Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 9, 2012, 10:19 PM   #1
zuckuss00
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Why don't retina MBPs say "MacBook Pro" on the screen?

I'm just curious,

Why don't the new 13" and 15" retina MacBook Pros say "MacBook Pro" on the bottom on the screen bezel like every other MacBook dating back has had? There seems to be enough space for the lettering, I wonder why Apple chose to pull the branding. I know it's minuscule, however, it just bothers me because I'm use to seeing it there and it looks strange without it. Anyone agree?

__________________
MacBook Pro 13" 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7
iPad Air 32GB Wi-Fi Black/Space Grey
iPhone 5 32GB Black/Slate
"OtterBox is like sending your kid to school with a helmet."
zuckuss00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 10:22 PM   #2
MCAsan
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Nope. It is not needed for any functions and therefore not in keeping with minimalist design.
__________________
Retina MBP 2.7GHz | 16GB | 768G
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5s | Silver | 64GB | AT&T
iPad Air | Silver | 128GB | WiFi only
MCAsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 10:23 PM   #3
dukebound85
macrumors P6
 
dukebound85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 5045 feet above seal level
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCAsan View Post
Nope. It is not needed for any functions and therefore not in keeping with minimalist design.
yet it is there on the classic mbps that were recently updated..
dukebound85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 10:24 PM   #4
UnixMac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
interesting, I just noticed that.... my last 17" MBP did say it. I guess they decided to get rid of any clutter.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.0 Dual Core / 12GB RAM / 4.5TB HD in RAID 0, 2xWD Velociraptor2 boot RAID / Nvidia 1GB Video / 20&30" Display
2 x Macbook Pro Retina 2.7, 16GB RAM, 768GB SSD
UnixMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 10:24 PM   #5
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Retina MacBook Pro screen label?
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 10:26 PM   #6
boto
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Maybe it is to differentiate the two units or possibly because the classic MBPs still use 2 panels of glass, while the rMBP uses 1? Despite whatever the reason, I personally like it clean without the title. I can easily determine who else has a rMBP around me and it won't distract me.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4Ghz, GTX 680MX, 1TB FD, 32GB RAM | rMBP 2.6Ghz/16GB RAM/256GB | 16GB iPhone 5 White | 16GB iPad 3rd Gen White | Time Capsule 2TB | Apple TV 3
boto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 11:42 PM   #7
Freyqq
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
probably because they would need to write "macbook pro with retina display"..and that wouldn't look very minimalist
Freyqq is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 12:47 AM   #8
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zuckuss00 View Post
I'm just curious,

Why don't the new 13" and 15" retina MacBook Pros say "MacBook Pro" on the bottom on the screen bezel like every other MacBook dating back has had? There seems to be enough space for the lettering, I wonder why Apple chose to pull the branding. I know it's minuscule, however, it just bothers me because I'm use to seeing it there and it looks strange without it. Anyone agree?

Image
I love it's not there. Logos everywhere sucks. The product speaks for itself. I don't need text off the screen. The logo on the back is such a powerful statement
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 12:55 AM   #9
calderone
macrumors 68040
 
calderone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle
No need for it, glad it is gone.
__________________
ACSA, ACMT
calderone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 01:42 AM   #10
Blue604
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I am glad that MacBook pro has evolved to a stage that doesn't require label.
Blue604 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:08 AM   #11
MCAsan
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Exactly. Does iMac need a label on the front?
__________________
Retina MBP 2.7GHz | 16GB | 768G
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5s | Silver | 64GB | AT&T
iPad Air | Silver | 128GB | WiFi only
MCAsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:28 AM   #12
mrbigglessworth
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Are you one of those guys a year ago upset the the iPhone 4s looked like the 4 and wouldnt give others visual queues that you had the latest hardware?
mrbigglessworth is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC