Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 20, 2012, 12:54 AM   #1
tokelokenem
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
G3 iMac

I was holding out on making a thread, but I can't find an answer.

I got a G3 Blue iMac slot loader and it was booting with a system folder icon. Put in a 0S9 disk, everything loaded, but it couldn't find the hard drive.

Put in a OSX 10.4 disk in, and it froze during opening disk utility.

Now it won't boot at all. Sometimes I get a single beep followed by the startup sound, I can hear the CRT turn on but no screen. Then the power LED goes dim, and or flickers a little bit followed by some faint popping sounds. Sometimes the power LED is just dim, no sounds, CRT dosen't turn on.

I hooked it up to another CRT via VGA and it will do the same, but show just a blank grey screen on the external CRT.

I put in a new PRAM battery thinking that might be it, new HD, reseated the ram, still not working.

I don't know what is going on here.

It all started after I loaded up the OSX disk. I never got close to installing it though.
tokelokenem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 12:59 AM   #2
Graveyard
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Romania
Send a message via Yahoo to Graveyard Send a message via Skype™ to Graveyard
Check the ram. That's the first thing to do and then try and replace the hdd with a more recent model if it still has the original one inside.
__________________
27" iMac i5 3.1 GHz; 20" iMac C2D 2.4 GHz; G4 dual 800MHz; iMac G3; G3 B&W; iBook G3 white; iBook clamshell; PowerBook 3400c; Quadra 610; Classic II; 2 x iPad 2 32GB; iPhone 3GS 16 GB.

Last edited by Graveyard; Nov 20, 2012 at 01:01 AM. Reason: Bad spelling 'cause of my ipad onscreen kb.
Graveyard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 01:05 AM   #3
tokelokenem
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I've reseated the ram about 4 times now.

Sometimes after the startup sound, and after I can hear the CRT start and CD drive start, it seems theres not enough power and the LED goes dim and makes a slight popping/ticking sound. It's not the HD though.
tokelokenem is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 01:51 AM   #4
tokelokenem
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Well, its working right now. It's on it side, and connected to an external CRT.

All I did was lose a screw in the case when it was upside down and I shook it around untill it came out. Yes it was heavy. I also pressed a little button on the bottom of the logic board and took out the PRAM battery.
tokelokenem is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac SMC Firmware Update 1.1 - Fan Noise - Late 2013 27 iMac alksion iMac 139 Jan 17, 2014 09:51 AM
Help, Erased iMac HDD volume drive trying reset my iMac to factory conditions trueq iMac 12 Dec 23, 2013 09:27 AM
Is possible to install Ati HD 6670m (iMac 2011 21,5) in iMac 27 late 2009?? Gianca90 iMac 4 Nov 5, 2013 04:08 PM
Late 2009 27" iMac Graphics Card DYING AGAIN. Which new iMac to replace it? DracoDWS iMac 0 Sep 29, 2013 08:50 PM
iMac late 2012 not the same brightness as iMac 2011/2010/2009? Krrrt iMac 10 May 16, 2013 08:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC