Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:39 AM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Microsoft Surface Pro Hacked to Run OS X...Maybe




Pureinfotech links (via Neowin) to a YouTube video claiming to show a 'Hackintosh' Surface Pro running OS X Mountain Lion. The new Surface Pro tablet, which runs full Windows 8, launched earlier this month starting at $899.

Comments on the YouTube video are largely skeptical, suggesting that it's simply a remote desktop connection to a Mac. However, there's no technical reason why a Surface Pro shouldn't be able to run a hacked version of OS X, and Neowin notes that Wi-Fi reportedly is not working on the machine. One of the main challenges with Hackintosh installations tends to be with drivers for functions like Wi-Fi, so its absence may lend some support to the legitimacy of the claim.

Article Link: Microsoft Surface Pro Hacked to Run OS X...Maybe
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:42 AM   #2
milo
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Cool that someone pulled it off but I don't really see the practical appeal when you compare it with say a Macbook Air, in terms of price, battery life, etc.
milo is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:44 AM   #3
chainprayer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Send a message via AIM to chainprayer
Safari seems... sluggish
chainprayer is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:44 AM   #4
gumblecosby
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
If a computer is x86 and fairly modern it has a good chance of running OS X. This shouldn't be a surprise. Methods for running OS X have become simpler as time goes on. EFI emulation , DSDT's and decrypters such as fakesmc.kext make it less painful now compared to the Tiger days.
gumblecosby is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:44 AM   #5
aarond12
macrumors 6502a
 
aarond12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Wow! Finally a reason to buy a Microsoft Surface!
__________________
Voted "Most likely to start his own cult" by my high school class.
aarond12 is offline   23 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:48 AM   #6
Nightarchaon
macrumors 65816
 
Nightarchaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I hope this is real, i can have the Hardware i want with the OS i want.

Apple, take a note, THIS is what the iPad Air could have been.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by milo View Post
Cool that someone pulled it off but I don't really see the practical appeal when you compare it with say a Macbook Air, in terms of price, battery life, etc.
If a macbook air had a touchscreen, and detachable keyboard/cover you'd be right.
__________________
iWatch in action http://media.joe.ie/wp-content/uploa...ael-Knight.jpg
MacBook Pro/iPad Mini/TV1/iMac/iPhone5
Nightarchaon is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:49 AM   #7
Tankmaze
macrumors 65816
 
Tankmaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
it does run a bit lag imo. could be using remote connection, but really whats the point in using this as OS X machine if it doesn't run smooth. and no wifi driver.
__________________
Check out our game Tank Maze
Tankmaze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:51 AM   #8
Nozuka
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Does OSX even support a touchscreen? How did he make that work?
Nozuka is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:53 AM   #9
pacalis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
MS Office on iPad is news. Not Apple guy bricks surface...
pacalis is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:55 AM   #10
Nunyabinez
macrumors 6502a
 
Nunyabinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Provo, UT
No real advantage here because OSX is not a touch aware OS. I have a Hackintosh that I use at home and it works great, but I have had to do some kludgy things to make it work. Like a Creative USB external sound card, and I just finally found a good wi-fi card for it.

If and when Apple moves to touch as part of OSX, the surface might be interesting, but as it is now, who would want a Surface with OSX? A MBA would be a much better choice.
__________________
27" iMac, 3.4 GHz i7; 15" MBP, 2.53 GHz Core 2 Duo; 13" MBA 1.7 GHz i5; iPad (3rd Gen), 16 GB; iPhone 5S; Hackintosh, 3.4 GHz i7 (2600k)
Nunyabinez is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 09:58 AM   #11
spyguy10709
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
There is, however a technical reason why it can't be done at the moment.

It has a secured bootloader that hasn't been cracked. ONLY Windows 8 is permitted to boot. There hasn't been a crack yet to the bootloader, so this is physically impossible!

Faker than fake.
(MAYBE it's OS X server running in a VM? totally possible. VMWare allows OSX server [not regular OS X] to be installed in a VM.)
__________________
Last edited by spyguy10709; Tomorrow at 07:10 AM.
spyguy10709 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:01 AM   #12
Nunyabinez
macrumors 6502a
 
Nunyabinez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Provo, UT
I posted before watching the video and I call complete BS. Since he is touching the screen there has to be some intermediary software turning the touch into something that OSX understands. You could not just install OSX on a device with touch and have anything happen unless you had drivers (Kext files) for that device to turn it into the equivalent of mouse events. This is almost certainly a remote desktop pretending to be a hackintosh.
__________________
27" iMac, 3.4 GHz i7; 15" MBP, 2.53 GHz Core 2 Duo; 13" MBA 1.7 GHz i5; iPad (3rd Gen), 16 GB; iPhone 5S; Hackintosh, 3.4 GHz i7 (2600k)
Nunyabinez is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:04 AM   #13
decimortis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Here
The Apple logo on the bezel looks all blocky and stuff.
__________________
rMBP 15: 2.4GHz/8GB RAM/256GB/Mac OS X 10.9.5
iPhone 5S: Space Grey 64GB
decimortis is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:05 AM   #14
gpat
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Italy
We all knew this would happen.
__________________
13" MBA 2013, Nexus 7 2013, LG G2 (oh noes i automatically become an apple hater)
(Sorry for bad english, not my mother tongue!)
gpat is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:22 AM   #15
Rampage Dev
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyguy10709 View Post
There is, however a technical reason why it can't be done at the moment.

It has a secured bootloader that hasn't been cracked. ONLY Windows 8 is permitted to boot. There hasn't been a crack yet to the bootloader, so this is physically impossible!

Faker than fake.
(MAYBE it's OS X server running in a VM? totally possible. VMWare allows OSX server [not regular OS X] to be installed in a VM.)
Its called Clover... know what you are talking about before posting. Thank you.
Rampage Dev is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:23 AM   #16
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
I'd rather have a MacBook Air than a Frankenputer that sort of runs OSX.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:24 AM   #17
Rampage Dev
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nunyabinez View Post
I posted before watching the video and I call complete BS. Since he is touching the screen there has to be some intermediary software turning the touch into something that OSX understands. You could not just install OSX on a device with touch and have anything happen unless you had drivers (Kext files) for that device to turn it into the equivalent of mouse events. This is almost certainly a remote desktop pretending to be a hackintosh.
Apple does have a generic touch driver in Mac OS X. If this is legit then I would assume that that would be the driver in use.
Rampage Dev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:32 AM   #18
aristotle
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightarchaon View Post
I hope this is real, i can have the Hardware i want with the OS i want.

Apple, take a note, THIS is what the iPad Air could have been.

----------



If a macbook air had a touchscreen, and detachable keyboard/cover you'd be right.
Are you out of your ever loving mind? That hardware has abysmal battery life and you cannot even use it with the keyboards in your "lap". It is a portable desktop as it requires a desktop in order to operate with a keyboard.
__________________
15" Retina MBP, 2.7 Ghz Quad Core i7, 16 GB RAM, 768 GB SSD (10.9.2)
24" iMac, 2.8 GHz, 4GB RAM, 320 GB HD; 128 GB iPad Air LTE (iOS 7.0.4); 64 GB iPhone 5S (iOS 7.1.1)
aristotle is offline   13 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:34 AM   #19
reden
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightarchaon View Post
I hope this is real, i can have the Hardware i want with the OS i want.

Apple, take a note, THIS is what the iPad Air could have been.

----------



If a macbook air had a touchscreen, and detachable keyboard/cover you'd be right.
I'm sure Apple is taking notes right now thanks to your comment, lol.
reden is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:37 AM   #20
notjustjay
macrumors 603
 
notjustjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
OS X is not a touch aware OS, no, but it is gesture aware, and if you look at features like Mission Control and Launchpad, you can't help but wonder if the next step will be to integrate touch.

I was really impressed with Surface when I had a look at it a while back. But, I think there are still issues. It is clearly not meant to be a touch-screen only interface; if you were to buy a Surface tablet without either the Touch Cover or the Type Cover, you're going to have a very hard time. To me, for regular apps, touching the screen can be a great, tactile, natural input method, but it must augment the keyboard/mouse/trackpad, not replace it. You're not going to get far using Photoshop or Excel using only the touch screen.
__________________
.
notjustjay is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:46 AM   #21
balamw
Moderator
 
balamw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New England, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyguy10709 View Post
It has a secured bootloader that hasn't been cracked. ONLY Windows 8 is permitted to boot. There hasn't been a crack yet to the bootloader, so this is physically impossible!
Not so for the Surface Pro:

http://www.zdnet.com/why-did-microso...ed-7000010935/

Quote:
"Like other Windows 8 machines, you can access BIOS settings and turn off secure boot, enabling you to load other OSes."
B
__________________
MBA (13" 1.7 GHz 128GB), UMBP (15" SD 2.8 GHz), UMB (13" 2.4 GHz), iMac (17" Yonah), 32GB iPad 3 WiFi+LTE, 64 GB iPad WiFi, 32 GB iPhone 5, Airport Extreme
balamw is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:48 AM   #22
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Is it using a BIOS or EFI?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 10:50 AM   #23
Rampage Dev
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
Is it using a BIOS or EFI?
Neither, UEFI BIOS.
Rampage Dev is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 11:35 AM   #24
Casiotone
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post
Comments on the YouTube video are largely skeptical...
I'm really surprised that this is the case.
Casiotone is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 11:44 AM   #25
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
If they do manage to make ML run flawlessly on the SP, I purchase one immediately.
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Announces Surface 2 and Surface Pro 2 MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 550 Oct 10, 2013 01:35 PM
Microsoft Slashes Price of Surface Pro Through August 29 Following Surface RT Price Cut MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 60 Aug 11, 2013 11:31 AM
tablets: Microsoft Surface Pro - WTF? poloponies Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 194 Dec 22, 2012 07:22 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC