Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 2, 2013, 01:39 PM   #1
DeafRaiders
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Can't rip Blu-ray using Handbrake

I want to rip my Die Hard blu-ray Disc for my long train journeys to work. I tried ripped with Handbrake i get this error:

First it was this:
Quote:
[19:26:20] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[19:26:20] macgui: Handbrake Version: 0.9.8 x86_64 (2012071800)
[19:26:22] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[19:26:22] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[19:26:22] macgui: hbInstances path to this instance: /Volumes/HandBrake-0.9.8-MacOSX.6_GUI_x86_64/HandBrake.app
[19:26:22] macgui: hbInstance found instance pidnum:1918 at path: /Volumes/HandBrake-0.9.8-MacOSX.6_GUI_x86_64/HandBrake.app
[19:26:22] macgui: hbInstance MATCH FOUND, our pidnum is:1918
[19:26:22] macgui: Pid for this instance:1918
[19:26:22] macgui: HBQueueController : My Pidnum is 1918
[19:27:17] macgui: trying to open video_ts folder (parent directory chosen)
[19:27:17] macgui: Preview: Disabling HUD Controls
[19:27:17] macgui: Minimum length of title for scan: 900000
[19:27:17] hb_scan: path=/Volumes/DIE_HARD_1_F1, title_index=0
[19:27:17] scan: BD has 45 title(s)
[19:27:17] bd: scanning title 1
[19:27:17] bd: playlist 00001.MPLS
[19:27:17] bd: duration is 02:12:07 (7927920 ms)
[19:27:17] bd: video id=0x1011, stream type=H.264, format 1080p
[19:27:17] bd: aspect = 1.77778
[19:27:17] bd: audio id=0x711100, lang=English (DTS), 3cc=eng
[19:27:17] bd: audio id=0x1100, lang=English (DTS-HD MA), 3cc=eng
[19:27:17] bd: audio id=0x1101, lang=Italiano (DTS), 3cc=ita
[19:27:17] bd: audio id=0x1102, lang=Espanol (DTS), 3cc=spa
[19:27:17] bd: audio id=0x1103, lang=English (AC3), 3cc=eng
[19:27:17] bd: audio id=0x1104, lang=English (AC3), 3cc=eng
[19:27:17] bd: chap 1 packet=960, 141391 ms
[19:27:17] bd: chap 2 packet=521217600, 96387 ms
[19:27:17] bd: chap 3 packet=974722944, 74157 ms
[19:27:17] bd: chap 4 packet=1300920960, 57891 ms
[19:27:17] bd: chap 5 packet=1540017984, 101101 ms
[19:27:17] bd: chap 6 packet=1880238720, 247205 ms
[19:27:17] bd: chap 7 packet=2867510592, 79788 ms
[19:27:17] bd: chap 80 packet=243228096, 6006 ms
[19:27:17] bd: chap 81 packet=246974976, 6006 ms
[19:27:17] bd: chap 82 packet=250705728, 6006 ms
[19:27:17] bd: chap 83 packet=254622528, 6006 ms
Second this:
Quote:
[19:27:17] bd: title 3 has 96 chapters
[19:27:17] bd: scanning title 4
[19:27:17] bd: playlist 00004.MPLS
[19:27:17] bd: duration is 00:00:33 (33033 ms)
[19:27:17] bd: video id=0x1011, stream type=H.264, format 480i
[19:27:17] bd: aspect = 1.33333
[19:27:17] bd: audio id=0x1100, lang=English (AC3), 3cc=eng
[19:27:17] bd: chap 1 packet=768, 32032 ms
[19:27:17] bd: chap 2 packet=77316096, 1001 ms
[19:27:17] bd: title 4 has 2 chapters
[19:27:17] bd: scanning title 5
followed by a bit of this:
Quote:
[19:27:17] bd: scanning title 45
[19:27:17] bd: playlist 00048.MPLS
[19:27:17] bd: duration is 00:00:01 (1001 ms)
[19:27:17] bd: ignoring title (too short)
[19:27:17] scan: decoding previews for title 1
[19:27:17] scan: title angle(s) 1
libbluray/bluray.c:397: TP header copy permission indicator != 0, unit is still encrypted? (0x10281c000)
[19:27:18] Warning: Could not read data for preview 1, skipped
libbluray/bluray.c:397: TP header copy permission indicator != 0, unit is still encrypted? (0x10281c000)
[19:27:18] Warning: Could not read data for preview 2, skipped
libbluray/bluray.c:397: TP header copy permission indicator != 0, unit is still encrypted? (0x10281c000)
[19:27:19] Warning: Could not read data for preview 3, skipped
libbluray/bluray.c:397: TP header copy permission indicator != 0, unit is still encrypted? (0x10281c000)
libbluray/bluray.c:208: _queue_event(2, 0): queue overflow !
[19:27:38] Warning: Could not read data for preview 10, skipped
[19:27:38] libhb: scan thread found 0 valid title(s)
[19:27:38] macgui: ScanDone state received from fHandle
I then googled it up then tried MakeMKV still not ripping. I guess there is no way of bypassing the copyright security??
__________________
iPod Nano 1st Gen | iPad 16GB 1st Gen (wifi+3G) | iPhone 5 16GB (Currently using iPhone 4) | iMac Late 2012 (1st iMac) | iPad Mini with Retina Display

Last edited by DeafRaiders; Jan 2, 2013 at 01:39 PM. Reason: Had to shorten it too many characters
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 01:56 PM   #2
youasked
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
do you have a BluRay reader hooked up via USB (or anything else)
youasked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 01:59 PM   #3
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
You need the VLC runtime, also get the Nightly Build of Handbrake.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 02:19 PM   #4
DeafRaiders
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Quote:
Originally Posted by youasked View Post
do you have a BluRay reader hooked up via USB (or anything else)
I do I have Panasonic UJ260 blu-ray reader/Burner
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 02:34 PM   #5
Julien
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafRaiders View Post
I do I have Panasonic UJ260 blu-ray reader/Burner
(most) Blu-ray's have AACS, BD+ and HDPC copy protection. HandBreak can't read/strip this so you need a specialized program like MakeMKV to remove it before you can use HandBreak.
Julien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 02:39 PM   #6
DeafRaiders
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julien View Post
(most) Blu-ray's have AACS and HDPC copy protection. HandBreak can't read/strip this so you need a specialized program like MakeMKV to remove it before you can use HandBreak.
I've tried that it came up with cant do it but it still produced the file on in the home folder /movies
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 02:47 PM   #7
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafRaiders View Post
I've tried that it came up with cant do it but it still produced the file on in the home folder /movies
MakeMKV should not have a problem decrypting that title. I would like to suggest a good disc cleaning and a re-try.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 02:50 PM   #8
melbri
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I use MakeMKV for my blu rays, but when I run into a stubborn disc, I turn to AnyDVD in Bootcamp.
melbri is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 04:18 PM   #9
DeafRaiders
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
MakeMKV should not have a problem decrypting that title. I would like to suggest a good disc cleaning and a re-try.
Okay got the mkv file from MakMKV now how do i put subtitles with on handbrake I did force 3 subtitles from the DVD. What is the iphone 5 screen aspect ratio?
__________________
iPod Nano 1st Gen | iPad 16GB 1st Gen (wifi+3G) | iPhone 5 16GB (Currently using iPhone 4) | iMac Late 2012 (1st iMac) | iPad Mini with Retina Display
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 04:39 PM   #10
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafRaiders View Post
Okay got the mkv file from MakMKV now how do i put subtitles with on handbrake I did force 3 subtitles from the DVD. What is the iphone 5 screen aspect ratio?
No, idea what you're talking about (iPhone...)? You need the aspect ratio? Why?

You can only burn-in subtitles from the dvd. No "soft" subs. If you want soft subtitles (able to select and turn on/off), you have to add subtitle srt files using HB. Subtitle srt files can be downloaded from various internet sites. Since it would seem you are still trying to learn the process, unless it is absolutely necessary, I would wait on subtitles. They tend to be a PITA.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 05:10 PM   #11
DeafRaiders
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
No, idea what you're talking about (iPhone...)? You need the aspect ratio? Why?

You can only burn-in subtitles from the dvd. No "soft" subs. If you want soft subtitles (able to select and turn on/off), you have to add subtitle srt files using HB. Subtitle srt files can be downloaded from various internet sites. Since it would seem you are still trying to learn the process, unless it is absolutely necessary, I would wait on subtitles. They tend to be a PITA.
The subtitles are necessary as I am Deaf (hetch my username) I know subtitles can be PITA with Handbrake. I used to do it in windows failed miserable. I prefer to use Freemake which for windows so I've installed paralells for that
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 05:12 PM   #12
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafRaiders View Post
The subtitles are necessary as I am Deaf (hetch my username) I know subtitles can be PITA with Handbrake. I used to do it in windows failed miserable. I prefer to use Freemake which for windows so I've installed paralells for that
Do you need multiple subtitles or just one in you're language that can be burned in? Do you need CC or just subtitles?
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 05:22 PM   #13
DeafRaiders
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
Do you need multiple subtitles or just one in you're language that can be burned in? Do you need CC or just subtitles?
Just one language subtitles and close captions are the same.
I know I can get them from opensubtitles website but I tho makemkv can get them output subtitles as srt
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 05:29 PM   #14
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafRaiders View Post
Just one language subtitles and close captions are the same.
I know I can get them from opensubtitles website but I tho makemkv can get them output subtitles as srt
Good, no srt needed. If you only need one, then you can burn it in using HB. Very easy. Just load your file into HB, pick your preset (aTV, iPhone, iPad, etc), go to the subtitles tab and select the subtitle track that you want to burn in and make sure only "burned in" is checked.

If you don't know which of the 3 subtitle tracks that are in the mkv you want. Use something like VLC media player (free) to view the movie. Under the video pull down menu, you will see the 3 subtitle options. Select each one until you find the one you want, then make note of which it is 1, 2 or 3. Use that for the subtitle track selection in HB.

Makemkv will not provide you with srt files, they will be VOBSUB. You can convert them to srt with a great deal of effort...you don't want to go there. But...if you really want to and you work on a mac, I can help you accomplish it.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 06:09 PM   #15
DeafRaiders
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
Good, no srt needed. If you only need one, then you can burn it in using HB. Very easy. Just load your file into HB, pick your preset (aTV, iPhone, iPad, etc), go to the subtitles tab and select the subtitle track that you want to burn in and make sure only "burned in" is checked.

If you don't know which of the 3 subtitle tracks that are in the mkv you want. Use something like VLC media player (free) to view the movie. Under the video pull down menu, you will see the 3 subtitle options. Select each one until you find the one you want, then make note of which it is 1, 2 or 3. Use that for the subtitle track selection in HB.

Makemkv will not provide you with srt files, they will be VOBSUB. You can convert them to srt with a great deal of effort...you don't want to go there. But...if you really want to and you work on a mac, I can help you accomplish it.
I go to the subtitles tab and no tracks of subtitles are coming up. I can't remember what it states I'll try again tomorow
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 06:14 PM   #16
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafRaiders View Post
I go to the subtitles tab and no tracks of subtitles are coming up. I can't remember what it states I'll try again tomorow
In the window where it says "none", click the little up/down triangles to the right and it should list whatever subtitles are in the mkv. If it doesn't then there is a problem with the mkv. Also, I am assuming you are doing regular dvd not a blu-ray.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 03:00 AM   #17
DeafRaiders
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
In the window where it says "none", click the little up/down triangles to the right and it should list whatever subtitles are in the mkv. If it doesn't then there is a problem with the mkv. Also, I am assuming you are doing regular dvd not a blu-ray.
That's correct there's none shown maybe it should just select one subtitles than 3 English one? It is a blu-ray disc I know the difference.

Time for round 3!!
__________________
iPod Nano 1st Gen | iPad 16GB 1st Gen (wifi+3G) | iPhone 5 16GB (Currently using iPhone 4) | iMac Late 2012 (1st iMac) | iPad Mini with Retina Display
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 09:02 AM   #18
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafRaiders View Post
That's correct there's none shown maybe it should just select one subtitles than 3 English one? It is a blu-ray disc I know the difference.

Time for round 3!!
The stable version of HB does not support BR PGS subtitles, however, the Nightly versions do. The Nightly version is sort of a beta but usually works as good as the stable version. If you are doing an mkv ripped from a BR, I would suggest downloading it from here: https://build.handbrake.fr/view/Nightlies/
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 12:12 PM   #19
DeafRaiders
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
The stable version of HB does not support BR PGS subtitles, however, the Nightly versions do. The Nightly version is sort of a beta but usually works as good as the stable version. If you are doing an mkv ripped from a BR, I would suggest downloading it from here: https://build.handbrake.fr/view/Nightlies/
Thanks that worked nicely!!!
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 12:20 PM   #20
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafRaiders View Post
Thanks that worked nicely!!!
You're welcome!
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2013, 02:19 PM   #21
Jonnyfrieds
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
ripping blurays and subtitles with hanbrake

I am haveing a similar problem. I want to rip blurays using handbrake and i finally figured out how to do it correctly but I cannot rip subtitles. I don't even see any subtitle options in the subtitles menu on HB. I dont want to rip as an mkv because my computer does not play those. i use Anydvd HD to decode the blurays.
Jonnyfrieds is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mp4 File Size from Blu Ray Rip in Handbrake jetmaster114 Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Sep 28, 2013 01:30 PM
Blu-ray Handbrake Rip is 720p jetmaster114 Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Sep 26, 2013 01:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC