iphone 5 on tmobile - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:08 PM   #1
tbluhp
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
iphone 5 on tmobile

ok so the t-mobile 1900mhz is in my area alot of people I know get it but me no. I have verizon iphone 5 with a precut down micro sim card. Why can't I get good data only able to get EDGE others get 3g or 4g uisng tmobile iphone 5.
tbluhp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:11 PM   #2
dtbratt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stoney Creek, ON
T-Mobile is currently reframing their network. You just may not get it in your area.
__________________
dtbratt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:13 PM   #3
CEmajr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
The refarming process is still incomplete and a work in progress. Even in the markets that they have announced as "live" are not 100% yet. You will have to wait until they finish.
CEmajr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:14 PM   #4
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtbratt View Post
T-Mobile is currently reframing their network. You just may not get it in your area.
You mean like a picture?

I think you mean refarming..

OP: are you on prepaid or postpaid?
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:22 PM   #5
Ann P
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
They'll probably get to you. Right now I'm stuck in between two cities that get 3G/4G, while my own does not!
Ann P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:26 PM   #6
tbluhp
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
You mean like a picture?

I think you mean refarming..

OP: are you on prepaid or postpaid?
Hi I am on montly 4G prepaid postpaid if got would cost $300

Also dose it matter if it was the ATT or Verizon Phone.
tbluhp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:33 PM   #7
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Denver, CO
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbluhp View Post
Hi I am on montly 4G prepaid postpaid if got would cost $300
If you have a data plan, no matter if it's pre- or post-paid, you should be getting 3G on your iPhone. However, that isn't true if tmobile isn't done refarming their network in your area. Where do you live?

Doesn't matter, AT&T and VZW iPhones both work on T-Mobile's 3G network.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:53 PM   #8
Satnam1989
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Illinois
 
Both AT&T and Verizon iPhone 5 will Support T-Mobile HSPA+ (21mbps or if its DC-HSPA+ up to 42mbps "4G" Data Speeds), However if in near future T-Mobile launches LTE on band 4 and/or 7a (if im correct i know Verizon is on 700c) then Only AT&T iPhone 5 will support LTE.
Satnam1989 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:58 PM   #9
tbluhp
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
If you have a data plan, no matter if it's pre- or post-paid, you should be getting 3G on your iPhone. However, that isn't true if tmobile isn't done refarming their network in your area. Where do you live?

Doesn't matter, AT&T and VZW iPhones both work on T-Mobile's 3G network.
Funny I just got off the phone with a friend and when I did it showed up 3G then a second later went down to E. It must be my house. I think I will just stick with verizon or get a nexus 7 and see if I really get 4G?
tbluhp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 09:20 AM   #10
upnorth85
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
You will find wildly different feedback about the refarmed 1900 Mhz 3G network of T-mobile. Many were using exclusively Edge/2G for years and the mere sight of occassional 3G or infrequent 3G elates them. Then there are others who have had great Verizon experience and come to T-mobile to save money who will be very disappointed with the shoddy T-mobile network. Even though T-mobile claims over 100 million US population covered, they refuse to put up any 1900 Mhz 3G coverage maps. They are deliberately misleading customers of other networks by using 3G/4G on their coverage maps without specifying that this does not include iPhone coverage. I personally bought an iPhone 5 after Minneapolis was refarmed for 1900 Mhz frequency on 3G. What I got was frequent Edge coverage, dropped calls, frequent no network status. I finally moved back to my Samsung Galaxy S2 on T-mobile's 4G network, which I would say is pretty good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbluhp View Post
ok so the t-mobile 1900mhz is in my area alot of people I know get it but me no. I have Verizon iPhone 5 with a precut down micro sim card. Why can't I get good data only able to get EDGE others get 3g or 4g uisng tmobile iphone 5.
upnorth85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 with tmobile 30$ plan. Port num to google voice or tmobile? K1ngkev1n1 iPhone 11 May 14, 2013 05:49 PM
iphone on tmobile mayathelabrador iPhone 6 Oct 16, 2012 06:34 PM
iPhone 4s on tmobile Castiglioni iPhone 5 Sep 9, 2012 11:52 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC