Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:24 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
AT&T Seems to Be Extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular to All Customers




AT&T appears to be quietly extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular capabilities to all their iPhone customers. Earlier this month, AT&T announced that they would allow any customer "with an LTE device" on a "tiered data plan" to use iOS 6's FaceTime over Cellular feature.

This, however, excluded a number of customers, including those with grandfathered unlimited data plans as well as those with the iPhones 4S. (Note, iOS 6, itself, can only supports FaceTime-over-Cellular on the 4S, 5 and iPad 3rd Gen or higher)

Tonight, Forum user kre62 noticed that both his iPhone 4S and iPhone 5 with unlimited AT&T data plans now support FaceTime over cellular.
Quote:
In a recent thread we were discussing AT&T members getting facetime with LTE devices and tiered plans. However I noticed today that I have facetime over cellular and I have an unlimited plan on my 5.

I just turned off my other phone, a 4S and turned it back on, only to find the switch flipped to ON for facetime over cellular. Both phones work perfectly over cellular.

I also checked a few coworkers phones, all now have FT over cellular.
This finding has been confirmed by a number of users in this discussion thread -- though some users have been unable to activate it so it may still be rolling out to some areas. AT&T had said the original rollout for tiered plans could take 8-10 weeks. Most of the positive responses have been those with the iPhone 5 and grandfathered unlimited data, but the original poster also had luck with an iPhone 4S.

Some users have had to completely restart their phones for the service to go into effect. There still remains a possibility that this is an oversight on AT&T's part. We are reaching out to AT&T for clarification on their policy.

Article Link: AT&T Seems to Be Extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular to All Customers
MacRumors is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:25 PM   #2
SamGabbay
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Works for me! Looks like AT&T is coming around just in time for the holidays.

Thanks AT&T... for this early Hanukkah present.

__________________
"Sometimes we do things, and then other things happen. Why? I'll let you know." - Me
SamGabbay is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:26 PM   #3
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
How generous...
mrsir2009 is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:27 PM   #4
sazivad
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Jersey
It only took them this long to get on par with the other carriers.

Last edited by sazivad; Nov 21, 2012 at 07:56 AM.
sazivad is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:29 PM   #5
saminator8
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Still not working

I have a 4S with unlimited data on ATT. I restarted the phone and it still says I need to call ATT.
saminator8 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:29 PM   #6
SamGabbay
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by saminator8 View Post
I have a 4S with unlimited data on ATT. I restarted the phone and it still says I need to call ATT.
Where are you located? Most NYC customers are reporting success.
SamGabbay is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:30 PM   #7
ckelley
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Still saying that I need to contact AT&T to activate this feature.

*sigh*

C'mon, Sprint, turn on LTE here in Austin so I can drop AT&T like a bad habit.

Edit: iPhone 4S with grandfathered Unlimited data plan.

Last edited by ckelley; Nov 20, 2012 at 11:31 PM. Reason: Added specs.
ckelley is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:32 PM   #8
iBLAKEE
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
No luck here. iPhone 5 w/ unlimited.
iBLAKEE is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:32 PM   #9
saminator8
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamGabbay View Post
Where are you located? Most NYC customers are reporting success.
Colorado
saminator8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:33 PM   #10
ideal.dreams
macrumors 68000
 
ideal.dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: OH
So happy to hear this! Still tells me to call AT&T when I try to turn on FaceTime over cellular though. My area doesn't even have LTE so I imagine it'll take a while before I see it.

Edit: Rebooted my phone. When I went back in to settings, FaceTime over cellular was checked! Very pleased, AT&T. It's about time!

Edit 2: Scratch that. Just checked it again and it's unchecked and still tells me to call AT&T.
__________________
15" rMBP: 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Quad Core i7, OS X 10.9.2
Silver iPhone 6: 128GB, iOS 8.0
Silver iPad Air 16GB + WiFi, iOS 8.0

Last edited by ideal.dreams; Nov 21, 2012 at 02:26 PM.
ideal.dreams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:33 PM   #11
bluedukies8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Iowa
Confirmed for me. iPhone 5 with grandfathered unlimited plan. Just restarted my phone after seeing this article.
__________________
Gold iPhone 5S 32GB (AT&T) Black iPhone 5 32GB (AT&T) White iPhone 4S 32GB White iPad 3 32GB Black (AT&T) White iPad Mini 32GB (AT&T) 2012 Mac Mini
bluedukies8 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:34 PM   #12
Justinb51
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
No luck as well, iphone 5 unlimited. Even tried the restart. I'm in Indianapolis.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluedukies8 View Post
Confirmed for me. iPhone 5 with grandfathered unlimited plan. Just restarted my phone after seeing this article.
When you restarted, was the switch turned on or did you have to turn it on?
Justinb51 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:35 PM   #13
theelysium
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Not for me!

Correction!

I had to hard reset.. Home & lock.. Now it works! **** Yea!

After testing for a few days I have discovered not all the towers work. I think it's only on our new LTE towers, but I could be wrong... Idk!

I also found that FT over an AT&T Micro Cell now works. It did not work before. At my house the tower will not allow FT, but my M-Cell does!

I'm in Sacramento, CA

Last edited by theelysium; Nov 22, 2012 at 01:42 PM.
theelysium is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:36 PM   #14
aluren
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Thanks. Can we get free tethering now?
aluren is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:37 PM   #15
kockgunner
macrumors 68000
 
kockgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
I always think Canadian carriers are behind the curve, but I have a 6GB plan and I have gotten Facetime over cellular since iOS 6. We've also been getting tethering for free. Those 3 year plans are what get us.
__________________
2010 15" MBP | iPhone 4 16GB | PB G4 12" 1.33 Ghz, 768MB RAM, replacement 30GB HDD
kockgunner is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:39 PM   #16
fraggot
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cox's Creek, KY
No dice, restarted my phone and nothing. The switch was actually enabled for like 2 seconds then it switched off.
fraggot is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:39 PM   #17
bluedukies8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justinb51 View Post
No luck as well, iphone 5 unlimited. Even tried the restart. I'm in Indianapolis.

----------



When you restarted, was the switch turned on or did you have to turn it on?
I restarted and went straight into the settings. Once I did that it gave me a message about FaceTime.....don't remember exact wording, but clicked ok and it turned it on for me. Signed in with my Apple ID and all is good!

Located in Des Moines, IA in case anyone wants to know.
__________________
Gold iPhone 5S 32GB (AT&T) Black iPhone 5 32GB (AT&T) White iPhone 4S 32GB White iPad 3 32GB Black (AT&T) White iPad Mini 32GB (AT&T) 2012 Mac Mini
bluedukies8 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:40 PM   #18
bigrustyjc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Not working for me

Still not working for me either. I'm in st louis. I have an iphone 5 with unlimited.
bigrustyjc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:41 PM   #19
Ozy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Goodyear, AZ
No go on my iPhone 5 in Phoenix, AZ area. Grandfathered Unlimited
Ozy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:41 PM   #20
shurcooL
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
So, how long until we get a VoiceTime? As in FaceTime but without the video, meaning voice over data. Any predictions?
shurcooL is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:41 PM   #21
christof
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SFO, JFK
FaceTime works on iPad mini with my grandfathered unlimited session-based tablet data plan now, too!
__________________
Mac LC, Performa600CD, Centris660av, PB3400c, iBook SE FW, TiBook Gbit, PB G4 12.1, MBA A, rMBP 13. iPod mini 1, shuffle 1, nano 1. VZ iPhone 4S/5/5S, iPad 4/mini. ATT iPhone 1/3G/4S/5/5S, iPad 1/2/3.
christof is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:41 PM   #22
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
Someone else confirmed it working on a 4S:
https://twitter.com/CoryMoll/status/271125302002999296

arn
arn is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:41 PM   #23
SeanBG1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Success! iPhone 5 in NYC with unlimited data plan
SeanBG1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:42 PM   #24
rico99
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Palo Alto, CA
iPhone 4 says no!

Facetime Faied "Connect to a Wi-Fi network to use FaceTime".
iPhone4 running 5.1.1. Palo Alto, CA
rico99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:42 PM   #25
josephebacon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Not working here in Los Angeles

Just tried it, doesn't work. Rebooted my 4S still get the blue screen telling me to change the data plan...
josephebacon is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AT&T to Expand FaceTime Over Cellular to All Customers by Year End MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 94 Jan 29, 2014 09:00 PM
AT&T Expands FaceTime Over Cellular Access to More Customers MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 163 Nov 24, 2012 11:35 AM
If FaceTime is gone Cellular - is Skype Cellular too? dinapea iPhone 9 Sep 17, 2012 12:09 PM
Beta 4 locks AT&T customers out of FaceTime over cellular! Beezzy iOS 6 65 Aug 8, 2012 12:40 PM
Sprint Won't Charge Customers for FaceTime Over Cellular MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 57 Jul 26, 2012 11:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC