Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 5 and earlier

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 14, 2011, 10:45 PM   #76
Alonzo84
macrumors 6502a
 
Alonzo84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by sn View Post

You are a star. It worked. Kind of annoying that this is the solution though as I have always used my gmail account (which my iTunes was signed in with) for iTunes purchases, and my mobile me (which my phone was signed in with) for syncing calendars, bookmarks etc. I guess this means that, if I have to choose one to have them both signed in with, I will lose functionality of the other?

Either way, thanks for helping me out, was losing hope! Very grateful.

miKe.Tomb: glad you found your solution too! Thanks for sharing!


p.s., thanks to everyone else who tried to help. much appreciated.
I am logged in to my MobileMe/iCloud @me.com account for iCloud services (mail, contacts, calender, etc.) and my old gmail AppleID for iTunes (music and app purchases) simultaneously. So far everything works as it did before iCloud. I make iTunes purchases under my old AppleID and everything else is synced just like it was with MobileMe.
Alonzo84 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2011, 12:55 AM   #77
PeterOz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Smile it works, YEAH

Hi

I had the same problem and after searching for hours I finally have got it to work.
THANKS YOU mike.tomb. You suggestions fixed the problem.
I am no able to use wife sync
PeterOz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2011, 01:07 AM   #78
RedRallyeZ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Well I also have the MobileMe/other Apple ID for purchases scenario going on, however, my bigger problem is that iTunes isn't even seeing my phone when its USB'ed in. nothing under the devices, let alone wifi sync.
__________________
13" MBP ('12) | Mini ('12) 2.3QC | iPhone 6 64 Gray AT&T | iPad Air 2 128 Gray AT&T | AppleTV 2&3 | Time Capsule 2TB AC
RedRallyeZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2011, 04:09 AM   #79
donnaw
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin TX
I have a Win 7 64-bit install. I was having the same issue. Now my laptop I sync to is located in the back bedroom by the router. But it is connected via wifi. I usually use my iPad in the living room (about 30' or so away) but I have a strong signal.

When I look ay the "iTunes WiFi sync" it says it will sync when the laptop becomes avaliable. I have iTunes set up to sync via WiFi, and my Apple ID and iCloud I'd are identical and iTunes is closed.

What I found was that my WiFi signal apparently is not strong enough when I'm in the living room. When I walk back to the bedroom it becomes avaliable. Just to be sure I plugged my iPad in last night in that bedroom and it worked automatically.

Don't know about anybody else but it worked for me. Problem is I don't like having to put my iPad back there every night or so. I'll just walk it back every so often and manually sync via Settings.
donnaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2011, 07:51 AM   #80
bassanoclapper
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Wireless sync works for my iP4 but not my iPad

Edit: iTunes Tick box wasn't selected. Sorry, false alarm
__________________
3.4 GHz 27" iMac | iPhone 6 | iPad mini | TV

Last edited by bassanoclapper; Oct 15, 2011 at 08:06 AM.
bassanoclapper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2011, 01:56 PM   #81
m021478
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Was having the same problem and resolved it by consolidating my previous configuration of multiple iCloud accounts into a single account. Syncing now works for me for the first time!
__________________
Please don't tell me to "search the forums" before posting. I can assure you that I already have!
m021478 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2011, 02:03 PM   #82
sn
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alonzo84 View Post
I am logged in to my MobileMe/iCloud @me.com account for iCloud services (mail, contacts, calender, etc.) and my old gmail AppleID for iTunes (music and app purchases) simultaneously. So far everything works as it did before iCloud. I make iTunes purchases under my old AppleID and everything else is synced just like it was with MobileMe.
Actually, everything seems fine for me too. Surprised but not complaining!
sn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2011, 11:11 AM   #83
adesinacat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Sorry if this is already posted.

I got this same problem when I upgraded to Lion on my Mac. I did a restore on my iPod Touch, restarted my computer, restarted the iPod... What seemed to have gotten everything going again was I reset my network. I have a system of Airports over my house and a full, in order with modem, reset got things working. You may want to add a restart to iTunes if you have a network hard drive like me before you try the wireless sync.

Hope this helps someone is this pickle.
adesinacat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2011, 10:03 PM   #84
AndreyI
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Maybe found a solution

Try running the Remote App to control iTunes (need to set up homesharing)
Strangely the sync does work when I run the app and iTunes detect my iPhone over Wi-Fi now.
AndreyI is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 05:02 AM   #85
kvizzel
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I know it's old, but I had the same problem.

A restart fixed everything! Now I can sync without being plugged in.
kvizzel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2012, 02:26 PM   #86
JoeShades
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Williamstown, NJ
it is very unreliable, itunes has to be restarted often
JoeShades is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2012, 09:33 AM   #87
mjod
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Smile Check your Firewall/Antivirus

My iMac started fine but wifi sync suddenly stopped after a few days.

I read that it may be a problem with my firewall (I'm using Intego virus barrier with Mac Firewall). I looked up my iPhone's IP address on the router and then opened terminal (Mac OSX Lion) and typed ping 192.168.2.17 - the iPhone's address. No reply.

I then opened Intego virus barrier and there was the iPhone address in blocked addresses as having attacked my Apple! I deleted it then added it to trusted addresses and suddenly wifi sync works again. I find this puzzling as I have Intego firewall switched off, but it works so I'm happy!
mjod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 12:21 PM   #88
DavidOrtiz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
It was a bug! Issue solved

Quote:
Originally Posted by sn View Post
So I've done all the obvious stuff:

- Updated to iTunes 10.5
- Updated to iOS 5
- Updated to OS X 10.7.2
- Synced my iPhone fully before I tried Wi-Fi Sync
- Selected the "Sync with this iPhone over Wi-Fi" option in iTunes
- Connected iPhone to power

And, when I go to Settings > General > iTunes Wi-Fi Sync on my iPhone, the "Sync Now" button is greyed out and beneath it it says "Sync will resume when "Sushil's Macbook Pro" is available".

Other than this I'm really happy with iOS 5 but this is the only thing that's really bugging me!

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Sushil
I had the exact same problem I tried everything and gave up. I just downloaded the new IOS 6.1 on my iPad, restarted iTunes on my PC and solved the sync button on my iPad turned dark, I pressed it and it started to sync all my music, apps, etc. I hope this works for you too. Best of luck!
DavidOrtiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 5 and earlier

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes "Alternative" with an iPhone companion app to sync to? Glassed Silver Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Nov 7, 2013 05:25 PM
"Mirror"/Sync Macbook air and iMac Knisse Mac Basics and Help 3 Nov 6, 2013 12:57 PM
iTunes bug? iPhone won't sync because "there is not enough free space" sportsfrk214 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Jun 27, 2013 08:01 AM
Problems with Google Sync on my iPhone 4 - "connection to the server failed" beyondthesmile iPhone 12 Mar 4, 2013 08:04 AM
iTunes Sync "App Name" failed to sync. misterjay iOS 6 0 Dec 4, 2012 08:38 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC