Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:46 PM   #1
bobright
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Help with Better Touch Tool

I just got a iMac and downloaded the app wanted to do some custom gestures. It is killing me though even after seeing it's help section. I know how to select my "Trackpad" and choose what I want to do e.g three-finger swipe down. The thing is when selecting the Predefined action I want to select "Refresh" for Chrome but I don't see it?!? Is refresh labeled something else?

I even tried doing Global as well as using the "+" to add Chrome and still can't find it
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:14 PM   #2
cerote
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
For me in order to make a refresh I ended up having to write an script for it then setup BetterTouchTools (BTT) to run the script with a gesture. Not sure where I have the script now because I haven't used it in a while.
cerote is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:15 PM   #3
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cerote View Post
For me in order to make a refresh I ended up having to write an script for it then setup BetterTouchTools (BTT) to run the script with a gesture. Not sure where I have the script now because I haven't used it in a while.
Hmm wow that sucks guess I'm sol then definitely don't know how to do that. Is the script hard to do?

I don't know why there isn't a preset to choose it. Im on my iPad now, but as I think about it don't even remember seeing a minimize window either.
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:15 PM   #4
cerote
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
Hmm wow that sucks guess I'm sol then definitely don't know how to do that. Is the script hard to do?

I don't know why there isn't a preset to choose it. Im on my iPad now, but as I think about it don't even remember seeing a minimize window either.
I mainly got my script to work using AppleScript and then used google to find a script on how to refresh chrome with applescript. So google did the most part. I wrote it to work on different browsers but chrome I beleive was a little bit of pain to have it work on a single tab while other browsers had no problem with single tabs.

If I remember I will look it up when I get home. I posted the script on a staff section of a site I help mod so I should still find it there hopefully.
cerote is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:24 PM   #5
PR.
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bedford, UK
I just added Chrome as a specific app (on the left) and then added my gesture and used the keystroke of Cmd+R which does a refresh
PR. is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:26 PM   #6
cerote
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Found it. Looks like I never fully got it working in chrome lol. Here is the script that worked for Safari last year.

Code:
tell application "Safari"
	tell window 1
		set current tab to (make new tab with properties {URL:"http://macrumors.com"})
	end tell
end tell
Change the site to whatever you would like to check.

Here was my post on the chrome issue.
Quote:
K, been working on this. If you want something changed let me know. Right now it will open a new chrome window with a tab to whatever web address you want in there. (have to have http:// in there)

Problem I have is that it will open a new window and make a blank tab and then a tab with your address. Been looking all over to find how to create new window with url in the first tab but not having any luck.

Code:
tell application "Google Chrome"
	set aWin to make new window with properties {mode:"normal"}
	tell aWin
		set newTab to make tab with properties {URL:"http://macrumors.com"}
	end tell
end tell

Just copy and paste that script in AppleScript. Save it as something; mine is ChromeNewPosts. Then in Bettertouchtools make new gestures and have it point to predefined action like in the screen shot I below. Point it at the action script file you created with my code. The gesture I have mine set to is five finger tap.
These scripts were tested in Feb of 2011 so not sure how much has been changed to block it.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by PR. View Post
I just added Chrome as a specific app (on the left) and then added my gesture and used the keystroke of Cmd+R which does a refresh
What PR said should work a lot easier; more so if using for random sites and not specific exact site all the time. I made the script because other staff members wanted to just use a gesture to open "new posts" search with a single gesture. Like I had it set to open safari to that address for new posts from anywhere with tapping 4 fingers.

Last edited by cerote; Dec 18, 2012 at 10:38 PM.
cerote is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 02:55 AM   #7
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by PR. View Post
I just added Chrome as a specific app (on the left) and then added my gesture and used the keystroke of Cmd+R which does a refresh
Quote:
Originally Posted by cerote View Post
Found it. Looks like I never fully got it working in chrome lol. Here is the script that worked for Safari last year.

Code:
tell application "Safari"
	tell window 1
		set current tab to (make new tab with properties {URL:"http://macrumors.com"})
	end tell
end tell
Change the site to whatever you would like to check.

Here was my post on the chrome issue.


These scripts were tested in Feb of 2011 so not sure how much has been changed to block it.

----------



What PR said should work a lot easier; more so if using for random sites and not specific exact site all the time. I made the script because other staff members wanted to just use a gesture to open "new posts" search with a single gesture. Like I had it set to open safari to that address for new posts from anywhere with tapping 4 fingers.
Nice thanks so much guys!!

BTW what do you guys think is a good gesture for "Refresh"? I tried the rotate to right but its too hard to do have to twist my fingers in a weird way. LOL
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 10:19 AM   #8
PR.
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bedford, UK
I have:

3 finger click = refresh
4 finger click = new tab
5 finger click = close tab
TipTap Right = open link in new tab
PR. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 10:21 AM   #9
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
BTT is the sharpest knife in the drawer. Amazing what it can do.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 02:36 PM   #10
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by PR. View Post
I have:

3 finger click = refresh
4 finger click = new tab
5 finger click = close tab
TipTap Right = open link in new tab
Nice, the three finger click sounds natural as Refresh going to try that one. I have four finger click to quit an app. And four finger swipe down to minimize a window a la iPad somewhat
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 06:38 PM   #11
cerote
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I use three finger click as middle click to open links on pages in their own tab.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
BTT is the sharpest knife in the drawer. Amazing what it can do.
Very true.
cerote is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 09:10 PM   #12
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cerote View Post
I use three finger click as middle click to open links on pages in their own tab.

----------



Very true.
Do you know if they have a Two-finger click as I cant find it?

I had another question about BetterTouchTool. I set it in Login Apps to start with my unit when I log in but sometimes it doesn't boot up....any idea why this happens? I want it to start with my iMac everytime I turn it on from a Shut Down hate having to open the app all the time.
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 09:56 PM   #13
bogoss
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
BTT is very handy, but I found the latest versions really insensitive with tiptap, I can hardly trigger it no matter what I try... nevertheless it's one of those nicest little things that makes Mac fun and easy to use, thanks to magic mouse too of course.
bogoss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 03:07 PM   #14
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bogoss View Post
BTT is very handy, but I found the latest versions really insensitive with tiptap, I can hardly trigger it no matter what I try... nevertheless it's one of those nicest little things that makes Mac fun and easy to use, thanks to magic mouse too of course.
Is it just me or is there not a 2-finger click option?

this is killing me grrr
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:36 PM   #15
bogoss
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
Is it just me or is there not a 2-finger click option?

this is killing me grrr
there is 2-finger click, see attached, I am still using an old version because of the tiptop issue, AFAIK the new version has more options even.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-22 at 6.33.42 AM.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	100.3 KB
ID:	385071  
bogoss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:18 PM   #16
Qaanol
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
This is now the “Post your BTT configuration” thread.

Symbol guide (for copy-paste/reference):
⌘ = Command (the “Apple key”)
⌥ = Option (“alt”)
⇧ = Shift
^ = Control
⇥ = Tab
↑↓→← = Arrow Keys

On my current machine, which I use a keyboard and mouse with, I have:

Keystrokes:
⌘^1 Resize window to top-left quarter
⌘^2 Resize window to top-right quarter
⌘^3 Resize window to bottom-left quarter
⌘^4 Resize window to bottom-right quarter
⌘^5 Center window
⌘^← Maximize window left
⌘^→ Maximize window right
⌘^↑ Maximize window
⌘^↓ Restore window size
⌘^B Show BTT Prefs

For my previous machine, with a multitouch pad, I had a whole bunch of trackpad gestures as well. The ones I used most were to cycle through tabs in a window, windows in an app, and apps that are running:

2-finger gestures
TipSwipe left finger up: ⌘0 (view “actual size” in Preview)
TipSwipe left finger down: ⌘9 (fit to window in Preview)

3-finger gestures
3F click: Middle click
3F swipe right: ⌘` (“next window” in current app)
3F swipe left: ⌘⇧` (“previous window”)
3F swipe up: “Page Up”
3F swipe down: “Page Down”
3F double-tap: ⌘⇧M (activate DejaMenu)
2F tiptap left: ⌘[ (browser “back”)
2F tiptap right: ⌘] (browser “forward”)

4-finger gestures
4F click: Mute/Unmute
4F swipe up: “Home” (jump to top of document/webpage)
4F swipe down: “End” (jump to bottom of document/webpage)
4F swipe left: ⌘⇥ (switch to most recent previous app)
4F swipe right: ⌘⇧⇥ (cycle through open apps—technically, “switch to least recent app”)
Tap 1-2-3-4: ⌘⇧] (next tab in current window)
Tap 4-3-2-1: ⌘⇧[ (previous tab in current window)
Tap 1-4-3-2: Multiple, so a menu appears with “Open Finder”, “Logout”, “Sleep Display”, “Eject”, “Show / Hide Files in Finder”, and “Show BTT Preferences”.

I also had a couple for Mission Control and Show Desktop. I think they were 1-2-3-4 and 4-3-2-1 while holding Option.
Qaanol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:58 AM   #17
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bogoss View Post
there is 2-finger click, see attached, I am still using an old version because of the tiptop issue, AFAIK the new version has more options even.
It is strange see here I don't have one

There isnt even a Two-Finger tap but that is a default gesture from Apple for Middleclick.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-25 at 2.57.22 AM.png
Views:	18
Size:	643.8 KB
ID:	385718  
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 09:21 PM   #18
e271
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
I had another question about BetterTouchTool. I set it in Login Apps to start with my unit when I log in but sometimes it doesn't boot up....any idea why this happens? I want it to start with my iMac everytime I turn it on from a Shut Down hate having to open the app all the time.
In BTT, have you set Prefs>Basic Settings>Launch BetterTouchTool on startup?

Let me know if this works for you. I have this set and each time I log in there is a BTT process running but sometimes BTT doesn't recognize gestures until I restart it.
e271 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
better touch tool command anonymous4a Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Mar 11, 2014 10:38 AM
How to Open Better Touch Tool Preferences... Traverse Mac Basics and Help 1 Jun 6, 2013 08:37 PM
Uninstalling Better Touch Tool macrumorman OS X 2 Apr 12, 2013 03:06 PM
Better touch tool bill phillips iMac 2 Mar 30, 2013 01:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC