Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 20, 2012, 06:44 PM   #26
92jlee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Send a message via MSN to 92jlee
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonie1972 View Post
2nd that. friend has one, it's loud but does the job.

Dont suppose either of you could link me to a cooler, can't find any online.
__________________
| Mac Pro 1,1 upgraded to X5355 | PowerBook G4 17 1.50Ghz | iMac G4 1.25Ghz |
92jlee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 07:40 PM   #27
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman70 View Post
Well I just put a 670 in my 3,1 MP and I can only get two monitors running simultaneously, I have two connected to the DVI ports and one connects to the display port with a DVI to display port adapter, no luck. I am going to go out tomorrow and buy an HDMI to DVI connector and see if that works. I am running 10.8.2.
Are you running stock 10.8.2 or the NVIDIA driver?
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 07:47 PM   #28
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Are you running stock 10.8.2 or the NVIDIA driver?
Stock, do you suggest I install the nvidia driver?
__________________
Iphone 5 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
Mac Pro 5,1, 24GB of RAM, GT120, GTX 670, 256GB SSD, 4x3TB HD, 3x Dell 23" LED
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 07:50 PM   #29
BigJohno
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Are you running stock 10.8.2 or the NVIDIA driver?
When I put the card in I was running stock 10.8.2 ran fine. Then just put the latest nvidia drive on after a few days. No problems so far.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 Hex, GTX 670, Haswell RMBP, iPhone 5, iPad 3
Flickr
BigJohno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 08:08 PM   #30
Asgorath
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman70 View Post
Stock, do you suggest I install the nvidia driver?
Pretty sure the 3+ monitor fix is only available with the NVIDIA driver, yeah.
Asgorath is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 08:17 PM   #31
ClassObject
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonie1972 View Post
will a standard PC one like this:

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16814150561

function ok in 10.6.8? ( i dont need boot screens).
that card is great. i'd do that over nvidia unless you wanna run latest games.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 92jlee View Post
Dont suppose either of you could link me to a cooler, can't find any online.
i use this on a couple cards including an ati 6870

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16835186054
ClassObject is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 08:19 PM   #32
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asgorath View Post
Pretty sure the 3+ monitor fix is only available with the NVIDIA driver, yeah.
Yup that did it, you rock man!

I can confirm, three monitors running off an Nvidia 670 on a MP 3,1 running 10.8.2 with latest Nvidia drivers, using two DVI and one display port to DVI adapter.
__________________
Iphone 5 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
Mac Pro 5,1, 24GB of RAM, GT120, GTX 670, 256GB SSD, 4x3TB HD, 3x Dell 23" LED
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 01:42 AM   #33
mark_burnt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Yes it's been confirmed:
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/top...nd-ivy-bridge/
mark_burnt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:40 AM   #34
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_burnt View Post
That's for a hackintosh.
__________________
Iphone 5 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
Mac Pro 5,1, 24GB of RAM, GT120, GTX 670, 256GB SSD, 4x3TB HD, 3x Dell 23" LED
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:47 AM   #35
mark_burnt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman70 View Post
That's for a hackintosh.
Ah, but you got 3 to work on your Mac Pro, right?
mark_burnt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:08 AM   #36
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_burnt View Post
Ah, but you got 3 to work on your Mac Pro, right?
Yes, but you said it was 'confirmed', I just pointed out that it was only 'confirmed' on a hackintosh, not a proper Mac.
__________________
Iphone 5 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
Mac Pro 5,1, 24GB of RAM, GT120, GTX 670, 256GB SSD, 4x3TB HD, 3x Dell 23" LED
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:11 AM   #37
mark_burnt
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman70 View Post
Yes, but you said it was 'confirmed', I just pointed out that it was only 'confirmed' on a hackintosh, not a proper Mac.
Can you confirm it works on your proper mac?

Ahhh. just seen you don't have that card.
mark_burnt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:21 AM   #38
barkmonster
macrumors 68000
 
barkmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lancashire
The Matrox DualHead2Go allows dual DVI outputs from 1 DVI port and supports dual 1920 x 1200 video.

I believe it shows up to the system as 1 screen with a 3840 x 1200 resolution but for identically sized monitors, that shouldn't be a problem and they're only about 70 in the UK so I imagine they're just as inexpensive elsewhere.
__________________
16Gb iPhone 5 2.53Ghz Mac Mini (8Gb, 60Gb Vertex 2) Icy Box IB-328U3SEb with Toshiba DT01ACA300 HDD
Mbox2 LG W2343T Samsung SyncMaster 913n

Last edited by barkmonster; Dec 21, 2012 at 06:27 AM.
barkmonster is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:41 AM   #39
Washac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I recently fitted a XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC into my Macpro and I have never known the fans to run so quiet.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Mountain Lion 10.8.3/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 09:32 AM   #40
googull
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashman70 View Post
Well I just put a 670 in my 3,1 MP and ... I am running 10.8.2.
Just to confirm, the 670 is your primary display card or only card installed and it booted fine without modified firmware? Do you still see the EFI boot screens?

Curious if you are you able to load the NVIDIA CUDA driver?
googull is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 09:48 AM   #41
googull
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_burnt View Post

Final question if I can...knowing nothing about cards and manufacturers.

Zotac any good?

Then I'm good to order!
I run a Zotac GTX 570 purchased off eBay With modified firmware to properly support Mac Pro. It's performs beautifully with the Adobe suite at 2560 x 1600 on a Dell U3011. It's quiet and got a strong recco from studio1productions

"For example, the GTX 570 video card has 480 CUDA cores, while the GTX680 has 1,536 CUDA cores. Since the GTX680 has more than 3X the number of CUDA cores over the GTX570, you might expect the GTX680 to be 3X faster than the GTX570. But, they are not. They are only few seconds difference. The reason is, the memory interface width is smaller on the GTX6XX series of video cards, even though they have more cuda cores. Where the GTX5XX series of video cards have a much wider memory interface width, which makes up for them having fewer cuda cores."

Oops, Sorry I have not tested triple monitor. I got the big 30 inch instead.

Last edited by googull; Dec 22, 2012 at 09:51 AM. Reason: Recognized post is off-topic.
googull is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 10:19 AM   #42
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by googull View Post
Just to confirm, the 670 is your primary display card or only card installed and it booted fine without modified firmware? Do you still see the EFI boot screens?

Curious if you are you able to load the NVIDIA CUDA driver?
Yes the 670 is the only display card in my Mac Pro, I do not see EFI boot screens, no. I have not modified the firmware of the 670, simply installed the latest Nvidia drivers. It boots fine.
__________________
Iphone 5 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
Mac Pro 5,1, 24GB of RAM, GT120, GTX 670, 256GB SSD, 4x3TB HD, 3x Dell 23" LED
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 10:55 AM   #43
simplymuzik3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Sweet, so since 3 monitors seem to be working from a single 670/680 using the NVIDIA drivers, it looks like I might finally be getting a 680 in the near future!
simplymuzik3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 03:11 PM   #44
feinberj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
You may need active adapters for 3 monitors...

I have a 5870 in a 2010 Mac Pro, and I had a rough time getting three monitors connected to the card. It turns out that you can not have more than one "passive" connection to the card. If you do, then one of the ports will not generate a signal. A DVI connection, through either the DVI plug or a mini DisplayPort->DVI adapter, counts as "passive". I had tried connecting two DVI monitors and a VGA projector and I wasn't getting a signal to the projector. It was driving me nuts. Note that the mini DisplayPort->VGA is "active". I was able to get this to work by buying two Active Mini DisplayPort->DVI adapters:

http://www.amazon.com/Accell-B087B-006B-DisplayPort-Single-Link-Certified/dp/B004071ZXA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1356210167&sr=8-1&keywords=accel+single-link+DVI+adapter

This behaviour is discussed somewhat obliquely by an Apple tech note. The tech note suggests using Apple Dual-Link adapters (at $100 a pop), but single-link is just fine if you are running at 1920 x 1200 or less and of course much easier on your wallet.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4279?v...S&locale=en_US
feinberj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 05:10 PM   #45
DPUser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
I am running two Dell 24's via Display Port and a third, smaller VGA via DVI>VGA adaptor from my Apple 5770. Works great a long as I power up the displays before booting. If I power up the Mac first, get periodic flickers on one of the Dells.
DPUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 07:44 AM   #46
nigelbb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
The Apple mini-DisplayPort to DVI adaptor is only guaranteed to work well with Apple Cinema Displays. It's better to buy a 3rd-party adaptor that will work with all brands of monitor e.g. http://www.lindy.co.uk/mini-displayp...ter/41027.html
nigelbb is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC