Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2013, 09:18 AM   #1
mikeandashley
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Angry Help with my iPhone!!! Please!!!

I just bought a jailbroken phone. It was working great. Then I got a message about a software update. I did not know that you could not do this on a jailbroken phone. Please excuse my ignorance of this. So I clicked it and then my phone went to a black screen with the white apple icon for 9 seconds and then goes completely blank for 3 seconds. I have not backed up my phone. I do not care about losing the data, as I had almost nothing on it anyway. All I want is to get it back to being able to work. Can anyone help me, please!!
Thank you:
mikeandashley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 09:24 AM   #2
Tyler23
macrumors 601
 
Tyler23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeandashley View Post
I just bought a jailbroken phone. It was working great. Then I got a message about a software update. I did not know that you could not do this on a jailbroken phone. Please excuse my ignorance of this. So I clicked it and then my phone went to a black screen with the white apple icon for 9 seconds and then goes completely blank for 3 seconds. I have not backed up my phone. I do not care about losing the data, as I had almost nothing on it anyway. All I want is to get it back to being able to work. Can anyone help me, please!!
Thank you:
Restore it through iTunes should be all you need.
Tyler23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 09:27 AM   #3
mikeandashley
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thank you for getting back to me. The problem is that I never backed it up with iTunes, since I recently got it.
mikeandashley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 09:35 AM   #4
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
You don't need to have it backed up to the computer in order to do a restore via itunes

Note: you would most likely have to update to iOS 6.1, which there is currently no jailbreak available
darricksailo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 09:36 AM   #5
Givmeabrek
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NY
See if you can restore as new with iTunes. Should work.
Givmeabrek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 09:57 AM   #6
cambookpro
macrumors 68040
 
cambookpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Berks, England
FWIW, 6.1 jailbreak should be released Sunday, so not long to wait to rejailbreak.
cambookpro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:12 AM   #7
Tyler23
macrumors 601
 
Tyler23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeandashley View Post
Thank you for getting back to me. The problem is that I never backed it up with iTunes, since I recently got it.
You can restore the phone as new without having ever backed up. You said you don't mind losing everything that's on the phone (which is good because you will - you have no backup), but other than that a full restore will get your phone working again just fine.

Since you were trying to update the software, I'm assuming you also don't care much about the phone being jailbroken. If that's the case, you should be good to go. If not, as another user mentioned a jailbreak will hopefully be available by this weekend.

Also, in the future, backup (to both iTunes and iCloud)
Tyler23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:19 AM   #8
Interstella5555
macrumors 603
 
Interstella5555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
This is why we can't have nice things.
Interstella5555 is offline   12 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:20 AM   #9
Tyler23
macrumors 601
 
Tyler23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interstella5555 View Post
This is why we can't have nice things.
One upvote just isn't enough for this.
Tyler23 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 01:07 PM   #10
PrestonWard
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeandashley View Post
I just bought a jailbroken phone. It was working great. Then I got a message about a software update. I did not know that you could not do this on a jailbroken phone. Please excuse my ignorance of this. So I clicked it and then my phone went to a black screen with the white apple icon for 9 seconds and then goes completely blank for 3 seconds. I have not backed up my phone. I do not care about losing the data, as I had almost nothing on it anyway. All I want is to get it back to being able to work. Can anyone help me, please!!
Thank you:
you are in a boot loop. Hold down the homebutton and plug it into the computer. Preform a restore which will require you to update. There is not much you can do about your data since you did not back it up, however if you use icloud you can restore from its backup.
PrestonWard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:51 PM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeandashley View Post
Thank you for getting back to me. The problem is that I never backed it up with iTunes, since I recently got it.
So take this as a lesson learned.
Anything you had on it is gone but since you didnt have it that long it probably wasnt too much there.
From now on back it up on itunes here and there. Its a good habit.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:22 AM   #12
mikeandashley
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thank you all for the responses. So I did the whole restore thing and now it is on the loop thing again. So it shows the white apple with the black screen for 9 seconds and then all black for 3 seconds.
mikeandashley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 05:36 AM   #13
mikeandashley
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I tried to restore and on the 3rd try it worked. Next problem is that since I bought the phone jailbroken I do not have the original SIM card. Is there anything that I can do about this?
mikeandashley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 05:40 AM   #14
Ann P
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
Are you stuck at activation screen? You can use any AT&T sim card to get past it, activated or not.
Ann P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 07:49 AM   #15
mikeandashley
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I have an O2 sim card since I live in Germany. My screen says,
"SIM Not Valid
Only compatible SIM cards from a supported carrier may be used to activate iPhone. Please insert the SIM card that came with your iPhone or visit a supported carrier's store to receive a replacement SIM card.

I was hoping that I could do this on my own without going to the store here in Germany since I got the phone in the US.
mikeandashley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 07:57 AM   #16
1080p
macrumors 68000
 
1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Planet Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeandashley View Post
I have an O2 sim card since I live in Germany. My screen says,
"SIM Not Valid
Only compatible SIM cards from a supported carrier may be used to activate iPhone. Please insert the SIM card that came with your iPhone or visit a supported carrier's store to receive a replacement SIM card.

I was hoping that I could do this on my own without going to the store here in Germany since I got the phone in the US.
The phone is locked to a US carrier. Which carrier did it come from?
__________________
2012 Mac Mini Quad Core i7 | 10.10 Yosemite Public Beta| iPhone 4S (interim) | Synology NAS
"There will be no 5.5" iPhone 6." - Prediction by 1080p
1080p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:28 AM   #17
mikeandashley
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I am not sure what carrier it came from as it was bought on Ebay. If I can get a hold of a SIM from AT&T to use just for the activation, would anything happen to that SIM card, like anything be erased or changed on it? Or would it stay the same so that it could still be used just like before with everything still the same as before I used it to activate my phone? Then I would just need to rejailbreak it correct? Any suggestions on how to do that? I have downloaded redsn0w, should that be pretty easy to use? As I said I am not a very techy person?
Thank you very much.
mikeandashley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 04:42 AM   #18
UnwiredTech
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
If AT&T you can buy an unlocking code fairly cheap around $14 .99.
UnwiredTech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 05:52 AM   #19
mikeandashley
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
An unlocking code, how do I go about buying one of those and is it pretty simple to use?
mikeandashley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 06:17 AM   #20
UnwiredTech
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeandashley View Post
An unlocking code, how do I go about buying one of those and is it pretty simple to use?
Try YouTube there are some tutorials on it.

Basically you will buy the code then they will email it you and yoi insert a new sim and it will ask for the unlocking code
UnwiredTech is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Considering 4.7" and 5.7" Screens for 2014 iPhone Models, iPhone 5S and Low-Cost iPhone Due in September MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 596 Feb 8, 2014 12:06 AM
Game Cheat for iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4, iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, iPod touch (3rd generation) Mjasa iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Sep 14, 2013 07:25 AM
New Colors Rumored for iPhone 5S and Lower-Cost iPhone, Dual LED Flash for iPhone 5S? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 125 May 28, 2013 11:41 PM
Game Cheat for iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4, iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, iPod touch (3rd generation) mja050 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Apr 8, 2013 08:22 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC