Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:35 PM   #1
kre62
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
FaceTime may be available for ALL AT&T users now!

Hi all

In a recent thread we were discussing AT&T members getting facetime with LTE devices and tiered plans. However I noticed today that I have facetime over cellular and I have an unlimited plan on my 5.

I just turned off my other phone, a 4S and turned it back on, only to find the switch flipped to ON for facetime over cellular. Both phones work perfectly over cellular.

I also checked a few coworkers phones, all now have FT over cellular.

If you have ATT, turn your phone off and back on and report back if you now have FT over cellular.

Edit:

This story has now been picked up by all major tech blogs. Props to Gizmodo for being the only one (other than MR) to mention me by name. First class journalism right there.

Last edited by kre62; Nov 21, 2012 at 10:08 AM.
kre62 is offline   1
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:41 PM   #2
pnoyblazed
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 212
this works! I just did it! iPhone 5 running iOS 6.0.1
pnoyblazed is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:44 PM   #3
kre62
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pnoyblazed View Post
this works! I just did it! iPhone 5 running iOS 6.0.1
Awesome, good to hear. Looks like we can have it all now. Very glad ATT came around.
kre62 is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:46 PM   #4
bigcstyle4
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Not working for me. Still get the pop-up.
bigcstyle4 is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:47 PM   #5
apunkrockmonk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Also still getting the popup. No change after reboot.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 32GB T-Mobile
iPad Mini 2 Black 32GB T-Mobile
Hackintosh i5 4GHz|24GB|7TB
MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.4GHz|8GB|256GB
apunkrockmonk is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:48 PM   #6
pnoyblazed
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 212
maybe it's affecting customers in different areas. I'm located in NY.. roll out is gradually taking place
pnoyblazed is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:48 PM   #7
kre62
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcstyle4 View Post
Not working for me. Still get the pop-up.
Hmm youre first I've heard so far. Rollout could be progressive. More success stories in original thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...1492787&page=2

Did you cycle all the way off? Dont do a reset, fully power down.
kre62 is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:48 PM   #8
scaredpoet
macrumors 601
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Still no go for me . On the 4GB hotspot plan with LTE.

__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.
scaredpoet is offline   1
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:48 PM   #9
kre62
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pnoyblazed View Post
maybe it's affecting customers in different areas. I'm located in NY.. roll out is gradually taking place
Could be. Im in California though, so got both coasts represented
kre62 is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:49 PM   #10
ProudLoz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I got it! And I'm on the unlimited data plan with AT&T. I'm going to go use it and see if it actually works!
ProudLoz is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:50 PM   #11
kre62
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProudLoz View Post
I got it! And I'm on the unlimited data plan with AT&T. I'm going to go use it and see if it actually works!
Awesome.

Looks like its hit or miss. THose who dont have it, wait a day or so and try again.
kre62 is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:51 PM   #12
lermal
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Not working for me - iPhone 5 running 6.0.1.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro with Retina: 2.7 GHz Quad-Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB Flash, NVIDIA GT 650m; iPhone 5: 32 GB; iPad 3: 64GB WiFi TV: 160 GB; Time Capsule: 1 TB
lermal is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:53 PM   #13
JayLenochiniMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Sanfrakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by kre62 View Post
Could be. Im in California though, so got both coasts represented
In California and on unlimited too. No go as of yet. I'll keep trying.
__________________
Home iMac 27" 2.9GHz Intel Core i5
Work iMac 24" 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme
Mobile iPad (4th gen) & iPhone 5 S⃣
JayLenochiniMac is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:53 PM   #14
apunkrockmonk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by pnoyblazed View Post
maybe it's affecting customers in different areas. I'm located in NY.. roll out is gradually taking place
I'm in upstate NY, not sure if it makes a difference but I'm on a 3GB tiered plan on an iPhone 5 6.0.1. I'm tempted to try resetting network settings and rebooting again.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 32GB T-Mobile
iPad Mini 2 Black 32GB T-Mobile
Hackintosh i5 4GHz|24GB|7TB
MacBook Pro 13" i5 2.4GHz|8GB|256GB
apunkrockmonk is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:54 PM   #15
ProudLoz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kre62 View Post
Awesome.

Looks like its hit or miss. THose who dont have it, wait a day or so and try again.
Hmm when I looked back at my settings, it got turned off. When I turned it back on, I got the pop up and instead of going to "cancel" or "go to website" I decided to reset my iPhone 5 with the Facetime toggle still on in the background, when it booted up, I immediately placed a facetime call with my mom, and sure enough I was facetiming on LTE.
ProudLoz is offline   2
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:45 PM   #16
kre62
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProudLoz View Post
Hmm when I looked back at my settings, it got turned off. When I turned it back on, I got the pop up and instead of going to "cancel" or "go to website" I decided to reset my iPhone 5 with the Facetime toggle still on in the background, when it booted up, I immediately placed a facetime call with my mom, and sure enough I was facetiming on LTE.
Interesting method
kre62 is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:46 PM   #17
JayLenochiniMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Sanfrakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProudLoz View Post
Hmm when I looked back at my settings, it got turned off. When I turned it back on, I got the pop up and instead of going to "cancel" or "go to website" I decided to reset my iPhone 5 with the Facetime toggle still on in the background, when it booted up, I immediately placed a facetime call with my mom, and sure enough I was facetiming on LTE.
Tried this method and it still switched to off upon rebooting.
__________________
Home iMac 27" 2.9GHz Intel Core i5
Work iMac 24" 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme
Mobile iPad (4th gen) & iPhone 5 S⃣
JayLenochiniMac is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:46 PM   #18
ProudLoz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
It's still on as we speak. Now I'm wondering if AT&T can tell when someone is using Facetime on LTE.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayLenochiniMac View Post
Tried this method and it still switched to off upon rebooting.
I see. It must be a regional thing like someone mentioned earlier then.
ProudLoz is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:48 PM   #19
JayLenochiniMac
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Sanfrakota
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProudLoz View Post
It's still on as we speak. Now I'm wondering if AT&T can tell when someone is using Facetime on LTE.
When you look at your setting again, is it switched to on or off even with FT working?
__________________
Home iMac 27" 2.9GHz Intel Core i5
Work iMac 24" 2.8GHz Core 2 Extreme
Mobile iPad (4th gen) & iPhone 5 S⃣
JayLenochiniMac is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:49 PM   #20
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Still nothing here. I5 on an unlimited data plan.
Applejuiced is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:52 PM   #21
aztooh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by apunkrockmonk View Post
I'm in upstate NY, not sure if it makes a difference but I'm on a 3GB tiered plan on an iPhone 5 6.0.1. I'm tempted to try resetting network settings and rebooting again.
Being on a tiered plan, you should have already been able to use FT over cellular
aztooh is offline   0
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:58 PM   #22
ProudLoz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayLenochiniMac View Post
When you look at your setting again, is it switched to on or off even with FT working?
I've attached some screenshots to show you that's still on and I can make a Facetime call on my unlimited data plan.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0073.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	376.0 KB
ID:	378708   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0074.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	230.1 KB
ID:	378709  
ProudLoz is offline   1
Old Nov 20, 2012, 08:05 PM   #23
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Maybe all the FCC complains paid off.
Christmas may come early this year for AT&T customers

Last edited by Applejuiced; Nov 20, 2012 at 08:53 PM.
Applejuiced is offline   1
Old Nov 20, 2012, 08:10 PM   #24
SamGabbay
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Works for me, I'm on AT&T unlimited and in New York.
SamGabbay is offline   2
Old Nov 20, 2012, 08:12 PM   #25
grapes911
Moderator
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
I'm still locked out on my 4S. Outside of Philly if that matters.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   1

Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC