Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:09 PM   #1
mentaluproar
macrumors 65816
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Ripping DVDs - there must be a better way

My mother has switched over to her Apple TV and abandoned the DVD player completely. Every now and then, I need to transcode a disc for her. Usually, I create an image with an old iMac G4 I have, and have my i5 Mac mini transcode it in handbrake, then tag everything in MetaZ.

Well, I stumble across troublesome discs from time to time, like a stop motion animated Christmas DVD (the one with mr heatmiser), where this method doesn't work. I just connected my playstation 2 to my EyeTV and recorded it. It came out okay, but it was slow and I lost chapter markers. Audio didn't matter on a film that old. My mother wants me to transcode "Santa Paws" and I tried the latest version if Mac the Ripper the PPC supported.

Bad sector warnings, even when using arccos mode. And I didn't get anything handbrake could understand from it, so there go chapters.

Any help on ripping these troublesome CDs with my setup?
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:33 PM   #2
durruti
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Jersey
Have you checked the CD/DVD for damage?

Try wiping from center to edge of disc (if I remember, if this is the correct method) with very soft cotton material ?
durruti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:26 PM   #3
mentaluproar
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
I did that. It's fine. I really don't want to have to put it in the DVD player and watch all the way through To see if there is an actual defect.
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 08:22 PM   #4
JRoDDz
macrumors 68000
 
JRoDDz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
Try RipIt on your Mac Mini to rip the disc.
JRoDDz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 08:38 PM   #5
mentaluproar
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
The mini lacks an optical drive. Challenge accepted?

----------

Curious, does ripit create an iso?
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 04:09 PM   #6
JRoDDz
macrumors 68000
 
JRoDDz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentaluproar View Post
The mini lacks an optical drive. Challenge accepted?

----------

Curious, does ripit create an iso?
Arrghh.. forgot the new mini's don't have optical drives
JRoDDz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 04:12 PM   #7
mentaluproar
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
I tried ripping that disk on an old Lennox laptop running a Windows app inside of wine. I got an ISO, but when I went to copy the damn thing, it would get to the end of file, then say that there wasn't enough space. This is while copying it to a 500 Gig drive. Is irritating as this is, I can't help but be impressed at copy protection. It's damn effective, and very clever.

----------

Linux, damnit. And why can't I edit that post? Tapatalk, you are beginning to piss me off.
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 07:21 PM   #8
ppc_michael
macrumors 65816
 
ppc_michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to ppc_michael
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentaluproar View Post
I got an ISO, but when I went to copy the damn thing, it would get to the end of file, then say that there wasn't enough space. This is while copying it to a 500 Gig drive.

----------

Linux, damnit. And why can't I edit that post? Tapatalk, you are beginning to piss me off.
Was your 500GB drive formatted as FAT32? There's a 4GB file size limit with that file system that you may have been hitting.
__________________
-PPC_Michael
Apple is just a company. Think for yourselves.
ppc_michael is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 07:59 PM   #9
mentaluproar
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Changed format. Same problem.
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 02:20 PM   #10
I AM THE MAN
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
If you have a windows computer, Magic DVD Ripper does the job quick and easy. Haven't had a problem with ripping any DVD yet.

Hope I help!
I AM THE MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 12:58 AM   #11
LincolnsiPod
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
For those who have ripped DVDs successfully, did any of these include ripping a DVD from one region for use in another?

I finally bought a DVD of a movie I've been searching for years for, but I had to get a region 2 version (I'm region 1 obviously). I'm looking to rip it to my MacBook's library to preserve it but I'm not sure of the best way of doing it (especially since I want to keep the subtitles too.) I'm trying to find out if I can then burn it back onto blank DVD that's either region free or 1.

I've never switched regions on my MBP (2010), so I have 5 chances to switch them back and forth if necessary for this DVD if that makes it easier to make a copy.
LincolnsiPod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 01:04 AM   #12
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
I use an external DVD drive to rip the discs via RipIt. The DVD drive is region-free and doesn't have riplock firmware so it will rip a full disc in 10 to 15 minutes.

I then throw the rips in Handbrake's queue and let it go while I'm at work or at night.

Works fine.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC