Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:49 AM   #1
arogge
macrumors 65816
 
arogge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tatooine
FAHControl broken by OS X Security Update?

I installed OS X Security Update 2012-004, and when my last Folding@home work unit finished, the FAHControl client refused to download a new unit. I've tried deleting the client and reinstalling, but it still won't work. It says:

Status: Updating
Address: 127.0.0.1
Client: Updating Inactive

Occasionally, the screen will change the Status to something else, and my team name will display above a work unit that says "Running" for its status, but then it soon changes back to Updating Inactive and the Identity fields for Name and Team are switched to Anonymous and 0. When a "Running" unit appears, the Project field has some HTML code indicating an Error 500 server error. What did I screw up here?
arogge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2013, 03:21 PM   #2
Louis Wu
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by arogge View Post
I installed OS X Security Update 2012-004, and when my last Folding@home work unit finished, the FAHControl client refused to download a new unit. I've tried deleting the client and reinstalling, but it still won't work. It says:

Status: Updating
Address: 127.0.0.1
Client: Updating Inactive

Occasionally, the screen will change the Status to something else, and my team name will display above a work unit that says "Running" for its status, but then it soon changes back to Updating Inactive and the Identity fields for Name and Team are switched to Anonymous and 0. When a "Running" unit appears, the Project field has some HTML code indicating an Error 500 server error. What did I screw up here?
dunno, but I always try un-installing FAH, restarting, and re-installing. Hopefully there's an option to keep your data (like your passkey, which is a pain to re-enter) and reinstall the programs themselves; there is on the Windows side...

Good luck!

Louis
Louis Wu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:55 PM   #3
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
have you downloaded the latest client?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 10:58 PM   #4
arogge
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
arogge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tatooine
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
have you downloaded the latest client?
I downloaded fah-installer_7.2.9_i386 for Intel-based OS X.
arogge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2013, 11:38 PM   #5
arogge
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
arogge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tatooine
It fixed itself

My Folding client has decided to start downloading new work units and has restarted processing.
arogge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2013, 08:12 PM   #6
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by arogge View Post
My Folding client has decided to start downloading new work units and has restarted processing.
well that's good! maybe it was a server issue?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2013, 05:25 AM   #7
arogge
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
arogge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tatooine
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
well that's good! maybe it was a server issue?
The software has created two new Clients, labeled client0 and local. Both show a status of Online when running. The work unit description, currently 7808, still shows some HTML code indicating "500 Internal Server Error." Beats me.
arogge is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3,1 KP after the 10.9.2 Security Update? NOTNlCE Mac Pro 3 Apr 28, 2014 12:59 PM
Resolved: Security Update 2014-002 (Mavericks) BDM STUDIOS NL OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Apr 27, 2014 04:57 AM
Java 6.x security risk (?) vs Java 7.x and broken apps w/ v7.x installs? mgiamo Mac Basics and Help 1 Dec 15, 2013 04:48 PM
Last security update and Java applets mactoday Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 4 Mar 16, 2013 05:18 PM
Security Update 2012-004 is available Morod OS X 23 Sep 25, 2012 09:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC