Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2012, 05:28 PM   #1
RDAR
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Apple TV loading a movie

When I pick a movie from my iTunes library and stream it to Apple TV and press down on the apple remote it shows a grey bar and how much of the movie has loaded. When the bar is full does it still use up bandwidth from my Internet?
RDAR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 05:32 PM   #2
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDAR View Post
When I pick a movie from my iTunes library and stream it to Apple TV and press down on the apple remote it shows a grey bar and how much of the movie has loaded. When the bar is full does it still use up bandwidth from my Internet?
Nope. When the gray bar is done, IT MEANS DONE. FINITO. U can tell by looking at your the broadband modem's lights, it stops flashing, *if* you are the only user. Lights, they are there not just to look pretty.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 05:36 PM   #3
RDAR
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Thanks I was worried because I'm streaming dark knight rises and it's almost 3 hours. The grey bar finished in like 10 min so I'm good with my bandwidth not taking anything for the entire 3 hours right ?
RDAR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 05:54 PM   #4
bushido
macrumors 601
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
ja once its fully loaded it doesnt take any bandwidth, u can even skip and go back or close it. its saved in the cache of the apple tv for a while.

just out of curiousity, what inet provider still has traffic limits?

Last edited by bushido; Nov 17, 2012 at 06:05 PM.
bushido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 07:01 PM   #5
RDAR
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushido View Post
ja once its fully loaded it doesnt take any bandwidth, u can even skip and go back or close it. its saved in the cache of the apple tv for a while.

just out of curiousity, what inet provider still has traffic limits?
Bell simpatico in Canada ;p I only got 175GB
RDAR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 07:14 PM   #6
bushido
macrumors 601
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDAR View Post
Bell simpatico in Canada ;p I only got 175GB
omg u poor soul
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
bushido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 07:51 PM   #7
Ace1024
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Just realise you're going full throttle until the entire movie is stored in cache. In terms of total quota used, there is no difference.
Ace1024 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 12:16 AM   #8
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Yep...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace1024 View Post
Just realise you're going full throttle until the entire movie is stored in cache. In terms of total quota used, there is no difference.
What he said. Three hours, 50 hours, whatever — a two gig movie is still only a two gig movie.

You're good.

Wait...did you say you picked a movie from your iTunes library or did you mean you're streaming it from the iTunes Store?
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2012 11.6" 2.0ghz i7 MacBook Air, 2.26 C2D Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 03:57 AM   #9
Defender2010
macrumors 68000
 
Defender2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDAR View Post
Thanks I was worried because I'm streaming dark knight rises and it's almost 3 hours. The grey bar finished in like 10 min so I'm good with my bandwidth not taking anything for the entire 3 hours right ?
How The Dark Knight Rises when it is not in iTunes yet??
__________________
W2P KLD talking...what's your handle, WR2 GFO?
Defender2010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 04:23 AM   #10
chenks
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDAR View Post
When I pick a movie from my iTunes library and stream it to Apple TV and press down on the apple remote it shows a grey bar and how much of the movie has loaded. When the bar is full does it still use up bandwidth from my Internet?
if the movie is in your itunes library it not using your internet bandwidth at all.
chenks is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 09:05 AM   #11
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Yeah...

Quote:
Originally Posted by chenks View Post
if the movie is in your itunes library it not using your internet bandwidth at all.
Yeah...what this guy said.

Also, stop asking for advice about movies that haven't been legally obtained. We frown heavily on that around these parts.
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2012 11.6" 2.0ghz i7 MacBook Air, 2.26 C2D Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 12:01 PM   #12
bushido
macrumors 601
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: España y Germany
he was obviously mistaking it with the dark knight
__________________
¡No hables a menos que puedas mejorar el silencio!
bushido is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 04:51 PM   #13
iHailCarlo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
uh-oh someone has their hand in the cookie jar!!
iHailCarlo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC