Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 8, 2013, 07:37 AM   #1
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I found some 16GB sticks will buy and test 2.

http://shopping.hp.com/en_US/home-of...&lang=en&cc=us


i purchased 2 of these. I will let you all know how they work.


32gb ram in a mini would be nice. even if you can't get 32gb maybe 16gb + 8gb = 24gb works

these quads read 32gb ram as max.


http://ark.intel.com/products/64889/...up-to-3_70-GHz

http://ark.intel.com/products/64900/...up-to-3_30-GHz



the dual can handle 32gb

http://ark.intel.com/products/65708/...o-3_10-GHz-BGA



oh the price i paid was under 500 for the pair. since all the cpus can handle 32gb I think the minis could do so.

once again this would be a specialty buyer as almost no user will push over 16gb very much.

but what an amazing amount of power in the quad.

next quarter the crucial 960gb ssd will come out. the quad could have a 1.96gb fusion with 32gb ram.

if you grab the refurb for 679 add the ram for 500 and the ssd for 600. you are at 1779 some tax and a cable you are at 1850 or so. yeah it is a lot but what a machine!

Last edited by philipma1957; Feb 8, 2013 at 07:54 AM.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 07:56 AM   #2
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
http://shopping.hp.com/en_US/home-of...&lang=en&cc=us


i purchased 2 of these. I will let you all know how they work.


32gb ram in a mini would be nice. even if you can't get 32gb maybe 16gb + 8gb = 24gb works

these quads read 32gb ram as max.


http://ark.intel.com/products/64889/...up-to-3_70-GHz

http://ark.intel.com/products/64900/...up-to-3_30-GHz



the dual can handle 32gb

http://ark.intel.com/products/65708/...o-3_10-GHz-BGA



oh the price i paid was under 500 for the pair

You'll have to let us know if they work! When the Haswell Mini's are released, I would love to buy a high end and drop in 32GB (since apparently Haswell is still expected to use DD3 for everything but the Xeons).
__________________
rMBP 11,2 15" 2.0Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 08:08 AM   #3
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Consumer Ivy Bridge doesn't support Registered memory - but 16GB SODIMM should be around the corner.

Quote:
Originally Posted by phillipma1957
almost no user will push over 16gb very much.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Gates
No one involved in computers would ever say that a certain amount of memory is enough for all time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by phillipma1957
1.96gb fusion
I'd rather install 2x480GB in RAID0 for the same price with the hard drive externally. Fusion Drives are only needed because SSDs are too expensive. If you have to pick between a 1TB SSD and a 1TB hard drive, you always pick the SSD for internal storage.

Last edited by Giuly; Feb 8, 2013 at 08:23 AM.
Giuly is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 08:17 AM   #4
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
Consumer Ivy Bridge doesn't support Registered memory.
does not mean they won't work.

I can get registered ram to work on quite a few windows mobos.

I also purchased from an easy return company.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 08:26 AM   #5
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
That might hold true for Socket 2011 (which isn't perfectly consumer), but mobile CPUs and Socket 1155 is another matter.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 08:32 AM   #6
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giuly View Post
That might hold true for Socket 2011 (which isn't perfectly consumer), but mobile CPUs and Socket 1155 is another matter.
I have had a 1155 socket and a 3770k work with registered ram.

As I said my seller will take a return so it is worth trying.

Last edited by philipma1957; Feb 8, 2013 at 10:23 AM.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 09:35 AM   #7
Mike Valmike
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chandler, Arizona
This is very cool, thanks for trying it and thanks in advance for sharing your results. I use a 2012 Mini as a point-of-sale server and more RAM means I can serve more client terminals faster without paging out because of whatever I'm doing on that unit (since the Mini itself is one of the terminals). It runs very well on 16GB, but if the architecture supports 32GB, I will get more useful life out of it.
Mike Valmike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 11:47 AM   #8
SVTmaniac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks for doing the experiment! When I was researching the specs on the i7 I saw that it said 32GB max and was curious if it would actually work in the Mini. Can't wait to see the results.
SVTmaniac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:01 PM   #9
Ice Dragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Ice Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Awesome find phil! I have been waiting for 16 GB SO-DIMMS to be released and didn't know if they would be out with DDR3 or DDR4.
Ice Dragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2013, 12:27 PM   #10
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Just waiting for them is killing me.


I also am on the fence about grabbing more then two.


I can get a pair at 470 for a short while.

which is high but no one has them less then 550 for a pair.

being a small business it is tough to decide.

I got burned when the 8gb sticks came out price collapsed on me as

buyers played the waiting game.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 06:14 PM   #11
iPhil
macrumors 68030
 
iPhil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: A$$hat free location,and helping Mac bring back teh sexy-ness era back
Send a message via AIM to iPhil
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post

next quarter the crucial 960gb ssd will come out. the quad could have a 1.96gb fusion with 32gb ram.
For $1,300 n change-- You can get 2.46 TB Fusion drive.. One HDD 1.5 TB and 960 GB SSD



All from Here
iPhil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 06:35 PM   #12
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iPhil View Post
For $1,300 n change-- You can get 2.46 TB Fusion drive.. One HDD 1.5 TB and 960 GB SSD



All from Here

the hdd is a very tight fit
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 06:35 PM   #13
COrocket
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Very cool. I immediately looked up the max ram available for the processors after I got my mini. This is the first time I've seen the 16 GB SODIMMS available, so I will be watching to see if they work. I was on the fence about buying the 2x8 GB or waiting until 1x16's came out and getting a pair.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini - i7 Quad Core 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM - 128 GB SSD
COrocket is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 06:37 PM   #14
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by COrocket View Post
Very cool. I immediately looked up the max ram available for the processors after I got my mini. This is the first time I've seen the 16 GB SODIMMS available, so I will be watching to see if they work. I was on the fence about buying the 2x8 GB or waiting until 1x16's came out and getting a pair.
they come on thur but i have a feeling that the listing is wrong and that they are 240 pin.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 08:57 PM   #15
Ice Dragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Ice Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
How did it work out phil? Was it the right ones?
Ice Dragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 09:45 PM   #16
MarkKato
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by COrocket View Post
Very cool. I immediately looked up the max ram available for the processors after I got my mini. This is the first time I've seen the 16 GB SODIMMS available, so I will be watching to see if they work. I was on the fence about buying the 2x8 GB or waiting until 1x16's came out and getting a pair.
From a cost factor, the 16GB DDR3s are still too expensive (for me). I recently paid $87 (w/tax) for a Corsair 2x8GB 1600 DDR3 set for my Mini.
MarkKato is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 11:04 PM   #17
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice Dragon View Post
How did it work out phil? Was it the right ones?

NO they were 240 pin.


the typo was on HP website.

THE photo shown was that of a 204 pin stick (laptop)


the seller was buy.com they copied the typo.
I did a return today.


Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkKato View Post
From a cost factor, the 16GB DDR3s are still too expensive (for me). I recently paid $87 (w/tax) for a Corsair 2x8GB 1600 DDR3 set for my Mini.
well not only were they costly. I paid 470 or so for 2x 16gb= 32gb

they

do not come in laptop form


As an aside if you look at the highend laptop from hp the envy these sticks are the most purchased component with that laptop. I can see the look on the faces of the envy owner when the over sized sticks arrive!

If they had existed a handful of users would need more then 2x 8gb = 16gb ram.

most users do not exceed 6g to 8gb ram even fewer go past 16gb ram.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 01:29 AM   #18
Omnius
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
NO they were 240 pin.


the typo was on HP website.

THE photo shown was that of a 204 pin stick (laptop)


the seller was buy.com they copied the typo.
I did a return today.




well not only were they costly. I paid 470 or so for 2x 16gb= 32gb

they

do not come in laptop form


As an aside if you look at the highend laptop from hp the envy these sticks are the most purchased component with that laptop. I can see the look on the faces of the envy owner when the over sized sticks arrive!

If they had existed a handful of users would need more then 2x 8gb = 16gb ram.

most users do not exceed 6g to 8gb ram even fewer go past 16gb ram.
On the mini, I found it uncommon to page out with 8gb. I would do it when working on multiple research projects simultaneously but otherwise it didn't happen. I've upgraded to 16gb on my main mini purely because the deal i got was too good ($65) and it allowed me to pass the 8gb of ram i previously used in it to my media mini which was paging out constantly with only 4gb.
__________________
Mac Mini 5,1, 2.3 ghz, 8GB RAM, 1.5TB (HTPC)
Mac Mini 5,2, 2.5 ghz, 16GB RAM, 500 GB HD, 256 GB SSD
iPhone 4S
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 09:39 AM   #19
philipma1957
Thread Starter
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnius View Post
On the mini, I found it uncommon to page out with 8gb. I would do it when working on multiple research projects simultaneously but otherwise it didn't happen. I've upgraded to 16gb on my main mini purely because the deal i got was too good ($65) and it allowed me to pass the 8gb of ram i previously used in it to my media mini which was paging out constantly with only 4gb.
I have found the same.

I only needed 16gb when I was running windows in vmWare on my quad core.

There are a few users that could use working 16gb sticks but not many.

Last edited by philipma1957; Feb 16, 2013 at 05:36 AM.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 07:45 PM   #20
Ice Dragon
macrumors 6502a
 
Ice Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Well thanks anyway for being the guinea pig for us phil. It sucks that 16 GB SO-DIMMS are not yet out.
Ice Dragon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 12:14 AM   #21
Omnius
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
I have found the same.

I only needed 16gb when I was running windows in vmWare on my quad core.

There are a few user that could use working 16gb sticks but not many.
I think most users would have the cpu running at maximum capacity on the dual cores before reaching 16gb. I've got a dual core mini and I think the benefits will be quite limited. I've got a number of work/personal/professional/academic projects taking place at the same time right now which might be the rare time I could really come close to maxing out the new 16gb of ram.

I really don't think is even reasonable on a machine with 4 cores. A 6 or 8 core machine is probably nearer to that threshold.
__________________
Mac Mini 5,1, 2.3 ghz, 8GB RAM, 1.5TB (HTPC)
Mac Mini 5,2, 2.5 ghz, 16GB RAM, 500 GB HD, 256 GB SSD
iPhone 4S
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
16GB RAM sticks marbeljoyce Mac Pro 6 Jul 16, 2013 06:08 PM
2008 Mac Pro - Why do 2GB sticks of server FB-DIMM RAM work but 4GB sticks do not? -PM- Mac Pro 2 May 17, 2013 11:11 AM
16GB sticks for MP 5,1 12 core? hattrck72 Mac Pro 2 Aug 1, 2012 09:41 AM
16gb sticks of memory Papst1981 MacBook Pro 5 Jul 5, 2012 12:30 AM
Why not to buy Micron sticks to Mac Pro 2008 Spacedust Mac Pro 6 Jun 11, 2012 08:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC