Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 21, 2012, 08:40 AM   #1
Tom2893
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Logic 8 on Lion

Does Logic 8 work on Lion yet or still doesn't work?

Thanks!
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB / iPad mini 16GB / MacBook Pro 13" mid 2012
Tom2893 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2012, 02:12 PM   #2
HoldernessMedia
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom2893 View Post
Does Logic 8 work on Lion yet or still doesn't work?

Thanks!
Logic 8 works on Lion, the issue can arise from installing Logic 8 from the original install DVD's which have PPC code that Lion doesn't like.
Create images of your DVD's and put them on an external hdd, then try installing from them, this worked without a hitch for my friend on a MacBook with 10.7.3

Heres someone else's method you can try as well.
http://derek-sanders.net/?p=1267
HoldernessMedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2012, 05:49 PM   #3
PatrickNL
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Extremely easy solution!

I had the same problems trying to install Logic Studio Pro 8 using its original DVD's.

I solved the problem extremely easy and without any Terminal commands or workarounds:

Using you SNow Leopard Install DVD install Rosetta (found under "Additional Software") into Lion. Reboot and after that Logic Studio Pro 8 will install without any errors.

I've been using it after this install for a couple of months now, without any workarounds, errors, lost plug-ins and so on, whatsoever.

Hope it helps :-)

Patrick.
PatrickNL is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2012, 08:42 PM   #4
HoldernessMedia
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickNL View Post
I had the same problems trying to install Logic Studio Pro 8 using its original DVD's.

I solved the problem extremely easy and without any Terminal commands or workarounds:

Using you SNow Leopard Install DVD install Rosetta (found under "Additional Software") into Lion. Reboot and after that Logic Studio Pro 8 will install without any errors.

I've been using it after this install for a couple of months now, without any workarounds, errors, lost plug-ins and so on, whatsoever.

Hope it helps :-)

Patrick.
Great idea, thanks for sharing!
HoldernessMedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 09:17 AM   #5
drumdude55
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickNL View Post
I had the same problems trying to install Logic Studio Pro 8 using its original DVD's.

I solved the problem extremely easy and without any Terminal commands or workarounds:

Using you SNow Leopard Install DVD install Rosetta (found under "Additional Software") into Lion. Reboot and after that Logic Studio Pro 8 will install without any errors.

I've been using it after this install for a couple of months now, without any workarounds, errors, lost plug-ins and so on, whatsoever.

Hope it helps :-)

Patrick.
So, do I need to buy snow leopard if I don't have it to make my Logic Pro 8 work with Macbook Pro w Lion? It's only $19.99.
drumdude55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:34 PM   #6
crewkid89
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by drumdude55 View Post
So, do I need to buy snow leopard if I don't have it to make my Logic Pro 8 work with Macbook Pro w Lion? It's only $19.99.
If your MacBook pro came with lion, it most likely will not work with snow leopard.
crewkid89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logic Pro on MacPro 1.1 and Lion k2k koos Mac Pro 6 May 22, 2014 05:27 PM
Logic pro 9.1.8 and OSX Mountain Lion Issues chaseme2200 Digital Audio 10 Oct 6, 2013 04:56 AM
PC300 into Logic Pro on Mac OS X Lion Problems marknelson65 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Mar 25, 2013 09:22 AM
Mountain Lion & Logic 9 Skika Digital Audio 8 Sep 9, 2012 05:50 PM
Has anyone used Logic Studio with Mountain Lion? How does it perform? CFoss OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Aug 2, 2012 04:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC