Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:50 AM   #1
Mat246
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
iPod Classic Corrupt (wont restore)

My iPod Classic 6 gen 80gb is corrupt according to iTunes and needs restoring, but whenever i restore it says the same thing. Ive tried erasing with disk utility then restoring but it doesn't help. Anyone got any advice to get it working?
__________________
Macbook | iPhone 5S | iPod Touch | iPad 3 | iMac G4 | iPod nanos
Mat246 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:51 AM   #2
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
It could be a sign of the hard drive failing.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:56 AM   #3
Mat246
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
I thought so, i guess theres no fix then
__________________
Macbook | iPhone 5S | iPod Touch | iPad 3 | iMac G4 | iPod nanos
Mat246 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:58 AM   #4
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mat246 View Post
I thought so, i guess theres no fix then
Actually yes it can be fixed. If you have an IBM PC, get the software called Spinrite along with a CF/IDE adapter and open the iPod and get the HDD out. Connect it with the adapter to a PC and run Spinrite on it. There is a testimonial on GRC.com about this being a success.

Spinrite is typically run on normal computer HDD's, but can just as easily fix an iPod HDD.

I use Spinrite all the time to fix HDD's and maintain them.

Below is my old MBP HDD in a Dell PC with Spinrite working on it.

Independent review of Spinrite (not me)

Thumb resize.

Thumb resize.

SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:01 AM   #5
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
I think those iPods have 1.8" HDDs and I don't think it a standard connector.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:05 AM   #6
Mat246
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
I don't have an IBM computer unfortunately, the iPod boots fine and i can scroll menus etc but then iTunes says its corrupted so i suppose theres not much i can do.
__________________
Macbook | iPhone 5S | iPod Touch | iPad 3 | iMac G4 | iPod nanos
Mat246 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:06 AM   #7
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mat246 View Post
I don't have an IBM computer unfortunately, the iPod boots fine and i can scroll menus etc but then iTunes says its corrupted so i suppose theres not much i can do.
Do you have a friend or family member who'd let you borrow their PC?
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:08 AM   #8
Mat246
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Do you have a friend or family member who'd let you borrow their PC?
I think i know someone who has a thinkpad actually, would this work with an iPod?
__________________
Macbook | iPhone 5S | iPod Touch | iPad 3 | iMac G4 | iPod nanos
Mat246 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:10 AM   #9
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mat246 View Post
I think i know someone who has a thinkpad actually, would this work with an iPod?
Probably, if you're comfortable enough with dismantling the laptop. I'd recommend a regular desktop PC to do it though.
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 10:23 AM   #10
Mat246
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UK
I think il just sell it, thanks for the help though.
__________________
Macbook | iPhone 5S | iPod Touch | iPad 3 | iMac G4 | iPod nanos
Mat246 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes library corrupted. Can I restore from iPod Classic? Bosco1950 iPod 4 Jul 5, 2014 09:48 PM
iPod 2G Wont restore: Error 1611 tried everything help! IpadSC400 iPod touch 15 Aug 3, 2013 11:52 AM
iPod touch 1st Gen wont restore lucasfer899 iPod touch 3 Jan 4, 2013 03:58 AM
Help me, iPod wont update/restore cindyloo iPod touch 4 Nov 28, 2012 02:26 PM
How can I make a new seperate backup file that ITunes wont corrupt? chris7777 iOS 5 and earlier 1 Jun 7, 2012 10:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC