Quincy and Reservoir. Last test is at Gartrell and E-470. Oh and one on my home network just for comparison. Speed varies based on bars and location so hopefully they are still working on it and gets more stable.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	189.9 KB
ID:	376420  
thorn73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 05:27 PM   #34
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
I'll run a speedtest when I'm at DIA tomorrow. Catching an earlyish flight to Maryland.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 05:36 PM   #35
LapsangSouchong
macrumors 65816
 
LapsangSouchong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: the burrows
GREAT!! I'm in another city slated for LTE by the end of the year. This bodes well!

Thanks for posting.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Adams View Post
AT&T LTE is a joke. The slowest in the world.
I guess it's all relative, and based on where you are. My AT&T 3G is faster than my friend's Verizon LTE. CONSISTENTLY. So I'm guessing when we get LTE here (by year's end) it, too, will be faster...
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it would cut itself.
Air, Imac, Black/Slate iPhone 5 (GSM)
LapsangSouchong is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 08:15 PM   #36
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO


At chipotle on Colorado blvd and Yale ave.

----------

Also, my data usage has skyrocketed ever since LTE started working here (I didn't say launched because its still unofficial). I've already used 1.4gb of data and the month isn't even halfway through. Last month, I used 900mb of data for the entire month. Since I'm traveling, I decided to upgrade my plan to the 3gb plan so that I don't run into the data cap and pay $10 for an extra gb.

Last edited by AlphaDogg; Nov 10, 2012 at 08:25 PM.
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 06:09 AM   #37
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorn73 View Post
I have LTE in Aurora. First test is at Smoky Hill and Reservoir and the rest are at my house at Quincy and Reservoir. Last test is at Gartrell and E-470. Oh and one on my home network just for comparison. Speed varies based on bars and location so hopefully they are still working on it and gets more stable.
You just made my day if you are getting LTE at Gartrell and 470. Now just waiting to see it on my own phone! Hopefully they will plop a tower right next to Buckley AFB, as my reception at work is BEYOND horrible. Would be nice to not have to stand on one leg and hop in a circle to get a damn text message out.
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 06:17 AM   #38
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
...no LTE at DIA which is very surprising

__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 06:21 AM   #39
AFDoc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyromonkey83 View Post
You just made my day if you are getting LTE at Gartrell and 470. Now just waiting to see it on my own phone! Hopefully they will plop a tower right next to Buckley AFB, as my reception at work is BEYOND horrible. Would be nice to not have to stand on one leg and hop in a circle to get a damn text message out.
My BIL Shawn was rocking some intel work at Buckley. I've flown into BAB a few times but never spent much time there. Seems like a nice base though.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 06:32 AM   #40
Gutwrench
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Wow, impressive speeds.

AT&T recently turned up LTE in the Twin Cities and the few tests I've run are about 1/2 your fastest speeds.

I honestly don't surf much away from my home wifi but constantly using data for work related emails and texts and such. About the only place I ever surf is when I'm being my wife's beast of burden at the Mall of America...which is our second home by the way. I really hope to take advantage of LTE then.
Gutwrench is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 12:05 PM   #41
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
LTE in Washington, D.C.

__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 02:19 PM   #42
cateye
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Haven't been down south toward Denver proper lately, but there's no LTE yet for me in Boulder or the surrounding cities (Louisville, etc.). I'm hoping once they turn it on for "real," that it's active up and down the whole Front Range, not just in Denver proper.
cateye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 11:08 PM   #43
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Post in here if LTE gets any better! I'm interested but I'm in DC, so I can't test it myself.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:33 AM   #44
cap10morgan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Anyone getting AT&T LTE on their iPad in Denver?

I was very happy to see AT&T's LTE service light up in Denver late last week. It works beautifully on my iPhone 5. However, I also have an AT&T iPad (3rd Gen.) w/ LTE. But I still just get "4G" on that in Denver. I have traveled to other LTE cities with it, and it jumped on the LTE like a champ. Is anyone seeing AT&T LTE work on their iPad (3rd+ gen.)?
cap10morgan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:59 AM   #45
apollo1444
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by cap10morgan View Post
I was very happy to see AT&T's LTE service light up in Denver late last week. It works beautifully on my iPhone 5. However, I also have an AT&T iPad (3rd Gen.) w/ LTE. But I still just get "4G" on that in Denver. I have traveled to other LTE cities with it, and it jumped on the LTE like a champ. Is anyone seeing AT&T LTE work on their iPad (3rd+ gen.)?
don't you need a carrier update or a new sim for it to work? just askin'...
apollo1444 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 08:49 PM   #46
anonymouse99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
I am on the lowest tier plan.

I was out and about, checked my yahoo email and a couple of web pages and boom! 30MB usage for just about 60-120 seconds of usage. No file downloads, just text browsing.

So, now, I've turned OFF LTE on my iPhone. I am not happy. This seems like a data usage racket unless I'm missing something very significant. In the past month of usage, I did similar things and usage did not inflate like this, but LTE seems like a joke to me.

LTE should be in the same usage ballpark, only faster, why does it show such excessive data consumption?

Anyone else having similar experiences?

Last edited by anonymouse99; Nov 13, 2012 at 08:56 PM.
anonymouse99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 09:28 PM   #47
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
I've used so much data this month. I don't know what I'm gonna do. This month's bill might be an expensive one. I'm not sure if it's because I'm traveling or because its easier to go through more data faster because LTE is so much faster, or because LTE is just sucking up data on my phone like the person above supposedly experienced.

__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 09:30 PM   #48
AutoUnion39
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
I've used so much data this month. I don't know what I'm gonna do. This month's bill might be an expensive one. I'm not sure if it's because I'm traveling or because its easier to go through more data faster because LTE is so much faster, or because LTE is just sucking up data on my phone like the person above supposedly experienced.

Image
turn off LTE. problem solved.
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 09:56 PM   #49
AlphaDogg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by AutoUnion39 View Post
turn off LTE. problem solved.
That's a total bandaid solution. I want to know the real source of my data usage to know what the real problem. If its my browsing habits, I can change that. But if it's a software issue, there is nothing I can do except to turn off LTE.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:29 PM   #50
AutoUnion39
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
That's a total bandaid solution. I want to know the real source of my data usage to know what the real problem. If its my browsing habits, I can change that. But if it's a software issue, there is nothing I can do except to turn off LTE.
Fair enough. Did the data bug ever get patched?
AutoUnion39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC