Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:01 PM   #1
greekpaz22
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Verizon tethering-now enabled and free?

Odd thing today. I opened up settings and the tethering option is now on my phone-Verizon iPhone 4s. It functions perfectly.

I did not add any features, I just have a standard 2gb plan on a family plan.

Anyone else seeing this? Did Verizon change their policy or something odd on my end?
greekpaz22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:03 PM   #2
belvdr
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Not sure but it has been allowed on my Xoom for quite some time.
belvdr is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:05 PM   #3
nuckinfutz
macrumors 603
 
nuckinfutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Middle Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by greekpaz22 View Post
Odd thing today. I opened up settings and the tethering option is now on my phone-Verizon iPhone 4s. It functions perfectly.

I did not add any features, I just have a standard 2gb plan on a family plan.

Anyone else seeing this? Did Verizon change their policy or something odd on my end?
That would put it inline with their new policy on Verizon enabled iPads. You can tether for free.

It makes sense. If i'm buying metered storage why should I be charged more to tether?
nuckinfutz is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:07 PM   #4
Leonard1818
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
you're saying the personal hotspot feature now works free?
Leonard1818 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:08 PM   #5
cynics
macrumors 604
 
cynics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by belvdr View Post
Not sure but it has been allowed on my Xoom for quite some time.
Tablet data plans come with free tethering on Verizon.

I have a Verizon 4S and it doesn't have personal hotspot available. May want to check your bill.
cynics is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:14 PM   #6
Leonard1818
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cynics View Post
Tablet data plans come with free tethering on Verizon.
yeah, but note, we're in the iPhone section, not iPad...

----------

Well, I just went to "personal hotspot" and it gave me the option to go to the website or call *611 to enable this feature on my phone
Leonard1818 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:19 PM   #7
greekpaz22
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard1818 View Post
you're saying the personal hotspot feature now works free?
Yeah, that's the case with my phone. This just appeared today. I'm not jail broken or anything like that.

I agree they should let you do this since you pay for the data (metered) but was surprised to see the feature on my phone..
__________________
15 inch (matte) 2.4Ghz Penryn MacBook Pro 4G RAM; 8 GB iPod nano
iPhone 3G 16gb (black)
Obama'08
greekpaz22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:20 PM   #8
Leonard1818
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by greekpaz22 View Post
Yeah, that's the case with my phone. This just appeared today. I'm not jail broken or anything like that.

I agree they should let you do this since you pay for the data (metered) but was surprised to see the feature on my phone..
what does the menu look like? Can you take a screenshot? What happens when you hit "personal hotspot"?

Do you have an iPad on the same acct with tethering?
Leonard1818 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:25 PM   #9
greekpaz22
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard1818 View Post
what does the menu look like? Can you take a screenshot? What happens when you hit "personal hotspot"?

Do you have an iPad on the same acct with tethering?
No, I don't have an iPad with a cellular connection. The personal hotspot menu shows up the same as it would on an iPad though (I saw it on my friends iPad). Same functionality, flip it on and choose wifi, Bluetooth or USB..

Maybe I got lucky? I doubt it with VZ

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard1818 View Post
what does the menu look like? Can you take a screenshot? What happens when you hit "personal hotspot"?

Do you have an iPad on the same acct with tethering?
I would post the screenshot but dont know how to from my iPhone..help?
__________________
15 inch (matte) 2.4Ghz Penryn MacBook Pro 4G RAM; 8 GB iPod nano
iPhone 3G 16gb (black)
Obama'08
greekpaz22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:26 PM   #10
saberahul
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: On my iPad
Just hope they don't bill you for it... that'd ought to piss you off.
__________________
iPhone • iPad • MacBook Pro
saberahul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:27 PM   #11
cynics
macrumors 604
 
cynics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard1818 View Post
yeah, but note, we're in the iPhone section, not iPad...

----------

Well, I just went to "personal hotspot" and it gave me the option to go to the website or call *611 to enable this feature on my phone
Yes, I know. I was explaining to the member that brought up his android tablet why he had free tethering. Hence the quote....
cynics is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 06:28 PM   #12
Leonard1818
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
well, to take a screenshot you can hold the home button and hit the sleep/wake button. Then you have to put it on your computer and you can "attach" it to a post (look toward the bottom when you're posting something and click "manage attachments").

It's some work, so if you don't wanna, I don't blame you

Just interesting that you'd have it enabled!
Leonard1818 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 07:30 PM   #13
livspop
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Not the case for me...
livspop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 08:36 PM   #14
sulpfiction
macrumors 68030
 
sulpfiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard1818 View Post
well, to take a screenshot you can hold the home button and hit the sleep/wake button. Then you have to put it on your computer and you can "attach" it to a post.

It's some work, so if you don't wanna, I don't blame you
Actually, it's no work at all. Snap a screen shot and email it to yourself like any other pic. Then save the photo on your desktop or whatever and click on the paperclip in the MR reply window. Navigate to the pic and your done. The whole process should take about 20 seconds.

Now....

Pics or it didn't happen!
sulpfiction is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 08:58 PM   #15
wymi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Here's what I get, doesn't look free for me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2633.png
Views:	217
Size:	184.2 KB
ID:	337960  

Last edited by wymi; Apr 30, 2012 at 09:14 PM.
wymi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 09:07 PM   #16
chakraj
macrumors 65816
 
chakraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal
I know your password
__________________
Why am I here? “On action alone be thy interest,
Never on its fruits. Let not the fruits of action be thy motive, Nor be thy attachment to inaction.”
chakraj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 09:15 PM   #17
wymi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chakraj View Post
I know your password
Thanks for pointing that out. I'm sitting a Home with sore throat & fever so just about anything can get by me.
wymi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 10:16 PM   #18
mac.cali
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wymi View Post
Here's what I get, doesn't look free for me.
Why tether when you aren't even on 3G?
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus | iPad rMini | iPad 3 | MacBook Air | Apple TV | Airport Extreme
mac.cali is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 10:27 PM   #19
Apollo 13
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wymi View Post
Here's what I get, doesn't look free for me.
mines doesn't look like that. Look like it's available to you all you have to do is enable it. Mine shows "Set up Personal Hotspot" option and when i click the tab it tells me to call Verizon.
Apollo 13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 10:30 PM   #20
wymi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac.cali View Post
Why tether when you aren't even on 3G?
I'm at Home, 3g flips in and out. I didn't say I was interested in tethering. It's just an example pic of what I get on my phone. Hopefully the op can snap a screen shot in comparison to mine.
wymi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2012, 10:30 PM   #21
Lenned
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New York
Send a message via Skype™ to Lenned
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac.cali View Post
Why tether when you aren't even on 3G?
Smart, i didn't see that...
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Late-2008 Unibody, 2.8 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HD ; 16 GB iPhone 4S ; 32 GB iPod Touch 4th Gen ; Dell Dimension 4400 with Ubuntu Installed
Lenned is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 1, 2012, 03:57 PM   #22
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Normally, when your carrier hasn't enabled the "Personal Hotspot" feature on your account, you get the "Set Up Personal Hotspot" button before you even get into the menu (shown in the first two screenshots). Tapping the button will prompt you to contact the carrier (they can customise the message to add their web address/phone number).

The third screenshot shows how it should look when the account has been provisioned to use the service.

Some carriers hide the menu entirely when the customer isn't eligible to use the feature (e.g. on prepaid tariffs).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo 01-05-2012 21 53 05.png
Views:	78
Size:	142.7 KB
ID:	338083   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo 01-05-2012 21 53 42.png
Views:	106
Size:	344.7 KB
ID:	338084   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo 01-05-2012 21 54 12.png
Views:	88
Size:	186.3 KB
ID:	338085  

__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 09:41 PM   #23
luke-m31
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Tether iPhone to a Windows tablet?

Does anyone know if I can tether an iPhone with Verizon wireless to a Windows tablet?

If so, what iPhone and what Windows tablet? How about any other Verizon phone successfully tethering to a Windows tablet? If any can, please give details (phone model, tablet model, plans required with Verizon, etc.)

I mostly have to have Verizon in order to get service in the rural areas I work in (US Cellular is decent, but not as good as Verizon). Also, the apps I need to use on a daily basis....most of them are available only on a Windows operating system tablet....

Can anyone help? I don't wanna run out and buy a Windows tablet if I won't even be able to tether it to Verizon. I looked on Verizon's website and it didn't look like they are selling any Windows tablets...or else I'd just buy one with Data plan...although I'm behind a proxy that disables my Java Script and don't know if that makes Verizon's webpage not show all the available webpages...and I don't know how to enable Javascript on this proxy browser.
luke-m31 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2013, 10:21 PM   #24
maliu
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
If it can connect to WIFI there is no reason it shouldn't. It's not specific to any platform.
maliu is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Tethering with Verizon on 5S? jason2811 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Feb 14, 2014 12:38 AM
Carrier: Tethering with Verizon? jason2811 iPad 1 Nov 13, 2013 01:23 PM
Free tethering with Verizon iPhone 4 jb124 iPhone 0 Nov 5, 2013 07:17 PM
iPhone: Free Tethering on Sprint/Verizon Jimmy Guphanti Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 26 Nov 4, 2013 12:14 PM
iPad: Verizon iPad free tethering reckless2k2 iPad 2 Nov 7, 2012 03:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC