Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:27 PM   #1
Squilly
macrumors 68020
 
Squilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: PA
Sprint is pathetic

Sprint is absolutely pathetic. Full bars and this is the speed I get?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	795
Size:	163.8 KB
ID:	394348  
__________________
iPhone 6 16gb Space Gray Sprint
Squilly is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:31 PM   #2
maxosx
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern California
Full bars are relatively meaningless. Meant to be nothing more than an estimate of signal strength, they've mislead millions of users. It has very little to do with the brand or model of phone, or service provider for that matter.

Around since the first cell phone, for all intents & purposes we'd be better off with just a single indicator letting us know the phones receiving a signal.
maxosx is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 09:39 PM   #3
posguy99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxosx View Post
Full bars are relatively meaningless. Meant to be nothing more than an estimate of signal strength, they've mislead millions of users.
And people have gotten (from somewhere) the idea that a stronger signal must mean the connection is faster. After all, the bandwidth available couldn't POSSIBLY have anything to do with the backhaul of whatever tower your phone might be talking to at the moment.

The only thing bars have to do with it is that when you have none, you probably don't have a connection to the tower.
posguy99 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:23 PM   #4
joshwithachance
macrumors 65816
 
joshwithachance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I used to witness speeds like that myself. It's just atrocious really. Switched to AT&T for the iPhone 5 and have been a happy camper ever since. Even with just HSPA+ I still pull around 5 mbps down.
__________________
rMBP paired with 27" ASUS MX279H monitor.
64GB iPhone 6 Plus (Verizon, Space Gray)
joshwithachance is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:38 PM   #5
CEmajr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Yeah Sprint is pretty bad. I remember when I had an unlocked 4S on T-Mobile Edge data and used to get the same data speeds as my friends who had the 4S on Sprint.
CEmajr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:46 PM   #6
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Looks like my schools internet when 500 people are connected via 6 DSL lines
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:52 PM   #7
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
it looks like there is something wrong with maybe the server youre connected to. i had a few speedtests look like that and it wasnt my verizon wireless or fios networks. it was a bad server. other times my graphs looked like that was when i was hit with the wifi bug. rebooting or shutting wifi on and off helped, as did resetting network settings.

before you blame sprint, change the test server and reboot the phone. those graphs arent steady and it looks like youre having some type of connection issue, not necessarily sprints network speed being the issue.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 6, 128GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
dictoresno is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 10:56 PM   #8
LoloBond
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshwithachance View Post
I used to witness speeds like that myself. It's just atrocious really. Switched to AT&T for the iPhone 5 and have been a happy camper ever since. Even with just HSPA+ I still pull around 5 mbps down.
Did the same with my family plans and we couldn't be happier! I know LTE is good and all, but for my music streaming HSPA+ is more than enough.
LoloBond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 11:00 PM   #9
dukedvl
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I had pretty bad speeds too but sucked it up because of the lower bill I pay with Sprint compared to Verizon/AT&T. Sprint LTE is rolling out in my area so I am a little happier now. These were speeds I had last week:

dukedvl is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 11:09 PM   #10
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
That's pretty good actually.
I seen slower speedtests from Sprint
Applejuiced is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 11:13 PM   #11
Mrg02d
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
I wonder if sprint is going to upgrade their 3G networks as well? I've got a 4s and never see over 2.2Mbps DL.
Mrg02d is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2013, 11:29 PM   #12
ValerieDurden
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrg02d View Post
I wonder if sprint is going to upgrade their 3G networks as well? I've got a 4s and never see over 2.2Mbps DL.
Every tower is getting upgraded for faster 3G and LTE capability.

My Sprint is actually really good right up there with Verizon for 3G speeds.
__________________
Nexus 5 Kitkat 4.4.4 [Sprint]
ValerieDurden is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:07 AM   #13
Dominicanyor
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValerieDurden View Post
Every tower is getting upgraded for faster 3G and LTE capability.

My Sprint is actually really good right up there with Verizon for 3G speeds.
Image
I hear that sprint has lte available in certain states.
Dominicanyor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:11 AM   #14
ValerieDurden
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominicanyor View Post
I hear that sprint has lte available in certain states.
They have it in 58 markets so far, my area should be getting it in the next few months.
__________________
Nexus 5 Kitkat 4.4.4 [Sprint]
ValerieDurden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:26 AM   #15
Dominicanyor
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
This is what I get.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	106.3 KB
ID:	394363  
Dominicanyor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:31 AM   #16
Johnnygogo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Sprint is awesome in Chicago. Live it and pay 110 for 2 phones. You gotta do your homework. Been with sprint since the Nextel merger and have always been a satisfied customer. No LTE=No Sprint. I thought everyone knew that
Johnnygogo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:33 AM   #17
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominicanyor View Post
This is what I get.
That's WiFi.
wordoflife is offline   13 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 09:21 AM   #18
upnorth85
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
The speed is you show is pathetic for 3G. Your speeds are in KbS. Divide by 1000 to get speed in Mbs. 2Mbs is barely 3G. Even T-mobile gets better 3G speeds than this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ValerieDurden View Post
Every tower is getting upgraded for faster 3G and LTE capability.

My Sprint is actually really good right up there with Verizon for 3G speeds.
Image
upnorth85 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 10:42 AM   #19
Dominicanyor
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wordoflife View Post
That's WiFi.
Yes it is. May be I should of turn off the wifi first then do the test.
Dominicanyor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 10:58 AM   #20
nanogirl21
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
How do you know if towers are being updated in your area?
nanogirl21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 11:31 AM   #21
SuperSnake2012
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY/PA
I'm also in PA, but in the Lehigh Valley. Sprint works great for me here.
__________________
15" rMBP 2.3/8/256, iPad 3 32, iPhone 4S 64g
SuperSnake2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 11:35 AM   #22
Johnnygogo
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Sprint has a map and website of what towers and cities are being upgraded. Or you could always call and ask. It's what I did before getting my iPhones
Johnnygogo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 12:45 PM   #23
ValerieDurden
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by upnorth85 View Post
The speed is you show is pathetic for 3G. Your speeds are in KbS. Divide by 1000 to get speed in Mbs. 2Mbs is barely 3G. Even T-mobile gets better 3G speeds than this.
2Mbps that I am getting is almost maxing out the CDMA standard, for CDMA it's actually fast. Obviously it does not compare to what GSM is capable of, but it's hardly slow.
ValerieDurden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:02 PM   #24
aliensporebomb
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
Send a message via AIM to aliensporebomb Send a message via Yahoo to aliensporebomb Send a message via Skype™ to aliensporebomb
Exclamation Nv

While the Network Vision rollout has hit parts of my town, I am not yet at LTE speeds in my area - however - the 3g speeds have been very respectable - this was from last night:



But the speeds I get on LTE locally are better arguably:



Or:



----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nanogirl21 View Post
How do you know if towers are being updated in your area?
See http://www.s4gru.com/
__________________
ASB Music Web is at http://www.aliensporebomb.com/
"This is Aliensporebomb" (a soundtrack with no film) is available at http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/thi...mb/id391880218
aliensporebomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2013, 01:54 PM   #25
CoMoMacUser
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nanogirl21 View Post
How do you know if towers are being updated in your area?
https://network.sprint.com
CoMoMacUser is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier: Any non-Sprint customers buy iPad Air with Sprint sim? blackjackmark iPad 0 Nov 5, 2013 09:23 PM
One Pathetic Ride... Dr. Stealth Wasteland 9 Sep 16, 2013 02:06 AM
phones: Is this pathetic? cuzo Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 14 May 23, 2013 11:18 AM
Fandroids are pathetic chrismarle Wasteland 3 Nov 13, 2012 02:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC