Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:09 PM   #1
mentaluproar
macrumors 68000
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Ripping DVDs - there must be a better way

My mother has switched over to her Apple TV and abandoned the DVD player completely. Every now and then, I need to transcode a disc for her. Usually, I create an image with an old iMac G4 I have, and have my i5 Mac mini transcode it in handbrake, then tag everything in MetaZ.

Well, I stumble across troublesome discs from time to time, like a stop motion animated Christmas DVD (the one with mr heatmiser), where this method doesn't work. I just connected my playstation 2 to my EyeTV and recorded it. It came out okay, but it was slow and I lost chapter markers. Audio didn't matter on a film that old. My mother wants me to transcode "Santa Paws" and I tried the latest version if Mac the Ripper the PPC supported.

Bad sector warnings, even when using arccos mode. And I didn't get anything handbrake could understand from it, so there go chapters.

Any help on ripping these troublesome CDs with my setup?
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:33 PM   #2
durruti
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Jersey
Have you checked the CD/DVD for damage?

Try wiping from center to edge of disc (if I remember, if this is the correct method) with very soft cotton material ?
durruti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 08:26 PM   #3
mentaluproar
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
I did that. It's fine. I really don't want to have to put it in the DVD player and watch all the way through To see if there is an actual defect.
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 09:22 PM   #4
JRoDDz
macrumors 68000
 
JRoDDz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
Try RipIt on your Mac Mini to rip the disc.
JRoDDz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 09:38 PM   #5
mentaluproar
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
The mini lacks an optical drive. Challenge accepted?

----------

Curious, does ripit create an iso?
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 05:09 PM   #6
JRoDDz
macrumors 68000
 
JRoDDz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentaluproar View Post
The mini lacks an optical drive. Challenge accepted?

----------

Curious, does ripit create an iso?
Arrghh.. forgot the new mini's don't have optical drives
JRoDDz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 05:12 PM   #7
mentaluproar
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
I tried ripping that disk on an old Lennox laptop running a Windows app inside of wine. I got an ISO, but when I went to copy the damn thing, it would get to the end of file, then say that there wasn't enough space. This is while copying it to a 500 Gig drive. Is irritating as this is, I can't help but be impressed at copy protection. It's damn effective, and very clever.

----------

Linux, damnit. And why can't I edit that post? Tapatalk, you are beginning to piss me off.
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 08:21 PM   #8
ppc_michael
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via AIM to ppc_michael
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentaluproar View Post
I got an ISO, but when I went to copy the damn thing, it would get to the end of file, then say that there wasn't enough space. This is while copying it to a 500 Gig drive.

----------

Linux, damnit. And why can't I edit that post? Tapatalk, you are beginning to piss me off.
Was your 500GB drive formatted as FAT32? There's a 4GB file size limit with that file system that you may have been hitting.
ppc_michael is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 08:59 PM   #9
mentaluproar
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
mentaluproar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Changed format. Same problem.
__________________
Powered by OSX 10.9 Ocelot
Will someone please make a safari extension that gives us back the downvote button?
mentaluproar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 03:20 PM   #10
I AM THE MAN
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
If you have a windows computer, Magic DVD Ripper does the job quick and easy. Haven't had a problem with ripping any DVD yet.

Hope I help!
I AM THE MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 01:58 AM   #11
LincolnsiPod
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
For those who have ripped DVDs successfully, did any of these include ripping a DVD from one region for use in another?

I finally bought a DVD of a movie I've been searching for years for, but I had to get a region 2 version (I'm region 1 obviously). I'm looking to rip it to my MacBook's library to preserve it but I'm not sure of the best way of doing it (especially since I want to keep the subtitles too.) I'm trying to find out if I can then burn it back onto blank DVD that's either region free or 1.

I've never switched regions on my MBP (2010), so I have 5 chances to switch them back and forth if necessary for this DVD if that makes it easier to make a copy.
LincolnsiPod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 02:04 AM   #12
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
I use an external DVD drive to rip the discs via RipIt. The DVD drive is region-free and doesn't have riplock firmware so it will rip a full disc in 10 to 15 minutes.

I then throw the rips in Handbrake's queue and let it go while I'm at work or at night.

Works fine.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble ripping DVDs, but not BDs Michael CM1 Apple TV and Home Theater 4 May 14, 2014 11:09 PM
What's the best app for ripping DVDs? Z8beema Mac Applications and Mac App Store 8 Mar 26, 2014 09:01 PM
Any suggestion for ripping DVDs to iPhone 5? EvelynW iPhone 21 Dec 26, 2012 11:38 AM
Ripping DVDs Bhunt Apple TV and Home Theater 25 Oct 29, 2012 01:25 PM
ripping DVDs to itunes KMC1993 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jun 28, 2012 09:43 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC