Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:53 PM   #1
Navare
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Power Mac G4 (Digital Audio) CPU upgrade

Hello folks

First time poster here and pretty much a Mac novice, I bought a 533MHz (single CPU) G4 Digital audio desktop from a company I used to work for and got a little bored with it so loaned it to my parents to "Silver surf" and play with, is now been returned to me and I'm wondering what to do with it.....

I would like to use it as an Audio/Video Media box and I'm wondering about CPU upgrades, I'm seeing a fair few on eBay different models, Dual CPU and very powerful single CPU and I'm wondering what I can use with my motherboard?, is there a comp chart someone can list for me or advise? I don't wanna go to crazy on power or money as I'm out of work right now but I want to boost the box, I'm already ordering more memory to max out at 1.5GB (1.12GB right now)and a DVD Rom so I can buy/load Leopard (OS X 10.4.11 right now) and upgrade all software and I'm looking at a 64MB graphics card....so those are the easy bits...

What CPU can I use please?

Many thanks in advance

N.

Last edited by Navare; Jan 31, 2013 at 06:04 PM.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:57 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
You can use any G4 except for a Quicksilver or Mirror Drive Door (MDD) or XServe one. Basically any Sonnet, PowerLogix, or Apple OEM (except for those mentioned above) will work. For a quick powerful video card, I suggest the Nvidia GeForce 6200.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 09:35 PM   #3
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Thanks Intell

Just a follow up how do I tell from those listed on eBay what's a Silver or MDD?
I've looked at the images and most look as if the will not fit compared to the size of my current daughter card and where the memory socket is

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359603274.678960.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	100.0 KB
ID:	393702

Thanks again

N.

Last edited by Navare; Jan 30, 2013 at 09:42 PM.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 09:42 PM   #4
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
MDD, Xserve, and Quicksilver G4's are not square or rectangular. They have a part of the CPU that sticks out. Here are some examples of various G4 CPUs you can look at:
A MDD/Xserve - http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-820-14...item589b895ade
A Quicksilver - http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-PowerM...item589b4c3e9e
A square/rectangle one - http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-G4-Pro...item3f08405821

Of those three, only the square/rectangle ones are compatible with your machine. Most third party (about 90%) are the square/rectangle kinds that will work in your machine.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:11 AM   #5
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
You can use most of QS CPUs in DA without problems. Only problematic one I've found is dual 800 which doesn't activate L3 cache when used in some DA machines. Dual 1.0 and 933 single are safer choice. You need to supply additional power to the CPU and install CPU fan, like in QS or 667/733 DAs.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:17 AM   #6
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
OWC [macsales.com] have single 1.8GHz or dual 1.6GHz G4 CPUs for DA models for $170-$340, new. I think they're made by Sonnet. That's what I'm looking at, one day, in the future, for my 466MHz DA G4.
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro - 2.4GHZ - 16GB RAM - Radeon 6770M 1GB - 750GB
Jethryn Freyman is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:32 AM   #7
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Hmm I see (I Think)

Is there anyway of back engineering Apple part numbers to be sure as contacting the sellers hasn't helped to clear up compatibility yet prior to purchase....would any of the following fit a G4 DA without issues?

630-4678
630-4531
820-1344

Respectfully

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:38 AM   #8
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navare View Post
Hmm I see (I Think)

Is there anyway of back engineering Apple part numbers to be sure as contacting the sellers hasn't helped to clear up compatibility yet prior to purchase....would any of the following fit a G4 DA without issues?

630-4678
630-4531
820-1344

Respectfully

N.
Of above only 820-1344. Rest is for MDD and won't fit. 820-1344 is even overclockable to 1.07 GHz.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:56 AM   #9
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Hmm thanks 666sheep

There is a 820-1344 800MHz on eVilbay for not too silly money....can I ask how easy/what's involved in over clocking as you eluded too my friend?

Kind regards

N.

----------

Gods now I'm really loosing it 820-1344 is listed as Quicksilver and Intell is saying above to avoid Quicksilver CPU's.....I'm loosing the plot now rapidly.....

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:47 AM   #10
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navare View Post
Hmm thanks 666sheep

There is a 820-1344 800MHz on eVilbay for not too silly money....can I ask how easy/what's involved in over clocking as you eluded too my friend?

Kind regards

N.

----------

Gods now I'm really loosing it 820-1344 is listed as Quicksilver and Intell is saying above to avoid Quicksilver CPU's.....I'm loosing the plot now rapidly.....

N.
To clarify things:
820-1344 933 MHz with 2MB L3 (from QS 2002) can be OC'ed to 1.07 (requires soldering). This is the best single QS CPU. Second one is 867 MHz w/ 2MB L3. This one doesn't OC that high.

I guess that Intell meant CPUs that will work plug'n'play.

QS CPUs do require some light mods to work in DA:
- supplying 12V power to the 4th hole of CPU daughtercard
- adding CPU fan (see 733 DA or any QS for instance)
- QS CPU heatsink
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:52 AM   #11
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Hi 666sheep

Thanks for the clarification....I'm not really that hands on to handle the mods you suggest....so will stick to standard or Sonnet upgrades rather than QS....but I'm allot wiser now....just trying to decide if I should bite the bullet and order a sonnet from China

Kind regards

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:01 AM   #12
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
I'm far from encouraging you to do these mods, but it's quite simple when you can solder. It would be perfect if you'd score 7448 single CPU card, but they are rare and pricey. For best bang for buck, look for 7455 based upgrade. These are usually clocked lower than 7447 ones but L3 cache does its job very well. 1.4 7455 will outperform 1.6 and even 1.8 7447 easily.

Edit: some CPU upgrades require firmware update. Ensure that one you'll buy will have needed updater included on a CD (if it needs it OFC). It's hard to obtain updater sotware for some CPUs these days.

Last edited by 666sheep; Jan 31, 2013 at 07:08 AM.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 08:36 AM   #13
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Sheep is right. The Quicksilver CPU's will work, but you'll need to do some extra work first.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 12:32 PM   #14
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
You can use any G4 except for a Quicksilver or Mirror Drive Door (MDD) or XServe one. Basically any Sonnet, PowerLogix, or Apple OEM (except for those mentioned above) will work. For a quick powerful video card, I suggest the Nvidia GeForce 6200.
Intell
Are all the Nvidia GeForce 6200 AGP cards powermac compatible my friend? Rookie question I know...

Many thanks

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:34 PM   #15
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navare View Post
Intell
Are all the Nvidia GeForce 6200 AGP cards powermac compatible my friend? Rookie question I know...

Many thanks

N.
Yes, they are compatible with all PowerMac G4's expect the the first PCI only one and the MDD one. You'll have to flash your own or buy a pre-flashed one because no Mac version of this card ever existed. You'll also have to tape off two of the pins (easy to do, Google how). But in return you'll get one of the fastest video cards that your machine can use.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:48 PM   #16
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Erm mines a G3 fella?...how do I flash it?

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:52 PM   #17
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Your machine is a G4. You need a x86 PC with an APG slot to flash it.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:48 PM   #18
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Ah yeah my bad....It is in fact a G3 Digital Audio S/N CK101H75K6W

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 05:54 PM   #19
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
That's a G4. There never was a G3 Digital Audio and Apple didn't make G3 PowerMacs in 2001 and there never was a G3 PowerMac with an AGP slot.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 3:16 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:16 PM   #20
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
As Intell said, it's a G4 (more specifically, this G4).

If it was a G3, it would look like this:
Thumb resize.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 06:23 PM   #21
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Ah crap....ill get the hang of this soon....lol

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:02 PM   #22
MisterKeeks
macrumors 68000
 
MisterKeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Navare View Post
Ah crap....ill get the hang of this soon....lol

N.
As long as you know the serial number, you can find the specs of most any Apple product using everymac.com. Sometimes the data is spotty/incorrect, but you get the gist of what things are.
MisterKeeks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 07:50 PM   #23
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Hi MisterKeeks

I've done that now and got every scrap of system info....cheers

N.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 09:03 AM   #24
Navare
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Stoke on Trent
Hello folks

Well just goes to show what hard work and good Karma can bring.....currently in transit to me now is a Sonnet Encore/ST 1.2GHz single CPU taken directly from a G4 DA machine...$60 shipping included

My Boot Rom is up to date and I've ordered my Heat sink thermal past remover/re applicator and an additional 2x 60mm cooling fans to improve casing ventilation.

So my first big upgrade begins.....thank for all the advice and I will post some pictures in due course

Warmest regards

Navare.
Navare is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Mac: Power Mac G4 466MHz Digital Audio gavinstubbs09 PowerPC Macs 16 Apr 30, 2014 08:35 AM
G4 Digital Audio graphics upgrade? Navare PowerPC Macs 19 Feb 3, 2013 11:45 AM
Digital audio upgrade Zeke D PowerPC Macs 15 Aug 17, 2012 11:57 PM
Can I upgrade a Mac Pro 4,1 CPU with a 3,1 CPU? cbt3 Mac Pro 11 Jul 30, 2012 08:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC