Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 28, 2013, 07:38 AM   #1
Wicked1
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
ATV out of Warrnaty, need to Clone HDD

Ok, so have a 160GB ATV and I want to backup the drive or Mirror it to another in case the drive fails, otherwise Apple would swap it and Charge me $99 for a replacement.

Ideally I would love to Clone the drive with a 250 and plop that in, in case the 160gb dies.
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 12:57 PM   #2
spacepower7
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2004
Search some of the older AppleTV 1 threads. There should be plenty, but also a long thread with people discussing updating the internal HD to larger drives.
spacepower7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 01:25 PM   #3
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
AtvCloner if you have a mac which your sig suggests. You will need a pata to usb adapter to hook it up to your mac.

Here is the app though might have issues with Mountain Lion ( I am on Lion so haven't tested it yet).

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/29510955/AtvCloner_2_0.zip
dynaflash is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 02:49 PM   #4
AppleComputer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cupertino, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked1 View Post
Ok, so have a 160GB ATV and I want to backup the drive or Mirror it to another in case the drive fails, otherwise Apple would swap it and Charge me $99 for a replacement.

Ideally I would love to Clone the drive with a 250 and plop that in, in case the 160gb dies.
A clone is not needed, you can use swiss army knife to create a factory install of atv os from mac within os x.

I did this when my ATV original HDD died, popped in a new one and ran through these steps with a usb drive and os x computer, very simple procedure.

http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?ti...from_Mac_OS_X)

http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?ti...g_the_Apple_OS
__________________
||XServe 3.0GHz Quad Core Xeon || Mac Mini C2D 1.83GHz ||Powerbook G4 Titanium 1.0 GHz || iPhone 4s 32GB Black ||

Last edited by Nermal; Feb 18, 2013 at 03:58 PM. Reason: fixed broken link
AppleComputer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:34 PM   #5
Steve247
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: in the 'burbs of Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleComputer View Post
A clone is not needed, you can use swiss army knife to create a factory install of atv os from mac within os x.

I did this when my ATV original HDD died, popped in a new one and ran through these steps with a usb drive and os x computer, very simple procedure.

http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?ti...from_Mac_OS_X)

http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?ti...g_the_Apple_OS
Step 1 is blank! [Mod note: fixed]

Does this solution allow for a replacement drive to be like a factory restored aTV or does it install an alternative OS?

Thanks

Last edited by Nermal; Feb 18, 2013 at 03:59 PM. Reason: fixed broken link
Steve247 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 03:46 PM   #6
AppleComputer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cupertino, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve247 View Post
Step 1 is blank!

Does this solution allow for a replacement drive to be like a factory restored aTV or does it install an alternative OS?

Thanks
It is a factory clone, I did the same procedure when replacing my drive.
__________________
||XServe 3.0GHz Quad Core Xeon || Mac Mini C2D 1.83GHz ||Powerbook G4 Titanium 1.0 GHz || iPhone 4s 32GB Black ||
AppleComputer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clone rMBP SSD to 2.5 HDD enclosure Alag28 Mac Basics and Help 5 Feb 5, 2014 08:22 AM
Can you Clone to Same Size HDD? doubledee Mac Basics and Help 12 Sep 18, 2013 10:23 AM
iMac HDD failed.... can I clone it to new HDD? Alpha male iMac 4 Dec 30, 2012 10:57 AM
I qualify for a new HDD, help me clone my current drive Resqu2 iMac 4 Dec 28, 2012 11:45 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC