Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 18, 2013, 05:11 PM   #1
knoppixeu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Unable to connect to wireless

Hi all,

I have been unable to connect to my wireless router for about a week now. I connected to my access point downstairs ( this works fine ).

However when I come upstairs I want to switch to the strong single.
I used to be able to connect to the wireless router just fine however it just seems to have stopped.

When trying to connect to this wireless router after 2 minute I get wireless connection timed out.

I have tried rebooting the router & my mac. I have also tried deleting the wireless device history from my mac however this also didn't work.

Can anyone help me please?
knoppixeu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2013, 05:22 PM   #2
Swiss-G
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoppixeu View Post
Hi all,

I have been unable to connect to my wireless router for about a week now. I connected to my access point downstairs ( this works fine ).

However when I come upstairs I want to switch to the strong single.
I used to be able to connect to the wireless router just fine however it just seems to have stopped.

When trying to connect to this wireless router after 2 minute I get wireless connection timed out.

I have tried rebooting the router & my mac. I have also tried deleting the wireless device history from my mac however this also didn't work.

Can anyone help me please?
Which router do you have and can anything else connect to it?

You can try running the wifi scanning tool in ML as follows

Hold down the Option[alt] key and click on the Wi-Fi menu bar icon
Select he last item on the list which is “Open Wi-Fi Diagnostics…”
Hit Command+N to bring up the Network Utilities screen which includes the wi-fi scanning tool.

Check to see if there are any other wifi networks in the area using the same channel as yours. The default for most routers is 1 or 11. If there are several networks on the same channel change it.
Swiss-G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 12:57 PM   #3
knoppixeu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiss-G View Post
Which router do you have and can anything else connect to it?

You can try running the wifi scanning tool in ML as follows

Hold down the Option[alt] key and click on the Wi-Fi menu bar icon
Select he last item on the list which is “Open Wi-Fi Diagnostics…”
Hit Command+N to bring up the Network Utilities screen which includes the wi-fi scanning tool.

Check to see if there are any other wifi networks in the area using the same channel as yours. The default for most routers is 1 or 11. If there are several networks on the same channel change it.
Its the BT Home Hub 3.
Other devices are able to connect just not this one!!

When connected to the access point I am able to ping just not get on the other wireless router via the web browser or connect :/.
knoppixeu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 02:23 PM   #4
Swiss-G
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoppixeu View Post
Its the BT Home Hub 3.
Other devices are able to connect just not this one!!

When connected to the access point I am able to ping just not get on the other wireless router via the web browser or connect :/.
Can you access the BT Home Hub 3 using an ethernet cable?

Have you tried changing the wireless channel of the BT Home Hub 3?
Swiss-G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:03 PM   #5
knoppixeu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiss-G View Post
Can you access the BT Home Hub 3 using an ethernet cable?

Have you tried changing the wireless channel of the BT Home Hub 3?
Yes I can connect using a ethernet cable. I know its not my hub.

Its something on the Mac book pro but I am not sure what.
knoppixeu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 05:36 PM   #6
Swiss-G
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by knoppixeu View Post
Yes I can connect using a ethernet cable. I know its not my hub.

Its something on the Mac book pro but I am not sure what.
The point of the post was to establish if you can access the admin page of the home hub.

If so change the wifi channel on the home hub to 6 and see if this improves things
Swiss-G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2013, 02:26 PM   #7
knoppixeu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiss-G View Post
The point of the post was to establish if you can access the admin page of the home hub.

If so change the wifi channel on the home hub to 6 and see if this improves things
Hi there, No I am not able to access the admin page on my Mac Book. But I can on other devices.

I have changed the WIFI channel and this does not doing anything.
knoppixeu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 12:41 PM   #8
knoppixeu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
BUMP Any idea :/?????
knoppixeu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 12:56 PM   #9
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
The BT Home Hub 3 has mediocre WiFi, reboot it, update its firmware, try a different WiFi channel.

Failing that try an AirPort Express setup as an access point.

Or

If it be used in bridge mode get a better WiFi router.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Unable to connect to TP-Link wireless router with iPad 2 crmpicco iPad 0 Nov 19, 2013 07:54 AM
Unable to connect to exchange server Br0wnP4nd4 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Nov 3, 2013 03:42 PM
Unable To Connect To Network Steve0492 Mac Basics and Help 0 May 12, 2013 09:53 PM
Wi-Fi unable to connect. Outkast27 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 23 Jan 14, 2013 03:28 PM
Unable to connect to certain websites MadDoc OS X 2 Jul 14, 2012 10:22 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC