Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 28, 2012, 09:24 PM   #1
Synergie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Halifax, Canada
Daily Gadget Giveaways?

On Facebook, a very sketchy page seems to be 'giving away' tons of free apple products to random people who 'like' and share their page and photos. In the contact info, they list Macrumours website...

Just checking to see if this site is in fact associated with the above FB giveaways. Because they seem to me to have all the markings of a scam. No winners are ever posted (until recently) and I suspect those are not even real. They often link to sites that try to get you to sign up to numerous SMS subscription services that cost quite a bit...

ANyway if you are not associated with this, you should know that your site is being used to make them seem more legit.

https://www.facebook.com/OnlyFreeProducts
__________________
My iToyz: 13" MBP (2.9 GHz Ci7, 8Gb RAM; 500Gb Hybrid HDD; OSX Lion) 1Tb Time Capsule iPhone4s 32Gb White Factory Unlk'd iPad2 32Gb White WiFi iCloud Paid 20Gb
Synergie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 10:13 PM   #2
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Definitely a scam. I took a post at random, and the spelling & grammar is shocking:

Hit the Like button if you want to win next

Congrats to Emily Stewart from Germany on winning our Christmas iPad giveaway! Hope we made Santa's job alot easier
Want to be the next winner? it's Easy Like our facebook fan page to be updated on our latest giveaways ! http://www.facebook.com/onlyfreeproducts


[/B]
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 01:12 AM   #3
Macman45
macrumors G4
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
If something is too good to be true, then it IS...
__________________
Time And Tide Wait For No Man
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:47 AM   #4
SandboxGeneral
Demi-God (Moderator)
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
MacRumors doesn't promote giveaway's on Facebook or on the site itself. I've never seen Arn mention anything like it before.
__________________
Random Access Memories ~ daft punk
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 04:08 PM   #5
Synergie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Halifax, Canada
I know it's likely to be a scam... which i why I wanted to inform Macrumours that the scammers are using the macrumours website to make it look legit.
__________________
My iToyz: 13" MBP (2.9 GHz Ci7, 8Gb RAM; 500Gb Hybrid HDD; OSX Lion) 1Tb Time Capsule iPhone4s 32Gb White Factory Unlk'd iPad2 32Gb White WiFi iCloud Paid 20Gb
Synergie is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 05:29 PM   #6
annk
macrumors goddess
 
annk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Synergie View Post
I know it's likely to be a scam... which i why I wanted to inform Macrumours that the scammers are using the macrumours website to make it look legit.
Thank you - I've passed the info on to arn.
annk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 03:40 PM   #7
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
looks like it got pulled

arn
arn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 03:33 PM   #8
sdcountry
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Still there

It is still there. Still saying that this is there website. Why do people do that? How are they going to scam people? Just doesn't make any sense anymore.
sdcountry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 10:02 PM   #9
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdcountry View Post
It is still there. Still saying that this is there website. Why do people do that? How are they going to scam people? Just doesn't make any sense anymore.
I don't see them linking it to MacRumors anymore

arn
arn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Privacy / DMCA contact / Affiliate and FTC Disclosure
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC