Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 26, 2012, 03:56 PM   #76
Yarode
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yarode View Post
Hi, I've been wondering lately if my mac would be able to run the GW2 mac beta client. Since the price of the game is 55$ I want to be sure it'll run. I've heard people saying you can run it on mac 10.6.8 , which makes the requirement of 10.7 invalid, I was wondering if this is actually true before I buy it.

my specs are:

model: iMac 8,1
Intel Core 2 Duo
2,8 GHz
2 GB 800 MHz DDR2
ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro 256 MB
I posted the quoted post in a more recentthread about GW2, because I didn't want to dig this up. I'm kind of derailing the other topic though so I'm posting it here instead.
If anyone would be able to help me, that'd be awesome.
Yarode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 06:09 AM   #77
Pyromonkey83
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by fl1x View Post
May i ask what tweeks/changes you have done?

I have the the rMBP 15" only diff is the RAM i have 8 not 16gb but under the osx client i get 20/30FPS but it feels like 10FPS massive jitter and "lag like" issues (not my net connection)

Under windows BC i get maybe 40 FPS at 1900x1200 everything on bar post processing and reflections set to world only.

jsut wondering if you have done anything outside of install and run?


Cheers

FL1X
I honestly haven't done anything outside of the install and run. I highly doubt that having 8GB of RAM would be an issue either. I have since decided that things look better on my rMBP by playing with the resolution set to 1920x1200 (no subsampling) and most things on medium. I get a constant 50fps at all times doing this. The subsampling made everything look a bit funny to me, so I decided to nix it.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yarode View Post
I posted the quoted post in a more recentthread about GW2, because I didn't want to dig this up. I'm kind of derailing the other topic though so I'm posting it here instead.
If anyone would be able to help me, that'd be awesome.
Im going to say probably not. At the very least you would need to upgrade to 4GB of RAM (I tried it on a PC with 2GB and I couldn't even move). The graphics card is also a little on the slow side, but its possible. I got mine to run on a MacBook Pro from 2008 and it ran great on low settings, but I had 4GB of RAM, and an Nvidia 8600GT (a little bit newer than your card).

They now also have a free trial program so you can test it out before you spend the $$$.
Pyromonkey83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:43 AM   #78
Yarode
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
thanks a bunch, I'll be trying to trial soon!
Yarode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 10:50 AM   #79
Yarode
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
So I asked someone if they could send me a trial, so I could try it out. Turns out it's an event kind of thing, which isn't available anymore. Any other ideas?
Yarode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 12:58 PM   #80
modalsaliency
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I'm going to go ahead and assume this is a pipe dream, but has anyone with the 13 rMBP managed to run this decently, with either bootcamp or the mac client?
modalsaliency is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 01:13 PM   #81
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by modalsaliency View Post
I'm going to go ahead and assume this is a pipe dream, but has anyone with the 13 rMBP managed to run this decently, with either bootcamp or the mac client?
I played GW2 in the early release on my 2011 MacBook Air, yours should be a bit faster. It ran acceptable in low settings at native res (1440x900) in bootcamp. The rMBP sports a HD4000 which should be quite a bit better than the HD3000 on the MBA. Not to mention the MBA has a 1.7GHz i5 and yours has a 2.5GHz+ i7.

I never tried world versus world, but i would expect that it won't be very playable at all, but questing and 5 man instances was reasonable ok.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 10:36 AM   #82
sjz88
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
In that case I it's pretty safe to assume it won't run with the Mac client but only in Bootcamp...
sjz88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 08:36 PM   #83
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I wonder if its ever going to get optimized. I am thinking now. The world is not gonna go away from DirectX.

Just look at PS3 ports. Devs hate OpenGL. Even one like Carmack who talked so highly of it.
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 12:37 PM   #84
Trubbles
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
My rMBP (2.6GHz/8/256) is in "processing" and I keep thinking about how excited I am to play GW2 on it

Has anyone with an rMBP (or any other Mac, for that matter) compared the Mac vs PC client recently? (I say recently, because I know at OSX launch, there are a HUGE discrepancy).
Trubbles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 03:45 AM   #85
sjz88
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
By the way: Was there an optimizing update of some sort since this thread started? I'm pretty sure it'll run smooth as hell on my high-end 27" 2012 iMac but if it still crashes frequently for no reason I'm not going to buy it.
sjz88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 10:07 AM   #86
ctbear
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trubbles View Post
My rMBP (2.6GHz/8/256) is in "processing" and I keep thinking about how excited I am to play GW2 on it

Has anyone with an rMBP (or any other Mac, for that matter) compared the Mac vs PC client recently? (I say recently, because I know at OSX launch, there are a HUGE discrepancy).
There is still a pretty big difference. I would say the Windows version is ~30% faster
ctbear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 02:32 AM   #87
lasagnee
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I played Guild Wars 2 on PC. It was great. Is MAC version the same as on PC? Is it cheaper? I payed PC version for 31 on http://www.go2arena.com/guild-wars-2.html
lasagnee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 02:23 AM   #88
Torvanyr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lasagnee View Post
I played Guild Wars 2 on PC. It was great. Is MAC version the same as on PC? Is it cheaper? I payed PC version for 31 on http://www.go2arena.com/guild-wars-2.html
You can buy a PC version of the game and download the Mac client from your account page after you input your serial number and create an account. It doesn't matter where you buy the game, the only thing that matters is the serial number that comes with it.
Torvanyr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:31 AM   #89
tufinhas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I own a late 2012 mid-range mac mini with 8GB RAM.

I recently bought GW2 on their website taking advantage of a promotion where you would get the digital deluxe version for 39,90 euros. After a 18 GB mac client download, i've almost done with the starter zone, and can say it plays perfectly fine, but with settings automaticaly on low and medium levels, with a average framerate of 25-30 fps. Still, i'm guessing it will play better on 2011 iMacs or macbook pros and other more recent macs with dedicated graphics.

Side note: temperatures sky-rocket while playing the game, so beware.

T.
tufinhas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 10:12 AM   #90
atarria
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
You will definitely require fan control software such as SMC so the game will not toast your machine.

I bought and downloaded the game to my 2011 27" iMac equipped with 8 gigs RAM and Radeon HD6770M. I let the game select settings. The game has not given me any problems.

At level ten I have seen 3% of the world. It took me an hour and a half to fully explore the Norn home city. Graphics are awesome, much better than LOTRO and more "real" than WOW. Its too early to comment on the learning curve. An up front cost and no annoying micro transaction ads or subscription fees make this a spectacular game.
atarria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 04:15 PM   #91
SingularityG
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Just tried it on 17" mid 2010 Macbook Pro and the performance is not good.

With all the settings on low I usually get just below 30 fps in wilderness and around 20 fps in towns.

It's playable but I wouldn't say it runs "well".

Hopefully we get some performance boost in the next update.
__________________
sINGULARITY uNIVERSE
SingularityG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2012, 04:04 PM   #92
thundersteele
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by atarria View Post
You will definitely require fan control software such as SMC so the game will not toast your machine.
The automatic fan control in OSX is perfectly capable of keeping the machine at a healthy level.
thundersteele is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 04:35 AM   #93
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
bummp



has there been any new gains in the beta version for this?


a big new update is coming out for the game today, adding new achievements and other things!
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 04:58 AM   #94
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Guild wars 2 is a very machine hungry game and a 17" mid 2010 Macbook Pro is not going to cut it at anything like descent FPS etc.

See my machine below Mac pro, I boot into Lion to play it, it runs just fine on those specs.

Loads of people are complaining about this but when you see what they are trying to run it on then, say no more.

Also the game was meant to be Windows only and they got a Cider wrap done by way of helping to get people to run it on Macs.

As it is a Windows specific game then run it in Bootcamp if you are not happy with the Mac Client, it should help it run better.

People are asking them to do a Mac Native client, but who knows ?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.4/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 10:46 AM   #95
kierend
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
I've tried both playing it from a bootcamp install and the mac client, gotta say it ran really well on my mid 2010 15' Macbook Pro from Windows with medium graphics at about 30 fps. But from the mac client it ran poorly, on the lowest settings at about 10 fps. Not sure if it was just a poo port or my mac.
__________________
15" 2010 Macbook Pro, i5 2.4, 4gb RAM, 320gb ;iPhone 4s, 32gb ; iPhone 4, 32gb ; iPod Nano, 2nd Gen, 8gb ; iPod, 3rd Gen, 40gb,
kierend is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:03 AM   #96
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by kierend View Post
I've tried both playing it from a bootcamp install and the mac client, gotta say it ran really well on my mid 2010 15' Macbook Pro from Windows with medium graphics at about 30 fps. But from the mac client it ran poorly, on the lowest settings at about 10 fps. Not sure if it was just a poo port or my mac.
Port + OSX. Windows games run best in Windows. Not proud of this statement.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:24 AM   #97
SpyderBite
macrumors 65816
 
SpyderBite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Xanadu
Meh. Been playing the beta wrapper since it was released on my 2012 13" MBP w/ 16gb Ram and found it adequate at 50-60fps in pve & pvp. In WvW it requires a little more GPU power than I have.

I think the people with solid macs and gpu should have no problem. Those that complain are usually no talents or people with bad Internet connections blaming their poor performance on the client.
__________________
Rock, Paper, Scissors, Lizard, Spock
SpyderBite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2013, 11:35 AM   #98
Huntn
macrumors 604
 
Huntn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Misty Mountains
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpyderBite View Post
Meh. Been playing the beta wrapper since it was released on my 2012 13" MBP w/ 16gb Ram and found it adequate at 50-60fps in pve & pvp. In WvW it requires a little more GPU power than I have.

I think the people with solid macs and gpu should have no problem. Those that complain are usually no talents or people with bad Internet connections blaming their poor performance on the client.
Sounds good to me except you are not on an Air... I believe the Air is now equivalent to what the MacBook used to be? If so I could see issues running GW2 on it.
__________________
The modern business ethos: "I'm worth it, you're not, and I'm a glutton!"
MBP, 2.2 GHz intel i7, Radeon HD 6750M, Bootcamp: W7.
PC: i5 4670k, 8GB RAM, Asus GTX670 (2GB VRAM), W7.
Huntn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 05:50 AM   #99
luffytubby
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpyderBite View Post
Meh. Been playing the beta wrapper since it was released on my 2012 13" MBP w/ 16gb Ram and found it adequate at 50-60fps in pve & pvp. In WvW it requires a little more GPU power than I have.

I think the people with solid macs and gpu should have no problem. Those that complain are usually no talents or people with bad Internet connections blaming their poor performance on the client.
Hey,

what settings were you running? I wonder if having 16 gigs of ram, matters when you are dealing with wrapper based games!? seems like they might take advantage of more ram than "normal" ports.
__________________
Life is a game. Play till your dead, then restart.
luffytubby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 10:54 AM   #100
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
Quote:
Originally Posted by luffytubby View Post
Hey,

what settings were you running? I wonder if having 16 gigs of ram, matters when you are dealing with wrapper based games!? seems like they might take advantage of more ram than "normal" ports.
No they don't. Cider wrappers uses a 32 bit framework, so it will never use more than 4GB.

I'm also pretty sure he just thinks he gets those numbers, as my 2011 MBA, does not even manage 30 FPS at lowest settings in OSX. That being said, his machine is faster, but it should be more like 10-15% faster and not over 100% faster.
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Network problem playing Guild Wars 1 on Mac Noetics Mac and PC Games 1 Mar 28, 2014 04:44 AM
OS X: guild wars 2 mac beta fps fluctuates anonymous4a Mac and PC Games 2 Nov 26, 2012 07:58 AM
OS X: Guild Wars 2 Mac beta FPS? anonymous4a Mac and PC Games 0 Nov 18, 2012 08:05 PM
Guild Wars 2 Arrives on Mac With Beta Client Release MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 126 Oct 20, 2012 11:02 PM
Guild Wars 2 - native OSX client beta available robo456 Mac and PC Games 36 Sep 21, 2012 10:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC