Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 3, 2010, 11:37 AM   #1
Yizi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Remove Adobe Updator from the bar

How do I remove the adobe updater from the top bar, check the screenshot
Attached Images
 
__________________

MacBook Pro Retina 2013
Yizi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2010, 11:40 AM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
If that's on your Menu Bar, just hold the Command key and drag it off.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2010, 11:42 AM   #3
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
If that's on your Menu Bar, just hold the Command key and drag it off.
That doesn't work with that particular icon or Evernote's for example. It works with iStat Menus though.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2010, 11:43 AM   #4
Yizi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
If that's on your Menu Bar, just hold the Command key and drag it off.
Already tried that, it doesn't work with adobe, thanks anyway.
__________________

MacBook Pro Retina 2013
Yizi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2010, 11:46 AM   #5
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yizi View Post
Already tried that, it doesn't work with adobe, thanks anyway.
Just one more reason why Adobe is ridiculous, poorly-designed bloatware! Maybe something in a .plist file you could remove or change?
GGJstudios is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2010, 11:55 AM   #6
Yizi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Just one more reason why Adobe is ridiculous, poorly-designed bloatware! Maybe something in a .plist file you could remove or change?
I'm stilling trying to figure out how to get it off, but if anyone else already done it holla.
__________________

MacBook Pro Retina 2013
Yizi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2010, 12:05 PM   #7
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Found a way:

Click on that icon and select OPEN UPDATER and then go to preferences and de-select the circled item, then click DONE.

spinnerlys is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2010, 11:47 PM   #8
faisalart2006
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
@spinnerlys...thnx a lot
faisalart2006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2010, 04:52 AM   #9
Yizi
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinnerlys View Post
Found a way:

Click on that icon and select OPEN UPDATER and then go to preferences and de-select the circled item, then click DONE.

Beautiful, thanks so much.
__________________

MacBook Pro Retina 2013
Yizi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2010, 06:47 AM   #10
rKunda
macrumors 65816
 
rKunda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
As a side note that's likely obvious—if you run the updater it goes away too.
__________________
aut deus aut homo malus
rKunda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2010, 09:39 AM   #11
kainjow
Moderator emeritus
 
kainjow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Just one more reason why Adobe is ridiculous, poorly-designed bloatware!
It's not Adobe's fault. Apple doesn't let third-party developers publicly make their applications moveable by drag and drop in the menu bar. In order to do that, apps must use hacks to get it to work. The reason (most likely) is menu items that are draggable are implemented as plugins that get loaded by the SystemUIServer process, so if that plugin crashes it brings down the entire process which controls all the other plugins.
kainjow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2011, 05:57 PM   #12
hajime
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I removed it from the bar. I suppose that the program is still somewhere in the hard drive. How do I remove it completely? Thanks.
hajime is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2011, 05:59 PM   #13
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by hajime View Post
I removed it from the bar. I suppose that the program is still somewhere in the hard drive. How do I remove it completely? Thanks.
By uninstalling Adobe products.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
To manually remove an application and all associated files:
  1. Launch Finder and search for the app name (hopefully unique, such as Skype)
  2. You can narrow the search to specific folders or search your whole Mac
  3. Searching "File Name" vs "Contents" usually provides better results.
  4. Click the + button below the search term to add criteria
  5. Click the "Album" drop-down and select "System files"
  6. Click the "Don't include" and change to "include"
  7. Sort by name, kind, date, etc. to identify components of the app, such as folders, .plist files, cache files. etc.
  8. Delete all files and folders related to the app.
  9. Don't empty your Trash until you've determined that everything is working OK, in case you need to restore something you deleted by accident.
  10. A reboot might be necessary to completely remove some apps.

from Best way to FULLY DELETE a program?
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2011, 04:24 PM   #14
anthonylagoon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinnerlys View Post
Found a way:

Click on that icon and select OPEN UPDATER and then go to preferences and de-select the circled item, then click DONE.

Thanks so much!!!
anthonylagoon is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 10:11 AM   #15
SeeHole
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinnerlys View Post
Found a way:

Click on that icon and select OPEN UPDATER and then go to preferences and de-select the circled item, then click DONE.

Image
Thanks
SeeHole is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 12:51 PM   #16
CareyAdobe
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
The presence of this icon indicates that there are updates available to install for your CS5 or CS5.5 software.
It really should not be an annoyance, since it is recommended to have updates installed anyway.

If you click on it and choose Open Updater, the Adobe Application Manager should appear and tell you which updates are available. After you install all of these updates, the icon should disappear until there is a new update available for the Adobe software you have installed.

However, if you prefer to disable the automatic check for updates, feel free to disable the notification.
To check for updates manually (highly recommended), do one of the following:

- Open your Adobe software and choose Help > Updates.

- Go to http://adobe.com/go/updates to download and install the latest updates for each Adobe application you have installed.
CareyAdobe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2011, 03:36 PM   #17
sarcasmatron
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by CareyAdobe View Post
It really should not be an annoyance, since it is recommended to have updates installed anyway.
Alternatively, I shouldn't have to pay hundreds of dollars for the privilege of having to go to Mac Rumors to get an incomplete answer to my question.

I assume you work for Adobe since you have the company name in your member name. Please have a talk with your Product Management staff about not installing 75MB of unneccesary garbage on my computer without an easy way to uninstall said garbage.

When you are finished with them, please talk to your Technical Support staff about the correct installation and troubleshooting of AAM - see http://www.elementsvillage.com/forum...ad.php?t=63559 for an example of what I'm talking about.

Finally, please talk to your Engineering staff about possibly implementing this as a prefPane. Barring that, maybe they can put a 3rd checkbox in the AAM Preferences so that we can uncheck "show in Menu Bar" - hundreds of far less expensive applications are able to do this without any problem, so I assume Adobe can get around to it at some point.

To answer the question:

AAM installs in /Library/Application\ Support/Adobe/OOBE/PDApp/core

You can delete the entire OOBE (Out Of the Box Experience*) directory once you've installed everything - per the above referenced link you may want to, due to potential conflicts when updating. You will have to go into Activity Monitor and force quit a process with AAM in the name - I can't remember what it's called.

I was able to launch all of my CS 5.0 applications without issue once this was deleted. I also freed up some drive space, RAM, and processor cycles.

* OOBE is a Windows-centric acronym for software installed electronically. Interesting, if not suprising, that Adobe chose the same acronym as Microsoft.
sarcasmatron is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 01:32 AM   #18
lorentzyeung
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarcasmatron View Post
/Library/Application\ Support/Adobe/OOBE/PDApp/core .
great stuff ! what i am looking for!!!

lorentzyeung is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:46 PM   #19
tuqqer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Boulder, CO
spinnerlys, a full year and a half later, and your solution is still gold for those searching for the answer.

Many thanks!
__________________
Mac Pro 2.8Ghz Quad-core Intel Mac Pro tower, 14 Gigs RAM.
tuqqer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 12:31 AM   #20
nagromme
macrumors G4
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuqqer View Post
spinnerlys, a full year and a half later, and your solution is still gold for those searching for the answer.

Many thanks!
I just installed Creative Cloud/CS6 and I want that menu icon gone too! I don’t have the time or the nerves of steel to install updates the moment they come out, and I don’t have the UI space to waste either. (Why not just notify me on launching an outdated app, with a “Don’t show again” checkmark? Pretty standard, I’d have thought.)

But AAM preferences has no preferences window like the one depicted above. No “Notify me...” option. All it has under Preferences is choice of install location, set to Default. See attached. (Why would an update to something already installed have a choice of install location anyway?)

I’m not quite ready to start deleting Adobe files wholesale, tempting as it is—I just want to turn off that Notify option.

Any thought on how I might get to the “real” AAM Preferences window shown above?

TIA!

(PS I love how AAM doesn’t list the size of updates. Judging by the snail’s speed of them, I bet they’re not deltas...)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-24 at 1.27.43 AM.png
Views:	24
Size:	32.7 KB
ID:	385513  
nagromme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2013, 01:13 AM   #21
IndyDurango
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagromme View Post
I just installed Creative Cloud/CS6 and I want that menu icon gone too! I don’t have the time or the nerves of steel to install updates the moment they come out, and I don’t have the UI space to waste either. (Why not just notify me on launching an outdated app, with a “Don’t show again” checkmark? Pretty standard, I’d have thought.)

But AAM preferences has no preferences window like the one depicted above. No “Notify me...” option. All it has under Preferences is choice of install location, set to Default. See attached. (Why would an update to something already installed have a choice of install location anyway?)

I’m not quite ready to start deleting Adobe files wholesale, tempting as it is—I just want to turn off that Notify option.

Any thought on how I might get to the “real” AAM Preferences window shown above?

TIA!

(PS I love how AAM doesn’t list the size of updates. Judging by the snail’s speed of them, I bet they’re not deltas...)
Same here.

Found the solution.

Log OUT of your Adobe account, then open the manager and it looks all different. You will see the uncheck boxes on the right.

HTH,

IndyD
IndyDurango is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 11:52 AM   #22
nagromme
macrumors G4
 
nagromme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyDurango View Post
Same here.

Found the solution.

Log OUT of your Adobe account, then open the manager and it looks all different. You will see the uncheck boxes on the right.

HTH,

IndyD
Awesome--thanks!

(And it's another example of sheer insanity from Adobe. Their installers and updaters are crimes against humanity, and getting worse every year! How come even my piracy-protected software from other companies manages to be relatively painless, Mac-like, and comprehensible? Why can't Adobe, with all their resources and all their years of trying, do better? I remember when I considered them the gold standard for the best software. Once upon a time.)
nagromme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2013, 09:06 AM   #23
OnMacSince1984
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagromme View Post
Awesome--thanks!

(And it's another example of sheer insanity from Adobe. Their installers and updaters are crimes against humanity, and getting worse every year! How come even my piracy-protected software from other companies manages to be relatively painless, Mac-like, and comprehensible? Why can't Adobe, with all their resources and all their years of trying, do better? I remember when I considered them the gold standard for the best software. Once upon a time.)
Yes, thanks a million, IndyDurango. I could have easily lost my mind without your solution.

I couldn't agree more about Adobe's descent into the pits of crapware hell. Seems like every update now requires hours of decoding the anti-logic built into it. They've been progressively worse since Adobe acquired Omniture, the king of unintuitive software design. I guess the inmates are running the asylum now.
OnMacSince1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2013, 07:51 PM   #24
smoothlikejazz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Alternate way of removing stubborn Adobe Account Manager

I had 7 icons at one time in the menu bar and was unable to easily remove them. Simply selecting on "Open Updater" and locating Preferences option was non-existent . So what to Do!!!

I found what was successful for me was to open the Activity Monitor and search for the process under All Process named "AAM Updates Notifier" and Kill it (Force Quit).

Result: Icons were removed from my menu bar
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-03-21 at 5.43.31 PM.png
Views:	22
Size:	50.9 KB
ID:	403825  
Attached Images
 
smoothlikejazz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 09:00 AM   #25
inkhead
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
PLEASE help. It didn't work for me. I have CS6 Updater Menuitem and CREATIVE CLOUD menu item. The old menu just opens creative cloud which obviously has no option to turn it off…

I cannot get to the OLD updater software even when running it from the finder. I went to Creative Cloud Menu, settings, and clicked SIGN OUT… Then I clicked to quit the creative cloud menu… Next I go to Adobe CS 6 Update Menu "Open updater" and CREATIVE cloud menu launches…

Please I'm losing my mind!

SOLUTION FOUND (thanks to Adobe employee, sigh)
Workaround fix

Choose Help>Updates… from Photoshop. Then choose preferences from the updater.

It will allow you back into the old updater…



Quote:
Originally Posted by nagromme View Post
Awesome--thanks!

(And it's another example of sheer insanity from Adobe. Their installers and updaters are crimes against humanity, and getting worse every year! How come even my piracy-protected software from other companies manages to be relatively painless, Mac-like, and comprehensible? Why can't Adobe, with all their resources and all their years of trying, do better? I remember when I considered them the gold standard for the best software. Once upon a time.)

Last edited by inkhead; Jun 25, 2013 at 11:40 AM.
inkhead is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't remove Adobe Reader plugin from Safari Atius Mac Basics and Help 1 Apr 19, 2014 12:11 PM
How to remove second menu bar? And more... ppdix OS X Mavericks (10.9) 26 Feb 10, 2014 11:27 AM
Remove dock bar on 5s? mudslag iOS 7 1 Oct 23, 2013 12:09 AM
iPhone: Remove status bar from springboard HankHowdy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 11 Aug 19, 2013 11:08 AM
how to remove ones name from bar in ml? j2048b OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 8 Jul 25, 2012 02:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC