Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 21, 2013, 05:06 AM   #1
twdi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Windows 7 on a macbook pro

I'm have plans to buy a retina MBP next week.
For hobby that's fine, but professionally I need to run Visual Studio 2010 on it for software developement.

So I'm thinking of running a windows 7 VM with Vmware on it. But... would it be a problem to miss the specific windows keys like the function keys etc?
twdi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 05:32 AM   #2
MacKid
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
The Function keys on your keyboard behave just like F1 through F12 in Windows. The Command (or "Apple") key behaves like the Windows key.

Is that what you were asking?
MacKid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 07:18 AM   #3
twdi
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
O thanks... I thought the mac keyboard did not had F-keys..
I'm still unknown to the Mac............

Thanks
twdi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 08:01 AM   #4
MacKid
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Happy to help. =) Anything else on your mind?
MacKid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 01:43 PM   #5
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by twdi View Post
O thanks... I thought the mac keyboard did not had F-keys..
...and you're going to buy one next week? Definitely read up online and check them out in person first. A quick Google search yields:


F keys are on the top row.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2013, 09:26 PM   #6
glenthompson
macrumors Demi-God
 
glenthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Virginia
In OS X the default is for the function keys to perform device specific tasks like volume, brightness, etc. you have to press the Fn key to access them as function keys. In windows they work fine as function keys.

Only problem I have is switching from cmd-c to ctrl-c for copy, paste, etc.
__________________
15" MBP (late 2011), iPhone 5
iPad Air, ATV3 Mac Pro 3,1
glenthompson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:19 AM   #7
Quantum3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
to pause a game is Fn+Esc. To content fill aware in Photoshop is Fn+Shift+F5, to open the brushes palette is Fn+F5... What else... To make the @ is right alt+2. Those shortcuts are the ones I found so far in Bootcamp.
__________________
- MacBook Pro 15" Late 2011.
- Radeon 1 GB
- 8 GB of RAM.
- HDD 750 GB + Portable WD HDD of 2TB.
Quantum3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 8/8.1 on MacBook Pro 5,5 Dj64Mk7 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Apr 19, 2014 06:10 PM
Resolution on Macbook Pro Retina Display using Windows 8.1 Pro KhangNghi Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Jan 20, 2014 12:25 PM
macbook pro or macbook air for windows? chamisool Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jun 11, 2013 02:24 PM
Buying macbook pro (retina) for windows primarily - pro/cons. aquablue MacBook Pro 4 Apr 10, 2013 08:46 PM
Windows 8 Pro tablet vs Macbook Air/Pro Arx0s Buying Tips and Advice 3 Oct 25, 2012 09:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC