Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:36 PM   #1
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
2012 iMac omits FireWire 800

Apple remove the FireWire port from the iMac while retaining it on the Mac Pro, Mac mini and MacBook Pro.

So will this omission force you to get the dongle or will you transition to a USB 3 and thunderbolt setup? Really wish that one port was retained. Apple has a lot of space for it where they bunch up all the ports.
Hexley is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:37 PM   #2
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
I haven't plugged anything in to FireWire since 2003.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 6  Apple TV 2  iPad Air 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:43 PM   #3
TrboMac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC/USA
Guess you're best to get the adapter for now. I use FW for my external HD and music recording interface. My 2011 iMac has it of course, but if it did not, I'd consider the adapter first, until more USB 3 interfaces show up.
__________________
2011 21.5" iMac, i5, 2.5 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HD
TrboMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:45 PM   #4
peeaanuut
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to peeaanuut
I have the Seagate drives so I will most likely get the adapter from them to convert drives to thunderbolt and get the faster speeds.
peeaanuut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:46 PM   #5
xgman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
The vast majority of audio interfaces still use firewire. So dongle it is.
__________________
{2014 27" r-imac-4.0i7-295x-32gb ram-1TBSSD+External TB enclosure>Samsung840evo ssd + Segate Enterprise 5TB-UAD Apollo/Marantz/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins Sound-Nektar P1 61}
{ipads}{iphones}{LG G3}
xgman is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 02:11 PM   #6
CWallace
macrumors Demi-God
 
CWallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
I use FireWire for my external storage (2 4TB WD My Book IIs), but my ATD does have FW so I'm still covered should I replace my 2011 iMac with a 2012 or 2013 model.
CWallace is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 02:20 PM   #7
Siderz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
Apple remove the FireWire port from the iMac while retaining it on the Mac Pro, Mac mini and MacBook Pro.

So will this omission force you to get the dongle or will you transition to a USB 3 and thunderbolt setup? Really wish that one port was retained. Apple has a lot of space for it where they bunch up all the ports.
I got an adapter specially for when I get the new iMac.

I hope to get a Thunderbolt drive sooner or later.

Not gonna use USB 3.0 for video editing. Maybe backups, not video editing.
__________________
focus
Siderz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 03:04 PM   #8
peeaanuut
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to peeaanuut
If you are gonna transition from FW800 go TB or get an adapter. Dnt take the halfstep to USB3. Just seems a waste of money to me.
peeaanuut is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 03:06 PM   #9
GoCubsGo
macrumors Nehalem
 
GoCubsGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by peeaanuut View Post
If you are gonna transition from FW800 go TB or get an adapter. Dnt take the halfstep to USB3. Just seems a waste of money to me.
And wouldn't it bottleneck?
GoCubsGo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 03:13 PM   #10
peeaanuut
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to peeaanuut
even if a bottleneck did occur, at the throughput speeds could anyone tell? Also, most people only have 1 or maybe 2 externals so there isnt much to slow it up. AAAANNNNDDDD if they are on FW already, then they are already in a chain system.
peeaanuut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 03:25 PM   #11
7enderbender
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: North East US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
Apple remove the FireWire port from the iMac while retaining it on the Mac Pro, Mac mini and MacBook Pro.

So will this omission force you to get the dongle or will you transition to a USB 3 and thunderbolt setup? Really wish that one port was retained. Apple has a lot of space for it where they bunch up all the ports.
This was one of the reasons why I took the iMac off my list of options for my next desktop. For serious audio interfaces there are very few choices with Thunderbolt - and those cost an arm and a leg still. USB3 doesn't exist at all. So FW is still the gold standard. I know that there is a TB to FW adapter but people have reported issues with those for audio. I know, Apple always knows best what is good for you just like the government - only when they don't. Same goes by the way for eliminating the CD drive. Still needed for a lot of creative folks - you know the people who initially made Apple what it is? I know I can buy an external drive and that's ok. I shouldn't have to pay extra for just because some arrogant designer with big frame glasses and a turtleneck thought it was in the way of world-dominance through ultra-chique appearance.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by xgman View Post
The vast majority of audio interfaces still use firewire. So dongle it is.
Make sure that you don't have a bus powered interface. Apparently those don't work.
__________________
iPhone 5, iPod classic 160gb
Mac Mini i7 256GB SSD 8GB RAM; NEC 27" monitor; 13" rMBP, 256SSD 8GB RAM, IBM ThinkPad T60 laptop
7enderbender is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 02:50 AM   #12
Hexley
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Are there any 3rd party adapters that does not cost as much as the Apple one?
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 05:08 AM   #13
Siderz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
Are there any 3rd party adapters that does not cost as much as the Apple one?
Not yet, the only other way around it is to get a Thunderbolt dock/hub thing, and they're extremely expensive.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7enderbender View Post
Make sure that you don't have a bus powered interface. Apparently those don't work.
I bought one specially for the new iMac, and I tried it on my 2011 11" MacBook Air and it could power my 7200rpm G-Drive Mini.

The larger drive I have uses the mains anyway so it doesn't matter if it can't power much.
__________________
focus
Siderz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daisy-chain order Firewire 800 via Thunderbolt on iMac macgabe Mac Peripherals 10 Jan 11, 2013 08:17 AM
2012 iMac + Thunderbolt Display, Not Seeing Firewire Drive. Jazwire iMac 1 Dec 26, 2012 02:44 AM
New 2012 iMac and no Firewire Vuddha iMac 20 Dec 11, 2012 08:45 AM
run Imac's OS at 800 x 600 resolution in 800 x 600 window on imac display. rameface iMac 0 Jul 23, 2012 09:27 PM
Macbook Pro 2012 Retina - Existing hard drives and the lack of firewire 800 Charlie Croker Buying Tips and Advice 9 Jun 13, 2012 04:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC