Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 31, 2011, 07:38 PM   #51
goodgnus
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Yup. The update is out.
Nope. It's definitely not flawless. I'm seeing the Duet getting confused between the level set using the volume knob and the level set using keyboard volume keys. Previously, they worked together. Now, the volume jumps based on which is used, as if the two represent two entirely different volume levels. You can even see it in the on screen floating volume display.

Boost the volume using keyboard keys. Note the display with white volume indicators. Now, turn down the volume using the Duet knob. I see dark gray indicators rather than white in the floating volume window and they don't match up.

Also: the Help menu item references Maestro 1 rather than Maestro 2.
goodgnus is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2011, 04:22 AM   #52
Benedict
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Tbh it looks and feels a bit rushed. It seems a bit sluggish too.
Benedict is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2011, 02:03 PM   #53
Daubster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX
My experience with the new drivers...

About three weeks ago I bought two used Duets and a brand new iMac. Imagine my frustration when I spent a grip and couldn't record anything. I have been waiting sometime for the new driver release, and though I would share my experience.

My situation, however, is a little different. I [successfully] aggregated two Duets with the new drivers and Logic 9 in OSX Lion. You can read more about my experience on my blog in the link below, with a detailed report on how I did it. I would be happy to answer any questions. Overall, I would say the drivers need a bit of work, but I have managed to successfully record for several hours without significant problems...

http://www.daubsters.com/2011/09/02/...vice-osx-lion/
Daubster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2011, 08:14 PM   #54
Luap
macrumors 6502a
 
Luap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daubster View Post
About three weeks ago I bought two used Duets and a brand new iMac. Imagine my frustration when I spent a grip and couldn't record anything. I have been waiting sometime for the new driver release, and though I would share my experience.

My situation, however, is a little different. I [successfully] aggregated two Duets with the new drivers and Logic 9 in OSX Lion. You can read more about my experience on my blog in the link below, with a detailed report on how I did it. I would be happy to answer any questions. Overall, I would say the drivers need a bit of work, but I have managed to successfully record for several hours without significant problems...

http://www.daubsters.com/2011/09/02/...vice-osx-lion/

Why are you spamming this all over the place? Looking for blog hits?
Luap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2011, 12:54 AM   #55
Daubster
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luap View Post
Why are you spamming this all over the place? Looking for blog hits?
Spamming? I posted this in another thread at Gearslutz. Pardon my malicious intent to share information.
Daubster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 11:58 AM   #56
jorgus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
No - the driver for Lion is really not good at all. My iMac lose contact with Duet every other day - sometimes many times a day. After iMac sleep. Duet seems to Mute. Replugging FW contact - or pressing M (mute) button in Maestro2 - restart the Duet - but mostly the sound is trash - sounds like a analog distortion. Restar is the only thing that fixes it - untill next time the Duet goes mute.
Apogee - where is the REAL driver for Lion?
jorgus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2011, 07:48 PM   #57
glocke12
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
So whats going on with this ?

I have the duet FW and am running lion. Can play music via iTunes, but I have no audio output for my instruments even though meters register input signals..
glocke12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2012, 12:07 PM   #58
bpm103
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
bollucks

I just picked up a new MBP and trying to hook up the old duet. It wasn't working like it did on my old iMac so I downloaded the new drivers and now everything that I run through is pinned in the red. I tried adjusting everything I could in the Maestro settings to no avail.

I guess Im SOL for now... back to headphones until they fix it or I get a new card.

L8
bpm103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 02:13 PM   #59
jpmizell
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Trouble With Lion

Apogee Duet (1) Firewire Lion System Trouble
--
System:
17" MBP
OS X 10.7.2
GarageBand 5.1
Duet (1) Firewire (plugged in 800 port)
Maestro 2.4.3 (downloaded 2012-01-27)

---
Symptoms:

Duet manages system audio output.
System audio does not recognize the duet - Device Unknown - Firewire (800).
Screen indication of volume changes from the Duet are missing.
System output is locked to the Duet.
Maestro 2 shows the Duet but does not have options for controlling inputs. (i.e. turning phantom power on/off)
Maestro 2 is slow to open/close (damn the pinwheel).
Unplugging the duet crashes Maestro 2.
Unplugging the duet kills the system audio. (w/-w/o Maestro 2 open)
Plugging the Duet back in restores audio at Full volume (no device memory).
Closing Maestro with the Duet attached does nothing (this is good)

---
Attached:
Screen Shot of Maestro 2 with Duet attached (via FW800), on input screen.


---
It is disappointing that Apogee would release an update that is so fickle. I've essentially got a $500 volume knob until I manage to figure this issue out.
jpmizell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2012, 02:39 AM   #60
Benedict
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
It is quit shocking how bad the drivers are. my next audio card won't be an apogee. My duet v1 is unusable on lion. I now have to run a dual boot machine with SL on when I am producing.
Benedict is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2012, 07:09 AM   #61
jorgus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I will leave Apogee too - never again I by anything from them. It's a pitty - the hardware is good and pretty, but they just don't master the programming. It's obvius - it's always ben bad and late bugfixes. Always. And Duet FW is not a thing for 20 dollars - it's an expensive hardvare and they sold it untill recently and still sell it for special price - but it seems like they already stopped developing the driver for it. Shame on them. Goodbye Apogee.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benedict View Post
It is quit shocking how bad the drivers are. my next audio card won't be an apogee. My duet v1 is unusable on lion. I now have to run a dual boot machine with SL on when I am producing.
jorgus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2012, 07:25 PM   #62
LurchNC
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Unfortunatly I'm on my way out as well. My Duet was fine under SL, but its too unstable under Lion. I thought buying from a Mac only company was going to be a huge advantage. They seemed to work closely with Apple to integrate everything, so having dodgy drivers for Lion is just unaceptable. They won't get any more of my money I'm afraid.

I'm thinking of going back to MOTU. I had an ultralite before the Duet and it was always solid and stable.

Any other suggestion I should look at?

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorgus View Post
I will leave Apogee too - never again I by anything from them. It's a pitty - the hardware is good and pretty, but they just don't master the programming. It's obvius - it's always ben bad and late bugfixes. Always. And Duet FW is not a thing for 20 dollars - it's an expensive hardvare and they sold it untill recently and still sell it for special price - but it seems like they already stopped developing the driver for it. Shame on them. Goodbye Apogee.
LurchNC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 06:49 PM   #63
HoldernessMedia
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I must have really lucked out, I don't have all this instability that some of you seem to be having. Things have been chugging along fine. I have 2 MacBook pros, my main machine is a 2009 2.8ghz C2D running Lion 10.7.3, the other is a 2008 2.4ghz C2D running the latest Mountain Lion Developer Preview 2. Both are connected with FW800. No issues with either setup.

Is this problem happening only on newer i5/i7 machines, maybe with certain FW chipsets? If you're having that much trouble, have you uninstalled the Duet software, and reinstalled the latest version?
HoldernessMedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2012, 02:24 PM   #64
goodgnus
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Any word on the original Duet with Mountain Lion?
goodgnus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2012, 02:30 PM   #65
HoldernessMedia
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodgnus View Post
Any word on the original Duet with Mountain Lion?
For me, performance is the same as with Lion. I started a thread on it here.
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1390624
Hope it helps.
HoldernessMedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 11:51 AM   #66
HoldernessMedia
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Apogee released a new software installer for the FireWire Duet for Lion and Mountain Lion here.

http://apogeedigital.com/downloads.php#DUET

Apparently you don't need to use this if you already installed the August 2011 duet software before upgrading to 10.7/10.8, it's intended for fresh installs.
HoldernessMedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 06:15 PM   #67
theSeaHawk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoldernessMedia View Post
Apogee released a new software installer for the FireWire Duet for Lion and Mountain Lion here.

http://apogeedigital.com/downloads.php#DUET

Apparently you don't need to use this if you already installed the August 2011 duet software before upgrading to 10.7/10.8, it's intended for fresh installs.
I'm on a MBP with 10.7.4, with no install of Maestro in place (I had used my Duet 1st Gen Firewire on 10.6 on a MB).

So I downloaded the Duet-specific software installer noted above and when I click to install, it opens in text edit as text.

What do I need to do to get my 1st Gen Duet to work in 10.7.4?

thanks
theSeaHawk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:13 AM   #68
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeaHawk View Post
So I downloaded the Duet-specific software installer noted above and when I click to install, it opens in text edit as text....
What does the test look like. Is is a script of some kind? If you you can likely run it in the terminal. Would help to post at lleast the first few lines of the text
ChrisA is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Tags
10.7, apogee duet, audio cuts out

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt to Firewire adaptor using Apogee Duet interface cloudig MacBook Pro 1 Jan 8, 2014 10:21 AM
Help! Crackles with Apogee Duet FireWire on a mid-2012 MacBook Pro running 10.8.4 thewatefront Digital Audio 3 Jun 22, 2013 01:13 PM
Apogee Duet Firewire stopped working suddenly. jontah OS X 4 May 14, 2013 12:08 PM
Skipping in Mountain Lion (10.8) with the original apogee Duet gnomeisland Digital Audio 0 Jan 8, 2013 08:28 PM
Apogee Duet 1 (firewire) on Mountain Lion HoldernessMedia Digital Audio 15 Oct 6, 2012 05:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC