Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:13 AM   #1
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
Auto-complete, a new forum feature?

I was just noticing something as I was typing in some responses that a little pop-up appeared showing the word I was starting to type and it also said "tab to execute".

Is this a new feature or one I've never noticed before? Or could it be a feature of Google Chrome?

I couldn't get an actual screen shot from Windows because when I selected the Snipping Tool, the pop-up disappeared. Had to use the iPhone camera instead.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo (5).JPG
Views:	46
Size:	836.4 KB
ID:	392243  
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:16 AM   #2
sammich
macrumors 601
 
sammich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sarcasmville.
Pretty sure that would be a client side extension. It would be a moderately heavy service to provide for, bandwidth-wise.

Although, an autocomplete wouldn't be the worst idea
__________________
Official MR IRC
Look at me, I'm own a bunch of things and everyone must know about every single one.
sammich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:21 AM   #3
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
I was just noticing something as I was typing in some responses that a little pop-up appeared showing the word I was starting to type and it also said "tab to execute".

Is this a new feature or one I've never noticed before? Or could it be a feature of Google Chrome?

I couldn't get an actual screen shot from Windows because when I selected the Snipping Tool, the pop-up disappeared. Had to use the iPhone camera instead.
Are you using PhraseExpress in Windows?
__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:24 AM   #4
SandboxGeneral
Thread Starter
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
Quote:
Originally Posted by OllyW View Post
Are you using PhraseExpress in Windows?
Why yes I am.
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:24 AM   #5
r2shyyou
macrumors 68000
 
r2shyyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Is this a new feature or one I've never noticed before? Or could it be a feature of Google Chrome?
Doesn't work for me on my trusty Windows XP machine here at work.

Also, twenty-five tags?? Mods get all the "fun" features.
__________________
"kkkkkkkk ....ok" - iphone4s16gb
r2shyyou is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:26 AM   #6
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Why yes I am.
I've also had a few similar pop-ups since they recently updated the app.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:28 AM   #7
SandboxGeneral
Thread Starter
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rigel IV
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2shyyou View Post
Doesn't work for me on my trusty Windows XP machine here at work.

Also, twenty-five tags?? Mods get all the "fun" features.
Wow, I hadn't noticed that before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OllyW View Post
I've also had a few similar pop-ups since they recently updated the app.
I tend to forget I have the app running [in Windows] since it's tucked away in the task bar. When I'm on my Mac, I have TextExpander up on the screen so I know it's running.
__________________
It's true, we are aliens. But what are you going to do about it? It's a two-party system. You have to vote for one of us.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Site and Forum Feedback

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto-Complete To: <address> in Mail infantrytrophy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Mar 9, 2014 12:18 AM
iTunes Auto-Complete HoddzDJ Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 23, 2013 06:17 AM
iPad Safari web bar auto complete Devie iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jun 13, 2013 12:32 PM
Office auto complete LastZion Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Feb 1, 2013 10:55 AM
Turnoff Safari Address Auto Complete jusacruiser Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Oct 21, 2012 08:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC