Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2012, 03:35 PM   #1
AppleDev879
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Black Ops Mac on ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB

I initially planned to purchase Black Ops for Mac from the Mac App Store for my late 2009 iMac. I was thinking I'd then buy GameCompanion and connect an Xbox 360 controller to my computer, effectively making it an Xbox. Unfortunately, I just checked the machine's specs, only to find that I have 256 MB of video RAM instead of the recommended 512 MB.

The exact card is the ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB. If I did purchase the game, would I notice a severe amount of dropped frames, making gameplay really frustrating? If so, are there quality settings in the game I could turn down? Also, could the use of a wireless controller create additional lag? Any advice appreciated.
AppleDev879 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 03:58 PM   #2
Nuttydev
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bristol, England.
I have the same video card and had a free weekend for BO on Windows a while ago and it ran perfectly fine on high/medium with 40-60+ fps at 1080p. Not sure how it'd be on OS X though, as games usually don't run as well as in Windows.
__________________
21.5" 2010 iMac; 13.3" 2012 Macbook Air; 32GB iPhone 5; 16GB iPad Mini
Nuttydev is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 05:42 PM   #3
AppleDev879
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Yeah, strangely enough the PC version only requires 256 MB of video RAM, but the Mac version requires 512 MB. Do you think I could run the PC version off Parallels with better results?
AppleDev879 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 06:51 PM   #4
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
No, virtual machine would be even worse =)
__________________
My WoW videos
13" Retina MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz | 8 GB | 256 GB | Intel Iris
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 07:17 PM   #5
AppleDev879
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Well shall I just consider myself out of luck, or do you think the gameplay would be smooth enough?
AppleDev879 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 09:13 PM   #6
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
Turn everything to lowest possible, then move up step by step to try and balance graphics quality and performance.
__________________
My WoW videos
13" Retina MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz | 8 GB | 256 GB | Intel Iris
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 11:38 PM   #7
AppleDev879
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
[QUOTE=eXan;16428013]Turn everything to lowest possible, then move up step by step to try and balance graphics quality and performance.[/QUOTE

Haha I would, problem is I haven't bought the game yet. I'm really hesitant to spend $50 on a game that might not even run. So I'm just trying to see if anyone has attempted to run the game with this configuration.
AppleDev879 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 02:03 AM   #8
eXan
macrumors 601
 
eXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Send a message via ICQ to eXan Send a message via AIM to eXan Send a message via Skype™ to eXan
Sorry, misread your post ;;

You could search for videos on Youtube, etc on how a particular game runs on a particular Mac, I did that when I was in doubt about UT3.

I'd tell you how it runs on my, admittedly, newer iMac, but the game requires 10.8 for some reason O_o
__________________
My WoW videos
13" Retina MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz | 8 GB | 256 GB | Intel Iris
eXan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Tags
ati, black ops, black ops in mac released, black ops mac, mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC