Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

View Poll Results: I think this iPhone is
Its ATT since it showed att network bars (but i couldnt activate it with att sim) 3 23.08%
Its sprint as per the seriel number(Y does it say carrier as att 13.0 then) 3 23.08%
As confused as you are 6 46.15%
Use it as a iPod Touch 1 7.69%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:55 PM   #1
newport123
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Super Confused iphone 5 mystery

1)purchased iphone from craigslist was told its a verizon version by the seller
2)popped in sim and it said its not a valid sim. i am thinking this is a sprint phone and i was tricked. Phone does show the bars but says can not be activated due to incompatible sim.
Phone is still not activated and i can not even mavigate to the home screen tried connecting with itunes etc
3)call apple and they confirm this is a sprint phone
4) call up sprint provide seriel number and imei and they say its not a sprint phone and they didnt mention if its stolen or reported stolen. I had asked this in bold in my email to sprint

So now i have a iphone 5 which i can nto activate . Its locked and lying as a paper weight

In the mean time i buy a AIR update to new os install itunes 8 etc etc
i decide to connect the iphone 5 just for fun and boom it says syncing and shows me the home screen. I am happy I do a quick song and dance sequence with 5 yo mama jokes. JK

Now when i go to general about i am super confused
Carrier says AT&T 13.0
Model is MD657LL (This is a sprint model number)
So which iphone 5 is this Friends ???????


Model Number is A1429
http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-02 at 1.49.07 PM.png
Views:	63
Size:	50.6 KB
ID:	381150  

Last edited by newport123; Dec 2, 2012 at 02:50 PM.
newport123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 02:01 PM   #2
jent
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Did you pop in an AT&T SIM?

Verizon and Sprint iPhones can be unlocked internationally but not domestically, meaning the GSM radio in CDMA iPhones can be unlocked for use with any non-American GSM carrier.
jent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 02:02 PM   #3
newport123
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jent View Post
Did you pop in an AT&T SIM?

Verizon and Sprint iPhones can be unlocked internationally but not domestically, meaning the GSM radio in CDMA iPhones can be unlocked for use with any non-American GSM carrier.
With ATT sim it said not compatible sim etc etc
but it was showing me bars on the top left
newport123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 02:21 PM   #4
Myiphone7
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
My guess AT&T
Myiphone7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 02:36 PM   #5
Justinf79
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oregon
Odd, was it a new phone in a shrink wrapped box, or a used one?
__________________
Mac Pro|iPhone 5|iPod Classic
Justinf79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 02:37 PM   #6
newport123
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justinf79 View Post
Odd, was it a new phone in a shrink wrapped box, or a used one?
used got it off craigslist
when i started it it went through the initial set up process
newport123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 02:43 PM   #7
Justinf79
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Oregon
Hmm, I'd maybe try contacting the seller, and see what exactly he/she did to it.
__________________
Mac Pro|iPhone 5|iPod Classic
Justinf79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 03:00 PM   #8
RNVarma
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
What does it say for model on the back of the iPhone?
__________________
Rajiv Varma
RNVarma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 03:01 PM   #9
newport123
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by rnvarma View Post
what does it say for model on the back of the iphone?
a1429
newport123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 03:05 PM   #10
Prime85
macrumors 6502a
 
Prime85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by newport123 View Post
a1429
That number is either for sprint or verizon is a CDMA phone
__________________
iPhone 5 (White 64GB) ; MBP 2.2Ghz i7 Quad-core,16GB RAM, 512GB Samsung SSD; TV 3
Prime85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 03:05 PM   #11
RNVarma
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I would guess you have the CDMA A1429 model per http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/
__________________
Rajiv Varma
RNVarma is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 03:17 PM   #12
617aircav
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I am amazed at how people bu phones on Craigslist and do no check to see if the phone is working.
617aircav is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 07:00 PM   #13
jent
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prime85 View Post
That number is either for sprint or verizon is a CDMA phone
Sprint and Verizon's unlocking policy keep the domestic GSM carriers locked out, so that will not work with any U.S. GSM carrier.
jent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 07:18 PM   #14
Jtludwig
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jent View Post
Sprint and Verizon's unlocking policy keep the domestic GSM carriers locked out, so that will not work with any U.S. GSM carrier.
Please stop posting incorrect information.

While the Sprint Iphone 5 is locked, the Verizon version is GSM unlocked out of the box for any GSM carrier worldwide, including the USA.
Jtludwig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 07:26 PM   #15
darster
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jent View Post
Sprint and Verizon's unlocking policy keep the domestic GSM carriers locked out, so that will not work with any U.S. GSM carrier.
Verizon phone works with T mobile and smart talk. So much for your knowledge.

----------

To OP, you have a Sprint phone. This is exactly what happens with the sprint iphone 5 when trying to activate AT&T sim. If you had Verizon iphone 5, it would have worked. AT&T gsm network will work with the verizon phone, but you will not get LTE. With Sprint phone, nothing from AT&T will work unless you get Sprint to unlock the phone.
darster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 10:50 AM   #16
deannnnn
macrumors 68000
 
deannnnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York City & South Florida
You definitely have a CDMA phone, it is not an AT&T phone. You need to call Verizon to activate it, you can't just put a SIM card in and expect anything to happen. It wouldn't work with an AT&T SIM because it's locked to a CDMA network (either Sprint or Verizon) which is preventing it from connecting to AT&T.
__________________
MacBook Pro (Retina) / iPhone 5S
deannnnn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 4s battery mystery joe10994 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 May 3, 2013 01:46 PM
Mystery vibration on iPhone 4, please help! catrob11 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Apr 26, 2013 10:41 AM
The mystery of my bent iPhone 5 Nelly133 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 21 Dec 31, 2012 12:06 PM
Mystery icon on iPhone Rugbyplayer iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jul 12, 2012 06:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC