Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:48 AM   #1
adildacoolset
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lusaka, Zambia(If you know where it is)
Maybe some more CPU titles after G5

Maybe we should have things like A4, A5, A5X, A6, A6X after someone has passed the G5 status. Just a suggestion. Please take it into consideration.
__________________
Last edited by adildacoolset; Tomorrow at 09:42 AM. Reason: grammar error
adildacoolset is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:21 AM   #2
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Suggest we stay with Intel CPUs afterwards ... As all CPUs from the list are Mac CPUs and not iDevices.

CoreDuo, C2D, i3, i5, i7 ...or some Xeons ...
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app.
ChristianJapan is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:34 AM   #3
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
What about adding the Intel CPU designations, and dropping the required post count of some of the PowerPC designations? Then people with a G5 now would end up with an i7 designation and then carry it on backwards down the line from there?
__________________
••• SandboxGeneral.com •••
SandboxGeneral is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:37 AM   #4
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
What's to say we don't already have them planned
__________________
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:45 AM   #5
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
I'd like to keep the PPC designation but I'm open to new ones.
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:45 AM   #6
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
That would be nice to adopt a bit ... The 5000 jump in between is difficult ...

At by the way: I was wondering if that is correct ... Between 68010 and 68020 ... Only 5 ? Or is it because the 010 was not soo relevant ?

68000 => 1,505 posts
68010 => 2,000 posts
68020 => 2,005 posts
68030 => 2,500 posts

Please fix after I reached 68020
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app.
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:46 AM   #7
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
That would be nice ... The 5000 jump in between is difficult ...

At by the way: I was wondering if that is correct ... Between 68010 and 68020 ... Only 5 ? Or is it because the 010 was not soo relevant ?

68000 => 1,505 posts
68010 => 2,000 posts
68020 => 2,005 posts
68030 => 2,500 posts

Please fix after I reached 68020
From memory that particular processor was only used for a very short time...hence the 5 posts.
__________________

Last edited by stridemat; Nov 25, 2012 at 05:52 AM.
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 07:52 AM   #8
adildacoolset
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lusaka, Zambia(If you know where it is)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
Suggest we stay with Intel CPUs afterwards ... As all CPUs from the list are Mac CPUs and not iDevices.

CoreDuo, C2D, i3, i5, i7 ...or some Xeons ...
But the thing is that these are Apple-made chips. So, maybe we can use Apple-made chips on an Apple site??
__________________
Last edited by adildacoolset; Tomorrow at 09:42 AM. Reason: grammar error
adildacoolset is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 07:54 AM   #9
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Technically they're not apple made but designed by Apple insofar that the chips are actually produced by Samsung.

I like the idea however that we use the A5/A5X/A6 for the reasons you mentioned
maflynn is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:34 AM   #10
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Emotionally it moves us away from the desktop/laptops and we indirect agree that Apples future is on iDevices ...
Plus it seems strange that a powerful user with a G5 have now to jump to a A4 ... CPU Geekbench would be the guidance for the continuity ...

But anyway: for me still a very long way before it comes to a "real" problem; I'm still in Motorola 68k familiy.
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app.
ChristianJapan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:04 AM   #11
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by adildacoolset View Post
Maybe we should have things like A4, A5, A5X, A6, A6X after someone has passed the G5 status. Just a suggestion. Please take it into consideration.
The G5 was a processor for non-mobile workstations and servers. The A4 and so on are processors for mobile platforms.
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 05:14 AM   #12
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by adildacoolset View Post
Maybe we should have things like A4, A5, A5X, A6, A6X after someone has passed the G5 status. Just a suggestion. Please take it into consideration.
Please don't take this into consideration.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
Suggest we stay with Intel CPUs afterwards ... As all CPUs from the list are Mac CPUs and not iDevices.

CoreDuo, C2D, i3, i5, i7 ...or some Xeons ...
Please take this into consideration instead.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 06:54 AM   #13
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeb View Post
Please don't take this into consideration.
Why not?
__________________
••• SandboxGeneral.com •••
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:49 AM   #14
AQUADock
macrumors 65816
 
AQUADock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Why not?
Because everything is so iOS these days, Intel processor names would be better imo.
__________________
Mac Mini i5 - iPad 2 - GS3
AQUADock is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:54 AM   #15
adildacoolset
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lusaka, Zambia(If you know where it is)
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Technically they're not apple made but designed by Apple insofar that the chips are actually produced by Samsung.

I like the idea however that we use the A5/A5X/A6 for the reasons you mentioned
Produced by Samsung as the batch manufacturer.

Honestly, this site isn't foxconnrumors. Batch manufacturers are there, but apple is the design
__________________
Last edited by adildacoolset; Tomorrow at 09:42 AM. Reason: grammar error
adildacoolset is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 09:10 AM   #16
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Why not?
AquaDock answered it for me. This is Mac Rumours and I feel that the names should be referencing CPUs used in Macs, not in iOS devices. There are already too many annoying posts on this forum where people complain about the iSimplification or iPadification or iInsert_your_own_smart_made_up_word when they to prove the "iToys are ruining OS X" conspiracy theory. I think using iOS CPU device identifiers would upset that particular user group even more.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:00 AM   #17
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
The problem with Intel titles is that things like i3 and i5 do not refer to the generation, they are product categories. Ivy Bridge is the third generation to use the same product categories, which makes things confusing because an Ivy Bridge i5 can be a lot faster than a Nehalem i7. The same goes with Xeons, it's just a branding for Intel's server/workstation CPUs.

To stick with the same titles as with PPC, we would have to use codenames like Nehalem and Sandy Bridge but I don't think that's a good idea. A5/A5X/A6/etc would be the easiest to implement.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:11 AM   #18
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
The problem with Intel titles is that things like i3 and i5 do not refer to the generation, they are product categories. Ivy Bridge is the third generation to use the same product categories, which makes things confusing because an Ivy Bridge i5 can be a lot faster than a Nehalem i7. The same goes with Xeons, it's just a branding for Intel's server/workstation CPUs.

To stick with the same titles as with PPC, we would have to use codenames like Nehalem and Sandy Bridge but I don't think that's a good idea. A5/A5X/A6/etc would be the easiest to implement.
I was of the differing opinion until I just read your explanation. Now I am thinking it would make more sense.
__________________
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:26 AM   #19
AQUADock
macrumors 65816
 
AQUADock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
The problem with Intel titles is that things like i3 and i5 do not refer to the generation, they are product categories. Ivy Bridge is the third generation to use the same product categories, which makes things confusing because an Ivy Bridge i5 can be a lot faster than a Nehalem i7. The same goes with Xeons, it's just a branding for Intel's server/workstation CPUs.

To stick with the same titles as with PPC, we would have to use codenames like Nehalem and Sandy Bridge but I don't think that's a good idea. A5/A5X/A6/etc would be the easiest to implement.
But I think it would be cool to be called Macroumours Santa Rosa or Harpertown and so on. But whatever if the majority want boring names like A4 and A5 then so be it.
__________________
Mac Mini i5 - iPad 2 - GS3
AQUADock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:29 AM   #20
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Why bother unless you have someone with enough posts to really surpass the current scheme.
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:38 AM   #21
smithrh
macrumors 68020
 
smithrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jessica. View Post
Why bother unless you have someone with enough posts to really surpass the current scheme.
Boy howdy.

Also, I've always been a bit disappointed in the rewarding of post whores.

A scheme that takes into account post quality as well as quantity would be nice. Yes, difficult - but better.
smithrh is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 11:29 AM   #22
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithrh View Post
Boy howdy.

Also, I've always been a bit disappointed in the rewarding of post whores.

A scheme that takes into account post quality as well as quantity would be nice. Yes, difficult - but better.
Post quality seems to be subjective but I appreciate the dig all the same.
GoCubsGo is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 05:12 PM   #23
smithrh
macrumors 68020
 
smithrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Very funny guys (and gals), very funny...
smithrh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 04:40 PM   #24
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above sea level
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
The problem with Intel titles is that things like i3 and i5 do not refer to the generation, they are product categories. Ivy Bridge is the third generation to use the same product categories, which makes things confusing because an Ivy Bridge i5 can be a lot faster than a Nehalem i7. The same goes with Xeons, it's just a branding for Intel's server/workstation CPUs.

To stick with the same titles as with PPC, we would have to use codenames like Nehalem and Sandy Bridge but I don't think that's a good idea. A5/A5X/A6/etc would be the easiest to implement.
There were multiple iterations of the g3, g4, and g5 too.

I would rather stick to cpu chips as that is what all the other rankings are. You do not see cpus associated with a newton or ipods as rankings

There will be a time when intel is not using the i3, i5, i7 moniker and will be on to something else

Keep it with cpu brandings imo

core solo/ core duo/ core 2 duo/ core i3/ core i5/ core i7 seems pretty easy to implement to me
dukebound85 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:25 PM   #25
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
I think you should just keep it as it is. If i had that many posts, I'd rather be a G5 than a A4 or whatever.
wordoflife is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New dual core CPU > older quad CPU? (for Logic) vladobizik MacBook Pro 28 Sep 9, 2013 02:17 PM
High CPU/RAM usage and CPU Temp. after 1 year of Lion on MBP M-2009 DoctorDrakonas MacBook Pro 5 Aug 1, 2013 09:08 PM
MacBook Pro CPU fan running no reason (hot), MassStorageCamera using all CPU Pollsy123 Mac Basics and Help 0 Feb 14, 2013 09:07 PM
How do you identify Dual-CPU PowerMac G4's from Single-CPU models? LOLZpersonok PowerPC Macs 12 Aug 15, 2012 05:32 AM
4.1 Dual socket cpu-tray in single cpu Mac Pro? Zurec Mac Pro 1 Jul 17, 2012 06:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps