Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:44 AM   #1
rhfreelance
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Time Capsule as router no. 2

Hi there

I have a router already, but as i have a large home it doesn't cover all rooms. I have a ethernet cable from that router, to the other end of my house. Can I connect Time Capsule to that cable (from the router) and use it as router no. 2?

Thanks a lot in advance,
Rasmus Henriksen
rhfreelance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:49 AM   #2
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Take a look at this link. I have had some success with it.

If not, then what make is the other router? Is it able partake in WDS?
__________________
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 05:00 AM   #3
rhfreelance
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stridemat View Post
If not, then what make is the other router? Is it able partake in WDS?
Thanks for your answer - I am not sure i understand this

Another question: is the Time Capsule a good solid and secure router to use?
rhfreelance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 05:42 AM   #4
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhfreelance View Post
Thanks for your answer - I am not sure i understand this
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wireles...ibution_system

Basically if you have two routers that have WDS then they can automatically act as repeaters / extenders. All Apple routers have this, and only some other manufacturers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhfreelance View Post
Another question: is the Time Capsule a good solid and secure router to use?
It's as secure as any other, and I find it easier to use with the Airport Utility software installed on your Mac.
__________________
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 05:46 AM   #5
rhfreelance
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Ah I see, I have a Linksys WRT610N.. Can't find any specifications that mentions WDS..

Okay, great - in case that Time Capsule can reach all rooms, I'll just switch to that one..
rhfreelance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 05:49 AM   #6
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhfreelance View Post
Ah I see, I have a Linksys WRT610N.. Can't find any specifications that mentions WDS..

Okay, great - in case that Time Capsule can reach all rooms, I'll just switch to that one..
Have you tried the link in my first post? Basically it forms the same large wireless network.
__________________
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 05:54 AM   #7
rhfreelance
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by stridemat View Post
Have you tried the link in my first post? Basically it forms the same large wireless network.
I haven't got the Time Capsule yet - I just wanted to hear my options when it arrives :-) But I'll defenetly try your guide..
rhfreelance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 11:54 AM   #8
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
In my experience, the Apple router usually prefers to be the first in line with your modem connection. You will probably want to enable bridge mode (which turns off routing) on the secondary router, so as not to run into a double NAT (Network Address Translation). Weird things can happen with double NAT so it is best to just avoid it entirely.
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC