Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2008, 05:59 PM   #1
Sawtooth811
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Windows XP on a PPC Mac

I've seen many people hack OS X on a PC. How can you install Windows XP on a Mac BESIDES Virtual PC, Boot Camp, Parallels, and all that crap? THERE HAS TO BE A WAY!
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 4TB (512GB SSD) X.10 DP5/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:04 PM   #2
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
No. There isn't. Sorry. Get an Intel. If your name is any indicator, it's time for an upgrade, anyway.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:05 PM   #3
killmoms
macrumors 68040
 
killmoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Send a message via AIM to killmoms Send a message via Yahoo to killmoms
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
I've seen many people hack OS X on a PC. How can you install Windows XP on a Mac BESIDES Virtual PC, Boot Camp, Parallels, and all that crap? THERE HAS TO BE A WAY!
Nope.

EDIT: Okay, just because you clearly need some education in this area, the reason people can "hack OS X on a PC" is because Macs ARE PCs now. There's nothing particularly special about their hardware compared to a run-of-the-mill PC, besides the fact that they use EFI instead of BIOS.

Boot Camp is really just a tool to partition the drive—there were several firmware updates for early Intel Macs' EFI firmwares to provide a BIOS-emulation mode so that Windows could run natively on them. So, Boot Camp is pretty much the same (in reverse) as what people are doing to make "Hackintoshes."

PPC Macs are left out in the cold because at a base level their hardware is not x86-based. PowerPC chips are a completely different architecture/instruction set, so to run x86 stuff on them you have to emulate an x86 CPU, which is slow. There's no PowerPC-compiled version of Windows XP, so you're out of luck.
__________________
thrillmoms.com - You know it.
Welcome to the family…
Mugi: Mid-2012 15" Retina MBP, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
Azusa: 64GB iPhone 5, Nagato: 16GB WiFi Retina iPad Mini
killmoms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:06 PM   #4
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
No. There isn't. Sorry. Get an Intel. If your name is any indicator, it's time for an upgrade, anyway.
Is it possible if I made my PPC mac "think" it's intel based processor? THEN will it work?
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 4TB (512GB SSD) X.10 DP5/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:14 PM   #5
superleccy
macrumors 6502a
 
superleccy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: That there big London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
Is it possible if I made my PPC mac "think" it's intel based processor? THEN will it work?
No, it won't.

Although I am curious to know how you'd make your PPC Mac think it is Intel... and how you'd know once you'd achieved this.

SL
__________________
2009 15" MBP: 2.66GHz C2D; 8GB RAM; 500GB SSD; 9600M GT; 20" Cinema Disp.
Switched Nov '04.
superleccy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:15 PM   #6
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
Is it possible if I made my PPC mac "think" it's intel based processor? THEN will it work?
LOL.

Take it to a cheap motel and waterboard it until it swears it's an Intel processor?
yellow is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:15 PM   #7
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by killmoms View Post
Nope.

EDIT: Okay, just because you clearly need some education in this area, the reason people can "hack OS X on a PC" is because Macs ARE PCs now. There's nothing particularly special about their hardware compared to a run-of-the-mill PC, besides the fact that they use EFI instead of BIOS.

Boot Camp is really just a tool to partition the drive—there were several firmware updates for early Intel Macs' EFI firmwares to provide a BIOS-emulation mode so that Windows could run natively on them. So, Boot Camp is pretty much the same (in reverse) as what people are doing to make "Hackintoshes."

PPC Macs are left out in the cold because at a base level their hardware is not x86-based. PowerPC chips are a completely different architecture/instruction set, so to run x86 stuff on them you have to emulate an x86 CPU, which is slow. There's no PowerPC-compiled version of Windows XP, so you're out of luck.
Yeah, but I saw someone hack PANTHER on a PC, and of corse thats 100% PPC Based. It's just dumb that XP is full of x86 support crap. I totally forgut that PPC doesn't support x86.
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 4TB (512GB SSD) X.10 DP5/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:15 PM   #8
ReanimationLP
macrumors 68030
 
ReanimationLP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: On the moon.
Unless you're a god of programming and have full access to the source code for Windows XP, you're *********.

I'm sure you can find a cheap Pentium III or 4 PC on Craigslist.

Then just get a KVM, and swap between the two.

And on hacking Panther, that was probably Panther running in PearPC.

Keep up your threads though, I always enjoy your humorous questions.
__________________
"For what am I living?"
I want to shout it out loud. Can you hear me?


Stuff for Sale :3
ReanimationLP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:18 PM   #9
MrT8064
macrumors 6502a
 
MrT8064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
if you WERE to use virtual PC, on a PPC mac, on a 1.33ghz iBook with 1.5gb ram, i only really found it good for solitaire, nothing more!

you can get an intel machine pretty cheaply on ebay now, perhaps a macmini?
MrT8064 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:18 PM   #10
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
Yeah, but I saw someone hack PANTHER on a PC, and of corse thats 100% PPC Based. It's just dumb that XP is full of x86 support crap. I totally forgut that PPC doesn't support x86.
I saw Linux on a bar of soap, once.. It's amazing what you can do with Linux!
yellow is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:19 PM   #11
JNB
macrumors 604
 
JNB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In a Hell predominately of my own making
Send a message via Skype™ to JNB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
Is it possible if I made my PPC mac "think" it's intel based processor? THEN will it work?
Just not possible. CPU architecture, instruction sets, etc, etc are completely different. BIOS's/OS's/Applications are written CPU-specific to an extent. T'aint gonna happen.

PPC's (G4 & G5) are left with VirtualPC. G3's supported the Orange PC card, and Apple sold the DOS card for a while. OS 8.1 was the last system that supported this method.
__________________

JNB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:20 PM   #12
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
However, the OP is skillful at soldering. I think it can be done, oh ye of little faith.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:23 PM   #13
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by superleccy View Post
No, it won't.

Although I am curious to know how you'd make your PPC Mac think it is Intel... and how you'd know once you'd achieved this.

SL
change the name in open firmware, just like you make your PPC "think" it's running at the speed you want it to say.
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 4TB (512GB SSD) X.10 DP5/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:24 PM   #14
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
change the name in open firmware, just like you make your PPC "think" it's running at the speed you want it to say.
Teehee! If only life was that simple.
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:26 PM   #15
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnNotBeatle View Post
Just not possible. CPU architecture, instruction sets, etc, etc are completely different. BIOS's/OS's/Applications are written CPU-specific to an extent. T'aint gonna happen.

PPC's (G4 & G5) are left with VirtualPC. G3's supported the Orange PC card, and Apple sold the DOS card for a while. OS 8.1 was the last system that supported this method.
I thought it was os 8.6 that last supported this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow View Post
Teehee! If only life was that simple.
Yep, I agree! I HATE THIS!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReanimationLP View Post
Unless you're a god of programming and have full access to the source code for Windows XP, you're *********.

I'm sure you can find a cheap Pentium III or 4 PC on Craigslist.

Then just get a KVM, and swap between the two.

And on hacking Panther, that was probably Panther running in PearPC.

Keep up your threads though, I always enjoy your humorous questions.
THANKS!! LOL!!!
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 4TB (512GB SSD) X.10 DP5/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB

Last edited by yellow; Jan 31, 2008 at 06:31 PM. Reason: Merged contiguous posts. Again.
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:30 PM   #16
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Are you suggesting you run Windows XP (for whatever god awful reason you'd want to) on your 533MHz G4? Riiiight. Go get a job kid and buy a PC if that's what you fancy.
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:34 PM   #17
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrT8064 View Post
if you WERE to use virtual PC, on a PPC mac, on a 1.33ghz iBook with 1.5gb ram, i only really found it good for solitaire, nothing more!

you can get an intel machine pretty cheaply on ebay now, perhaps a macmini?
Mac Mini's used to be my "Dream Mac Machine" back when they were G4's, but now it is impossible for it to fit my needs. It isn't the right Mac for me, and I'm a broke 15 year-old (spending only $20 on upgrades for my current Sawtooth,) who can't afford a current Mac.
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 4TB (512GB SSD) X.10 DP5/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:35 PM   #18
yetanotherdave
macrumors 68000
 
yetanotherdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bristol, England
Send a message via AIM to yetanotherdave Send a message via MSN to yetanotherdave Send a message via Yahoo to yetanotherdave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
change the name in open firmware, just like you make your PPC "think" it's running at the speed you want it to say.
PPC and intel are fundamentally different. It'd be like putting diesel in a petrol car and expecting it to work. Just wont happen. Or telling a giraffe that he's now the eiffel tower. Totally different.
__________________
It's just a ride, & we can change it anytime we want. It's only a choice. No effort, no work, no job, no savings & money. A choice, right now, between fear and love. - Bill Hicks
yetanotherdave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:36 PM   #19
Sawtooth811
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by GimmeSlack12 View Post
Are you suggesting you run Windows XP (for whatever god awful reason you'd want to) on your 533MHz G4? Riiiight. Go get a job kid and buy a PC if that's what you fancy.
PC's stands for Piece of Crap, and I'm trying to do this in a "NO $" way. Besides, around where I live, it's almost impossible for a 15 year-old to make enough money in time to get a new Mac!

I QUIT!
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1 QC 2.66GHz 8GB PCS HD 7870 4TB (512GB SSD) X.10 DP5/W7U
iPhone 5 16GB

Last edited by yellow; Feb 1, 2008 at 10:33 AM. Reason: Merged contiguous posts. Again.
Sawtooth811 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 06:53 PM   #20
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
M....and I'm a broke 15 year-old (spending only $20 on upgrades for my current Sawtooth,) who can't afford a current Mac.
You don't say!
(this was more than obvious)
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 08:21 PM   #21
FelixMC
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Mac Mini's used to be my "Dream Mac Machine" back when they were G4's, but now it is impossible for it to fit my needs. It isn't the right Mac for me, and I'm a broke 15 year-old (spending only $20 on upgrades for my current Sawtooth,) who can't afford a current Mac.
Quote:
PC's stands for Piece of Crap, and I'm trying to do this in a "NO $" way. Besides, around where I live, it's almost impossible for a 15 year-old to make enough money in time to get a new Mac!
I'm a 15 year old as well, and hell you're right!!
FelixMC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 08:23 PM   #22
synth3tik
macrumors 68040
 
synth3tik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Send a message via AIM to synth3tik
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
Is it possible if I made my PPC mac "think" it's intel based processor? THEN will it work?
If you know how to trick it into reading a different binary....
synth3tik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2008, 08:54 PM   #23
SthrnCmfrtr
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
This guy's a tad loony, isn't he?
SthrnCmfrtr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2008, 01:39 AM   #24
nazuk
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by SthrnCmfrtr View Post
This guy's a tad loony, isn't he?
He is 15, what did you expect !!

Some 15 year olds think money grows on trees, just ask their parents!!
nazuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2008, 01:57 AM   #25
yg17
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawtooth811 View Post
PC's stands for Piece of Crap, and I'm trying to do this in a "NO $" way. Besides, around where I live, it's almost impossible for a 15 year-old to make enough money in time to get a new Mac!
So your Mac is a piece of crap then? Macs are PCs. PC stands for Personal Computer. Last time I checked, a Mac is a personal computer.


Anyways, it is absolutely in no way possible, not with any amount of technical knowledge, not with any amount of money, not with any amount of anything to get Windows XP running on a PPC Mac outside of Virtual Machine. It just is not, in any way, possible. 2 completely different, incompatible processor architectures. You can beg and plead all you want on internet forums, it is just not going to happen. Ever.


Quote:
It's just dumb that XP is full of x86 support crap. I totally forgut that PPC doesn't support x86.
Um, no, it's not dumb that "XP is full of x86 support crap." x86 is the most common type of processor in PCs and has been for ages, it only makes sense Microsoft would write Windows to run on x86. Apple are the idiots for not adopting x86 sooner.
__________________
Barack Obama is not a foreign born, brown skinned, anti-war socialist who gives away healthcare. You're thinking of Jesus.
yg17 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! How to Install Windows to PPC HDD? DigBick PowerPC Macs 26 Apr 5, 2013 12:02 PM
General: Evasi0n, PPC/No, VPC on PPC/No, Linux on PB/No, OS X on AppleTv/No justperry Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Feb 19, 2013 12:35 AM
Mountain Lion and Windows for PPC rabidz7 PowerPC Macs 44 Jan 17, 2013 06:48 AM
Best combination of virtualizer + Windows version for PPC? skateny PowerPC Macs 8 Oct 5, 2012 11:52 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC